Fisher CZ 5

Fisher CZ 5 Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.33
Based on 36 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.20
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.20
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher CZ 5

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Simply the best out there

June 06, 2017
Id you have whimpy arms just hip mount it, this thing goes over 11 inches, for the guy who is whining about the noisy its your coil, don't want to buy a coil? Just call fisher! If you ever find one just buy it you wont get disappointed!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Older technology hard to beat

April 07, 2016
I have been treasure hunting for over 30 yrs in many many different parts of the country and I can honestly say that although the CZ5 is older technology it is the deepest seeking machine I have ever used. Like any other machine it has its quirks, but if you use all the diff. options that come with this machine it will be hard to beat you in the field.

For those people complaining about the weight, I cannot disagree with them. Use the hip mount feature and problem solved. This machine will hang in there with the best machine's on the market. Honestly the only advantage the new technology has over this proven machine is the digital readout. If your new to the hobby or just looking for some proven ability, buy one of these machines used and save a few hundred dollars. To the guy complaining about too much noise, try buying a new coil - that is usually the problem. Good Luck and Good Hunting.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
70

Pawn shop find

March 31, 2016
I bought my CZ-5 at a local pawn shop. After taking some time to practice and learn the machine I took it to a local park for a real life trial. I was told by other metal detector operators not to bother that this park was "hunted out". With that thought in mind, I decided to put my 10" coil on and to only dig faint/deep signals. Man this baby go deep! Found lots of goodies that were deep and just waiting for me and my CZ-5 to come along. This baby is a keeper!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
30

Fisher cz 5

December 23, 2015
I just bought one off of eBay for 275.00 because everyone here said they are good. I have been detecting since 1987 so not a newbie. Maybe I bought a lemon but this thing is out of control. Noisy, hard to get not noisy. Does not do good in my test garden which has been there for 11 years. Maybe it's just to old and wore out I am not sure, but it just didn't work for me. I only bought it because of the reviews on here. BIG disappointment for me. Good luck on your try with one of these out dated machines.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
215

Fisher cz 5

December 23, 2015
I just bought one off of eBay for 275.00 because everyone here said they are good. I have been detecting since 1987 so not a newbie. Maybe I bought a lemon but this thing is out of control. Noisy, hard to get not noisy. Does not do good in my test garden which has been there for 11 years. Maybe it's just to old and wore out I am not sure, but it just didn't work for me. I only bought it because of the reviews on here. BIG disappointment for me. Good luck on your try with one of these out dated machines.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
112

To heavy

December 23, 2015
I notice other reviews on here say its not heavy, but then I read on and they say that they made a shoulder strap. Duh, hello that means it to heavy. Anyone should be able to know that. This was a good machine in its time, but its outdated. Just like the horse and buggy. The new technology is just plain better. If you doubt this ride in an original car that was made in the 1980's and one made today. Notice I said original, no comparison.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
013

Cz5, great detector

October 16, 2015
I guess the people who use the more modern detectors today want the LCD displays, this one has an analog needle. But its what's inside that counts. 20 years and going strong. Still making finds others miss. If you buy one of these I hope you also buy a good shovel, You are going to be digging some deep holes.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 15 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
111

Fisher cz5 has excellent depth

August 25, 2013
I have had many metal detectors, I've had minelab etrac, and a Explorer 2, Tecnetics t2, lots of tesoros, I had a Garrett gti2500 I had many others before I found this. I really like it I have had a couple other metal detectors that could go Just a little deeper one was a tesoro Vaccaro the other was the t2 limited And seemed to have about the same depth or a bit better then the etrac if you are reading reviews because you are interested in buying one of these grab it buy it as fast as you can, you will love it.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1610

Still good

August 08, 2013
It took days of researching to buy the CZ5 and its gratifying to look back on ten years of total reliability and 100 percent satisfaction with a smug grin!
Day 1 got me to waist mount and this ability was one of the reasons for buying. I believe it still compares favourably with most expensive modern machines so its difficult to replace and I'm beginning to feel like a dinosaur. What do YOU recommend fellow CZ enthusiasts?

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
140

Way deeper than any tesoro

April 16, 2013
I seen the post where some joker said not as deep as a cibola. The cz5 will go deeper than any tesoro build. My friend bought a tejon on ebay thinking it will sniff out old coins. We tested it in super tune on a quarter buried 8 inch deep in a bucket thats about two foot wide with heavy mineralized soil. It would not make a grunt.

He put it back on ebay after seeing my old relic magnum 7 compass pick out that coin like ringing a bell. I test all my units on the same target. The only detectors I have seen pick out that quarter is a gti1500, relic magnum 7, fisher coin strike, 1265x, fisher cz5.

The gti1500 and cz5 can pick out the tager with the coil 4 to 5 inches above the target. I have not seen a tesoro of any kind hit that target. Tesoro are good detectors but not as good as all the dealers like to church them up. I can say tesoro does have the best warranty.

To sum things up the tesoro is no match to a cz5 period. I would never sell my cz5.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
172

Submit your review for Fisher CZ 5

Submit your tip for Fisher CZ 5