Garrett GTI 1500

Garrett GTI 1500 Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.44
Based on 27 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.67
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett GTI 1500

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Gti 1500 vs ace 350

February 15, 2016
The is a very good unit but compared to the Ace 350 the 350 wins. The gti1500 was good until the dsp chip went out the 1st year after I had bought it. 4 yrs later the white scorcher coil had cracked for no reason. I finally fixed it by getting the black imagine coil that worked out good so far.

Recently I took a gamble on the ace 350 and to my surprise it is far a better and more stable detector when compared to my gti1500 as for depth test on different targets the 350 wins and the gti1500 went to ebay. A dime at 7" mark and hold stable on nickles 6 is impressive. The gti1500 was very unstable on the nickle but could not tell if a dime was underneath the coil and called it foil.

The only dislike is that garrett could have found a different color for the ace other than bright yellow. HH

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
31

Not so good gti1500 white coil

February 02, 2016
I bought the garrett gti1500 off ebay with the 10 inch white super scorcher coil for my main detector. It looks like new but it seemed to be chatty as if it won't lock on a target 2 inches without falseing. The unit might need to be sent in to be calibrated by garrett. I had a gti1500 before that gave me no problems with the black coil. I tried new battery packs but nothing helps. Hope it will sell on ebay to someone who can send it off. My next unit will be something other than a garrett gti1500. I hope to find a fisher 1266x or minelab explorer at a good deal. HH

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
22

Not so good gti1500 white coil

February 01, 2016
I bought the garrett gti1500 off ebay with the 10 inch white super scorcher coil for my main detector. It looks like new but it seemed to be chatty as if it won't lock on a target 2 inches without falseing. The unit might need to be sent in to be calibrated by garrett. I had a gti1500 before that gave me no problems with the black coil.

I tried new battery packs but nothing helps. Hope it will sell on ebay to someone who can send it off. My next unit will be something other than a garrett gti1500. I hope to find a fisher 1266x or minelab explorer at a good deal. HH

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
00

Garrett gti 1500

March 19, 2015
I have owned the gti 1500 for over two detecting seasons in upstate New York. What a machine! I have found over 1800 coins in the last 2 seasons with the gti. It does what it says. Very easy to use. Last year I bought the 12.5 in coil and it worked great too.I got another few inches of depth.

You can sweep slow or fast and it still recovers very fast. I use mostly the jewelry and all metals modes. I am retired and spend a lot of time detecting. It's to bad they discontinued this machine. So next best is the 2500. You cant go wrong with garrett, and they have a great customer service dept.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
41

Garrett gti 1500 --great so far--

June 07, 2014
I have been detecting for five (5) years now here in South Florida. For the beach/ocean I used the White's dual field and Garrett Seahunter which are perfect machines to use, but they are useless on land, parks, fields etc...

My GTI 1500 is a great machine. Like many other reviews you will read it is absolutely imperative to read your manual, watch video tutorials and learn how to use your detector properly. Whether it costs 100 or 1000 dollars you have to practice with it. The GTI 1500 is really the best detector (I) have used on land so far, for parks, open fields etc. I plug in my earbuds use my imaging on the display and find tons of coins.

I have a Garrett ACE 250 prior but, honestly that in my opinion is a good beginners detector. It will not tell you the depth or size of the object you "hit" on. The GTI 1500 will do both. Not only that, There is a great visual display in front of you that can help you ID targets.
ONE problem I see and have read about is the weight of it due to the (8) AA batteries that are in the pack which you will swing tirelessly. They (the Garrett company) has provided us with a very small telephone cord from the battery to the unit (which is less than two feet long) and you can try to (HIP MOUNT) the battery. But, honestly it is ridiculous that they would install such a short cord. I took my unit apart (NOT RECOMMENDED FOR ALL) and changed out the small cord for one that is ten feet long. It is a curly cord and I can hip mount the battery pack now with absolutely no problem.

When I get a target I place the detector on the ground next to me and don't have to worry about it interfering with my digging. The control housing is also not waterproof...So you have to either get a plastic cover when it rains or just stop digging.
I would recommend this detector to anyone. The only other issue I notice is unlike the Garrett ACE 250 or AT PRO which they work great on land or sand... My GTI 1500 is really horrible in the sand (tot-lot, for example) I don't know why that is but, with my ACE 250 it was a beast in the kiddie sand areas, my GTI 1500 doesn't work very well AT in the sand. However, it's great on regular dirt, parks etc.

I hope this helps those who have questions. James M. (South Florida)

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
70

Gti1500 rules

May 11, 2014
I had a lot of detectors but this one has me digging all the goodies while leaving the trash in the ground. The imaging works great with the id. I like my tesoros also but the garrett wins me over now that I don't have to dig up the whole field to just find 2 or 3 good items. I do like tesoros lifetime warranty though.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Searched out parks??

December 27, 2012
I have had my Garrett 1500 for about 6 months. I have used it mostly in parks here in upstate NY. I hunt in jewelry mode and have found hundreds of coins in parks that are searched frequently. Including 1853 large cent, 2 mercury dimes and a 44 washington siver quarter and a 1901 barber dime as well as an indian head penny.

Just found my first silver ring before the first snow here yesterday. All without having to dig hardly any junk at all!! I am more than pleased with the depth and the accuracy of the target ID system on this detector. Have found many coins at 10 inches deep. If you want to find coins and stop digging trash this is the detector for you! Thank you Garrett for designing such an amazing machine!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

120

A damn good machine

January 23, 2012
A damn good machine, the gti1500 is an excellent coin detector just like it's big brother the gti 2500, it's like any machine, you must take the time too learn the language / the signals / the sounds of what the gti 1500 is saying. Practice, bench test, field test, and of course read the manual, and then go out and practice again. I must emphasize, practice and read the manual, when you can talk the talk, then you can start finding some pretty good stuff, like liberty seated coins, and barber coins,flying eagle cents, Indianan head cents, civil bullets etc.

I've been detecting for over forty years and have used many machines and I totally stand by the garrett detectors, and I use exclusively the gti 2500 and 1500 detectors. AND have had some damn good success in so called worked out places, I really get a kick, when people say this or that machine is no good, when it is obvious they don't know what there talking about. Please learn the language before you start talking.
LARRY KADRA,
HAPPY HUNTING.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

460

New detector

December 16, 2011
Well received my 1500 GTI 4 weeks ago,
Must say my Garrett AT Pro is better than the GTI.
Its very heavy and not too pleased with its depth,
but overall a good detector for coins.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1116

Good detector for coins

November 07, 2010
Let me start by saying that I am new to this hobby and really like this metal detector This is the first detector I've own, bought it new over a month ago and have used it about 20 hours I have found many coins between 3 to 5 inches deep this Ace 250 loves quaters, when it finds one you'll know it, it will sound loud and VERY clear, dimes and pennys sound alike and almost as loud.

Haven't found any gold or silver yet(havent been digging anything that sounds like trash and from what I read that's where the gold is) but found over 100 coins so far. You have to watch the instructional DVD that comes with it not just once it will help you understand it better also bench test it to learn the easy tones. this detector is very easy to learn and I have lots of fun with it every time and for the money its worth it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

197

Submit your review for Garrett GTI 1500

Submit your tip for Garrett GTI 1500