Deus XP

Deus XP Price: $2000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.62
Based on 16 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.46
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.69
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Deus XP

Compare to ▼
Minelab CTX 3030 $2500
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500
Minelab E-TRAC $1500
OKM Cavefinder $3000

Deus, the best so far

March 20, 2017
The machine is so light and easy to use. The pre-set programmes are a great starting point for the beginner and they offer decent performance, and from there you can learn at your own pace.

I would have no hesitation in taking the Deus in the toughest environments, remember, the remote can be safely stored in a pocket while trekking and there is an arm strap clear case for a small amount. You can slide it down so small when walking in bushes too. Think about the environment you will hunt in and adjust yourself accordingly. In tight areas you can slide out the lower stem and hunt with just that in your hand, so it's very versatile. A fantastic machine. Learning to adjust the audio and understand the deeper targets gives you good depth.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
30

Great machine

March 05, 2017
You won't be disappointed if you purchase this detector. It's light as a feather and goes Super deep.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

One single design flaw

September 19, 2016
The Deus is a very good machine. It has great depth and it hands down has the fastest target analysis (reactivity setting) of any machine on the market. I want to like this machine, I really do. However, it suffers from one huge drawback: the Deus remote.

In the first two weeks of owning the machine, I lost the remote while climbing up a hillside through some brush. After hours of searching I ended up dropping $650 on a new remote. Thinking that I was being too rough on the Deus, I started babying the machine and watching the remote wherever I went. Then a week later I'm on a steep river bank. I re-check the connection of the remote to the detector shaft to make sure it isn't loose. As I start going across the river bank, I slip and fall on my side. I hold on to my detector, but my second remote un-clips and bounces down the slope about 20 feet and plops into the river. That's $1300 down the drain.

The Deus remote is a clip-on design and currently does not have any kind of locking mechanism. None whatsoever. This may not seem to be that big of a deal, but if you're going through heavy brush or over any kind of rugged terrain, it can be a huge mistake (in my experience) to bring the Deus along. From what I've been told, the remote used to have a magnet design before the clip-on design, but that was changed because it did a very poor job of keeping the remote on the machine. It's very frustrating to invest in such an expensive detector, which has such state of the art technology, and then find that the engineers at XP can't design a simple locking mechanism for the Deus remote.

So.... Hunting open fields? Buy the Deus!
Hunting around buildings? Buy the Deus!
Hunting parks? Buy the Deus!
Hunting in yards? Buy the Deus!
Hunting cellar holes deep in the woods? I would look for something else. It might save you time, money, and an emotional roller coaster ride.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
923

Simply the best

March 20, 2016
I have owned all the other brands. After I tried the Deus for the very first time, I was a believer. What a machine. I can't say enough about it.

I have a test garden with different items buried in it. At 24 inches this deus can find it. My test garden does not have single coins in them. They are various items. For an example one is four silver dollars buried in a four leaf clover pattern. The silver dollars are 19 inches deep, the deus can nail them easily. Freshly buried also. One target is two feet deep and my CZ5 cant touch it, the deus can.

I just can't tell you how awesome this detector really is. To be honest you have to tweak it a little to get that raw depth. But its not that hard. Really really a good machine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 15 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1812

Fantastic just fantastic

March 17, 2016
You can sit and read every review there is on the xp deus I will sum this detector up in the next few word's for you. (FORMULA 1) YOU WILL NOT FIND BETTER TREAT YOURSELF

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 16 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
122

The king of all machines

March 03, 2016
I have detected for years. I have used Tesoro, Whites, Fisher and Bounty Hunters. NO other detector has had this fast a recovery speed or been able to get the goodies masked by iron! I will never use another machine, the XP Deus is truly the KING of them all. They also can be had for much less than $2000 if you search for the right deal.

It is wireless, extremely light weight and goes deep. The software can be upgraded simply by connecting to a computer. I also like that they included a clock on the screen so I don't have to stop to check the time. I've found coins in areas that were pounded by a F75, a Tesoro Tejon and Tesoro Cortes. Simply by being able to "hear" the good stuff mixed in with nails and other iron.

If you're serious about hunting do yourself a favor and get one!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
162

Pros and cons ws4

November 17, 2015
My new Deus is so easy to carry out though the woods and brush where we go to hunt the Colonial foundations. You hardly notice the weight and there are no wires to tangle in the branches. The shaft slides and adjusts quickly to your height. The small earphones are a problem for me. With long hair and a hat, as it's chilly up here, I could not get them to stay on. Finally hooked them over the hat, then had a problem hearing the tones.

As far as performance the Deus located a small button right in the middle of a pile of crap! Nails everywhere, broken bricks, metal bits, the pinpointer was sounding off all over the hole. I kept swinging over it and the clear high beep never went away until the tiny target was found. My husband traded his e-trac for the WS5 high end Deus and is finding nice things where we had given up years ago. I plan to invest in the big wireless earphones.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
210

Xp headphones

January 20, 2015
Machine great. The light weight and ease of use make long hunts OK. Recovery speed amazing. The only thing I would do different is to get the full size headphones not the little ones. For some reasone the behind the head style set tends to pinch the edge of my ears after several hours of hunting although in hot weather I think they will be superior. I am not the only one who got found them uncomfortable and I have had them in the correct position behind my head.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
270

Perfect.

November 01, 2014
Great metal detector, super light weight. Extremely deep. Great on gold prospecting. 8" on 1 grain gold fake. Good VDI numbers. Need a better depth indicator, the horseshoe is OK. EXTREMELY fast recovery speed. Compared to a ctx, or an e-trac, or a v3i. This is the best of the best. Over all, it is the closest to perfect metal detector.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2733

Nay sayers

October 22, 2014
Is there a group of people who hate XP Deus. Nearly all of the reviews have a significant negative response to the reviews here. The guys are just putting their views and it is quite apparent the 'nay sayers' just love to slag a competing brand. Or does this come from competing companies. It's pathetic. Get a life.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3819

Submit your review for Deus XP

Submit your tip for Deus XP