Fisher CZ 3D

Fisher CZ 3D Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.52
Based on 33 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.67
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher CZ 3D

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Not a cz-6

August 19, 2016
I've owned allot of detectors over the years including a Fisher CZ-6, CZ-7 and most recently a CZ-3D non Los Banos edition. If I had my choice I would choose the CZ-6 hands down over the other two. The CZ-6 found everything from jewelry to deep silver with ease.

When all the other companies were introducing digital target ID, nothing could stand up to the accuracy of the target ID on my CZ-6. I hate that I sold it. Only issue I ever had with it was the meter did get "sticky". Never liked the LCD of the CZ-7 nor was the performance as good IMHO. Getting back to the CZ-3D I thought I would be back to as good if not superior unit than my CZ-6.

First thing I noticed was the lack of sensitivity and depth. I was finding shallow targets but not the deep silver and wasn't finding the small buttons and items like the CZ-6. Even bench testing was disappointing and nowhere near as good as my Racer nor Deus.

The pinpoint button would at times not switch over to pinpoint mode on the first press which was slightly annoying as well. For about $100 I could have had it re-calibrated which would have hopefully improved performance but it would have been a roll of the dice as to whether it would have helped. All in all I had more and deeper finds with my CZ-6 and have been keeping my eyes open for one. Happy hunting!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
60

Cz-3d for me

July 14, 2013
I have been reading reviews from this site for years. Recently I purchased the CZ-3D and wanted to share with you a few points to ponder on. I currently own Tesoro, Garret and a whole bunch of Fisher detectors.

1st point. I went to the most hunted out park to see what this machine could find. It did what it was designed to do. Find older coins deep in the ground. I found two tokens that have been passed over by many people for many years. One token was at 9" and the other was at 5" Both these tokens were impressive finds.
Considering the 5" token was very small token with a hole in the center and the 9" deep token was a very thin token made of brass. The machine found 3 bracelets, 1 earing, 2 buttons and 200 plus modern coins.
I did also find a few old wheat pennies and a buffalo nickel. Machine performed as it was designed to.

2nd point. The machine sweep needs to be a little slower then some modern detectors. Slow down and dig more!

3rd point. Sweep the x pattern and you can eliminate most of the junk. I did dig a few steel caps at very deep depths, but I also dug good finds at very deep depths.
When your digging deep, not all the finds are keepers!

Last point. The machine is worth the money if you are looking for those old coins and tokens. I enjoyed the time spent using the machine so far. I own other Deep seeking detectors, but this one does a better job finding copper and brass. I am pleased with all the features (meter, pin point, etc.) on machine and how everything worked. I have been detecting for a few decades and wish I could tell you all the good points of the many detectors I have owned, but the bottom line is this, the CZ-3D just became my new favorite detector in my little collection of detectors.

For all detecting regardless of brand you use please remember to:

  • Study the owners manual.

  • Ground balance frequently.

  • Use the proper sweep speed.

  • When in doubt, dig it out!

  • You only learn from experience, not reading!


Hope this helps someone decide what to Buy!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
298

Cz5 is better and more stable

April 13, 2013
I like the cz5 better due it was built by fisher not like the bounty hunter fisher cz3d. The cz5 will lock on nickel vs cz3d will jump around on same target. If you will test the two units side by side anyone will see the cz5 is the true fisher quality and a lot more stable. Some fisher cz3d units had some quality control issues. They look the part of a cz5 but not even close to the cz5 performance.

I'll never sell my cz5, its one of the last true fishers. I will welcome all bounty fishers to a challenge any day at my neck of the woods.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2323

Mr buttons

April 22, 2012
I have been detecting from the 80's and had one of the first fisher cz metal detectors that came out. I have had other detectors and if you know how to use these machines, you will have more finds at the end of the day anyone. Once you master the CZ's, you know that there is no other detector that even comes close. And all you folks that don't want to dig those iron signals, you probably have no idea what your are doing!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1427

Unique machine

April 02, 2012
I have used the CZ-3D now for 30 hours. I find it delivers as promised. Nickels are quickly becoming the prominent coin in my pouch and they all come in as a high tone!
It is the easiest unit to belt mount as it comes with belt loops built in.
Regarding depth, I'm not getting the depth I thought I would get with the stock 8 inch coil. I'm not finding coins deeper than 6 inches. I have ordered the 10. 5 inch coil and we'll see.
Keeping the sensitivity between 4 and 5 makes the nail problem go away. Don't dig anything less than 3 inches deep and the beaver tail and stay tab problem will greatly diminish.
Not a bad machine overall.

Overall Rating 4 stars

99

CZ3D is Impressive

January 08, 2012
I've been metal detecting since the 1970's. The first time I used the CZ3D I was very impressed. I kept finding coin after coin by simply listening to the high tones which is where the good targets chime in with enhanced mode. It is not infallible.
I found pull tabs and the occasional bottle cap. You are going to have to dig some of these to find the good stuff.

Your odds are greatly improved by listening to the tones. The sounds the detector puts out seems to pinpoint coins sounder or sharper. This machine has proven to go deep as all CZ models should do. If you don't like digging deeper than don't buy this detector. I use other brands of detectors but will keep this in my arsenal.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

214

Fisher CZ3d is a joy!

January 01, 2012
Even with the CZ3d hitting on nails pretty hot it is still a joy to use. I've owned many detectors from the Teknetics Omega 8000 to the Whites MXT Pro and the CZ3d is the one I am most comfortable and have more confidence in. The ground balancing is a breeze and accurate. My average digs are from 7 to 10 inches. I have found silver dimes dating from 1916 and many relics.

I do hit a lot of nails but with the other machines I hit a lot of pulltabs. I don't mind digging deep nails because at the depths the CZ3d hits on them are amazing and you never know what might come up. People who bash the CZ3d just don't know detecting period.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2018

Loop upsizing

December 16, 2011
After almost a decade, I'm still firmly convinced Fisher's CZ-3D is the deepest seeking detector. Truth be told, not everyone wants to routinely excavate for a find, as opposed to simply shallow digging a reading. I'll always go the extra digging mile -- and into large cent territory. I've now found nearly 200 LCs (I kid you not) with my CZ-3D. Of course, I'm in prime large cent country.
Interestingly, I recently dug a 1920s "porcelain" Western Union sign worth an easy $500. It was truly two feet down. I bring that up since it shows that doing the extra down-and-dirty digging can pay in ways other than coinage.

I do want to offer some friendly advice to fellow CZ-3D'ers. I recently equipped one of my CZ-3Ds with an aftermarket 12-inch loop. I only kinda like it. Hard to believe but it increases the machine's depth -- even more. However, it ushers in some hard-to-interpret false reading, i.e. The detector does not sound the same, overall, as with standard smaller loops. It's becomes a relearning process with only modest gains. However, when you're talking the deepest of deep readings, even a modest "gain" can be golden.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

204

Nebraska prospector

June 26, 2011
I just purchased the cz3d,this thing works great,I'm finding allot of silver on old farm house sites. For the money It's worth the purchase.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

126

All Hype and No Bite

December 21, 2010
I purchased a brand new CZ3D - unfortunately. If you want to dig iron - LOTS of iron - buy one. I visited a forum dealing with Fishers mainly and was told "you need to run with no discrimination so you can hear the grunt of the iron".
If I wanted a detector with no discrimination feature I could have saved myself $700 and bought a beep and dig.

The disc feature on the CZ3D is worthless, why they even added it is beyond me. The pinpoint function when using would just drop off by itself and I would have to keep pushing the button to get it to work, also the one I received couldn't hit a dime at 8 inches although these are supposed to be depth demons - whatever.

My GTI 1500 and EAGLE SL 90.5 blow this thing away. It also appears to me [maybe I am wrong] that the enhanced mode is just a remapping of the tones - no rocket science here. Needless to say, me and the Bounty Fisher CZ3D have parted ways. I highly recommend it if at all possible you try one before you buy it. It's not worth 1/2 of what they cost in my opinion - there are much better machines out there for less than what Bounty Fisher wants for one of these. Rumour is they are not going to produce them any more - what a surprise.

Overall Rating 1 star

4353

Submit your review for Fisher CZ 3D

Submit your tip for Fisher CZ 3D