Fisher Coin Strike

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 30 reviews

Submit your review for Fisher Coin Strike

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Minelab Safari $1000

Fisher Coin Strike

November 03, 2004
I took off with the Coinstrike figuring it was like any other detector that I have owned, but I was wrong there. I buy and trade detectors as a hobby and I have tried most of the detectors made. As of Sept. 04, the only two high end detectors that I had not tried were the Coinstrike and Dfx.

I bought a used Coinstrike that was like brand new and started off in the preset mode. I dug tons of trash and within ten hours, I was ready to pass this detector on. It's not like it is complicated to set up, but I was having a hard time figuring out what the detector was telling me. I got on the forums, reading past posts and asking questions ,and to the man everybody with any time on the Coinstrike told me to give it time. I kept playing with the settings and after thirty hours or so, everything clicked. I found a slow to medium sweep, looking for repeatable signals all but eliminated the trash.

The detector works in trash better than any other detector that I have used. If a person wants a turn and go detector, stay away from the Coinstrike. If you can approach a detector with an open mind, and are willing to give it a chance, you will be rewarded. One of the best detectors that I have ever used.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

282

Fisher Coin Strike

October 31, 2004
After reading some of the other C$ reviews I'm prompted to give one. I noticed some similarities in the bad reviews, "it won't hit a coin laying on top of the ground", I bet they had everything notched out by accident. If that was not the case then send it to Fisher for repair. "large pieces of cans read 30's", I've owned every top end machine and the ALL get fooled by shards of aluminum on occassion.
In my soil I have almost no iron falsing with the sens set high. This is the deepest machine I've owned but it does take time to learn. I've pulled several coins from holes with nails and other trash my other machines missed. All top end machines are deep but in my test area the C$ ID's the deepest coins the best.
The C$ is not the easiest detector I've ever used but in my opinion it's the Best for deep coins in trash.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

112

Fisher Coin Strike

September 24, 2004
The C$ is a love it or hate it machine. Most people don't spend the time necessary to learn it. Once learned will produce coins from hunted out areas with ease. Chest mounted and properly set up its a force to be reckoned with. Would not recomend it to a beginner detectorist. It loves rusted caps but with experience they to can be avoided.

I have found coins down to the 9 inch level. The all metal I.D feature is awesome in cleaner areas.

Overall Rating 4 stars

60

Fisher Coin Strike

September 23, 2004
The C$ is a very good detector once you become familiar with it. Most of the problems that I encountered with it was due to operator error and not the machine. The detector is not like a CZ and the people that have the most time adjusting to it are those like me who also own CZ's and are familiar with the way they operate.

The C$ takes at least 50 hours to become proficient with it and understand all that its telling you, but the problem is most people don't want to spend that much time learning a machine so its passed on to someone else.

I'm beginning to understand the C$ and really beginning to like it maybe even more so then my two CZ's. If you want a detector to coin hunt as well as relic hunt, this machine is for you.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

43

Fisher Coin Strike

September 21, 2004
Had mine 18 mo, excellent machine, take the time to learn it, and it is the finest on the market.
5 stars

Overall Rating 5 stars!

41

Fisher Coin Strike

September 18, 2004
Hey this thing is VERY popular with relic hunters because the GB circuit handles some of the worst soil in the US with ease but since I'm not a relic hunter I'll give my opinion on it for coin hunting older sites.

I don't hunt parks and playgrounds, just older sites like one room schools and old farmsteads ect. I find the Coinstrike to be an excellent choice for this type of hunting. Set up right it will find good stuff in iron with the best of them. Yeah, it falses a bit on iron when set up the way I like but the good stuff comes thru with enough repeatability to have you digging. I'm not going to say it will find coin under nails or make any of those wild claims. All I'll say is that it will find coins in iron as good as ANYTHING out there and better than most. The depth with the stock 8" coil in my ground is better than any other top of the line relic/coin machine I have used.

Forget your usual test garden and coins with nails tests on top of the ground or on your nail ridden floor and put it to work in some real conditions that's where it will show you what it can do.

I have had one since they first came out, made a trade for a popular but hyped relic machine last summer and went back to the C$ in a big hurry!

Lot's of good detectorists have tried the C$ and don't like it for a variety of reasons but don't let that put you off on trying one. There are just as many out there that are using it with great results.

Try it, you might like it, then again you might hate it too. LOL

HH, Tom

BTW, I only give it 4 stars as there are some things I don't like about it too.

Overall Rating 4 stars

60

Fisher Coin Strike

September 18, 2004
I owned the Coin Strike for about 4 months and finally sold it. It?s truly a different kind of machine like everyone says.
Pros
I found that it would ID quarters, dimes and pennies O.K. at just about any depth. It handles ground mineralization well and its pin pointing ability is second to none. I was very surprised at its depth capability, if you buy one be ready to dig some deep holes. I wish I could think of more good things to say about it, but everything else is pretty much average.
Cons
I found the machine to be unbalanced making it feel a lot heaver than it was. I also found the four tone ID to be of no help in identifying the targets.
Trying to ID anything other than pennies, dimes and quarters was next to impossible for me because I couldn?t tell any difference in the sounds it would make. It loves round objects.

I kept track of my finds over the last month of owning it and here are the results.
I hunted in a variety of sites from trashy parks to older building sites.
Pennies 39.13%
Nickels 1.45%
Dimes 5.80%
Quarters 1.45%
Old coins 1.45%
Misc items 7.25%
Trash 43.48%

I have 10+ years of detecting and I have used a variety of machines, so I?ll end this with saying that I had a real love hate relationship with it and finally gave up on it because I was tired of digging more trash than good targets. For an $876 machine I would have expected more out of it.

Overall Rating 3 stars

80

Fisher Coin Strike

September 17, 2004
I have about 12 hours use on the C$ so far and not sure about whether I like the machine or not. Its seems to be awfully noisey in descriminate mode and it wouldn't even hit on a penny that was laying on the ground, which was disappointing. Maybe I'm not doing something right, but I will give it a little more time.

Not sure about this machine yet?

Overall Rating 2 stars

314

Fisher Coin Strike

September 17, 2004
I found the detector to be unstable (noisy, numbers jumping around)while searching for relics in the all metal mode in heavey iron minerals. Discrimination was excellent in iron infested house sites, however the instruction manual was very vague on how to operate the detector. It will hunt a wet salt water beach but the Cz will find targets deeper. Detector is made very well.

Overall Rating 3 stars

30

Fisher Coin Strike

August 18, 2004
This one at 99 is iron happy, rusty bottle caps (pre 1955) read 26 to 28 four way high, pieces of cans read high 30s four ways, small pieces of rusty metal read 30 to 32 four way high. I can forfeit quarters and a chance at a half by ignoring the 30s. Something isn't right!

Maybe all Coinstrikes aren't created equal, this is a new one and it certainly mirrors some of the early complaints. When out of the ground most of the dug junk continues to have 4 way highs, it would seem that all 99s are not the same. This continued with sensitivity at 3 and threshold at -40, I was not balanced over iron, tracking and averaging was off, coin depth at these settings was about 4".

I also carried a CZ5 and a Mr. Bill modified Classic ID to double check with, except for very large pieces the 30s on the C$ was rejected by both detectors.
This ground is slightly mineralized, it balances on the CZ at pre-set.
This may be a good machine for relics but for coins in junk it is worthless!

Overall Rating 1 star

175

Submit your review for Fisher Coin Strike

Submit your tip for Fisher Coin Strike