Garrett GTI 1500

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.44
Based on 27 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.67
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett GTI 1500

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Doug from NJ

June 27, 2009
I bought a vaquero last year from a ebay seller from Canada for 340.00 including shipping. So far this is the best detector I own, I have a 1266 fisher(not bad) and sold a Garrett sea hunter (Not good on gold, lost money) The vaquero hits very good on gold, and the discrimination is excellent. I set the ground balance once and I have been beach hunting the dry sand and parks with no problems. Super light. I will keep this detector for life. Thanks.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1353

This detector rocks

June 06, 2009
OK look I have used minelab for 3 months now and thyy suck. I know they use fbs and bbs but who cares when you have the flut band going off in your ear! And for 1200 dollars? wtf man. I got the gti 1500 last week omg!! This detector is so great I have found a 2 and half gold coin 1858 I sold it for 300 dollars and found a ring, got 500 for that. I can see this detector paying for it self in no time and even making me a buck wile I have fun. I don't sell everything but sometimes I do. Good hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3314

Back to the..GTI 1500 .. love it

May 29, 2009
Started out about 30 years ago with the Garrett Freedom 2 Coin Commander. Then got the GTI 1500 and really liked it but switched to Minelab had the Sovereign, the Quattro, the Musketeer and Excalibur. And I had the Whites XLT and DFX and MXT ...All good detectors but I now went back to the GTI 1500 and will have to say to me it is the best detector. Easy to use, I really like the imaging, it is more accurate than all the numbers that jump all over the face of your detector and drive you crazy.

The only way to beat the GTI 1500 is with the GTI 2500 but it is the same as the 1500 it is a tie then. I would recommend the Garrett detectors to my friend's and every one. A good honest company and a very good product. I have the Garrett Pro Pointer and Scorpion and will get a Garrett water detector. Would you say that I am back with Garrett I tried a lot of detectors and went back to Garrett. Oh yes all my best finds were with a Garrett detector. I am sorry I switched but now I know Garrett makes the best.......

Overall Rating 5 stars!

604

One Mean Green Machine

December 16, 2008
This detector does it all. Excellent depth, accurate ID , and dead on pinpointing. I have swapped many detectors searching for the right one and this is it. I have no need for any other detector. Love the bell tone option, if its a bell tone , its a coin. First hour hunting I found more than $3.00 in clad ,one merc. dime and dug just one tab in an area I have hammered before. This detector will surely go down in history as one of the best bangs for the buck made. Try one and you will be hooked on Garrett detectors forever.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

362

Unbelievably accurate and just plain powerfull !!

September 23, 2008
Hello everyone, I want too start out by saying I have used several other top brands of metal detectors so I'm not a newbie at all and I gotta say I wasn't too excited to try a garrett gti 1500 metal detector because I was under the impression they were a cheep over priced plastic cheepo (due too some inexperienced metal detectorists writings ect ) so I took the plunge and purchased a used one instead of a new one because I wasn't so sure it would work out.

After receiving the garrett gti 1500 I really was shocked it sure didn't look like a cheepo by any standards and when I put it together and noticed it was a little heavier then I'm used too, but I could hip mount the battery pack that just reassured me even more that I was in for a treat.

I had read the instructions over and over and really couldn't believe how easy the detector was too operate but in my mind I still wasn't convinced of its operating status so on my first outing I set up the gti 1500 in coins mode but changed the tone to my likeing but that's about all I did.
It was more a learning session, I was digging everything except iron so I was digging everything that the disc would allow a beep on even one way.

I was vary surprised at how the discrimination was so tight in fact I hardly heard the detector at all and often found myself checking it with clad in my pocket and it would be fine. After several outings I just gotta say wow I'm finding wheaty's at 10 inches and finding square nails at over 10 inches and when it comes too silver coins you better turn those head phones down because they will blast your ears off! for real, also I would recommend taking it to any so called hunted out sites because when you get done its not going to seem hunted out garrentied! I know because I have done just that.

Well I also gotta give garrett a standing applause on this one, they obviously did there home work! Well done garrett you have found a true garrett user forever.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

612

Garrett 1500 metal has no escape!

September 14, 2008
At first I couldn't understand the machine, It was beeping at everything and I was digging nothing! I'm a beginner but after a bit of advice I can honestly say that it will not miss a single piece of metal in the ground!. It is constantly beeping as it analizes the ground you sweep over at any speed, it only beeps twice with a new tone if the target is good and well what can I say, this machine is unstoppable. The imaging feature is awesome as when you hear the positive tone and it shows its a coin size target you know you've got a good find...
Don't hesitate to purchase this machine as it will pick out ALL targets and you can eliminate any junk target you choose for no more false alarms.
The imaging feature proves it has the edge over Minelab an I'm sure it must have the same performance as it rarely goes stays silent. Well what are you waiting for...p.s the GTI 1500 is for sale on the net for £380!!! What a bargain try Amazon and cut out the middle man.. Regards Ry.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

231

It Actually Does What Garrett Says!

May 10, 2007
When I rc'vd my GTI 1500 I was a bit skeptical about the imaging feature. The idea sounded good but would it really work and be a valuable asset? I took it to a nearby wooded area near a park I've hunted in the past with limited success due to the large volume of trash. Lots and lots of screw caps and pull tabs old and new. The best I've done in the past using a Fisher 1236x2, Tesoro Toltec II, and a Minelab X70 is two memorial cents I found with the Fisher. Again, most of my poor luck was due to the abundance of trash.
Within 10 mins. of hunting with the Garrett GTI 1500, I rec'vd a repeatable Belltone. Using the imaging feature it showed a coin sized object at 3 inches. It turned out to be a 1950 silver dime!!! Further searching resulted in my uncovering a memorial penny. There is no question that the imaging feature feature worked as advertized and saved me a lot time from digging all the trash I've dug in the past. It was fooled a few times like all TIDs. But over all, I don't know how I will ever be able to hunt without the imaging feature.
I not only love the imaging feature, but also the ability for me to sweep eaither fast or slow without a reduction in performance. I also love the FAST recovery time of this Detector. I can't report on the overall depth capabilities of this detector, but here in AZ, most targets are not beyond 6 inches so I'm sure it will be more than adequate. I have read reports of finds at impressive depths with the 1500 but I always feel depth is often determined by the target, soil conditions, as well as the experience of the user.
I also enjoy the simplicity of using the GTI 1500.

A factor a lot of buyers don't give much consideration to is how well the detector fits there personality and style of hunting. I once owned a Minelab Quattro. I was amazed at some of the deeper targets I found with it. But the slow sweep speed and slow recovery of this detector drove me nutts. I'm not knocking the Quattro, I'm just making a point that it did not suit my personality where as the GTI fits me perfectly.

Thank you Mr. Garrett for a wonderful detector. By the way, I am not a dealer.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

640

The best GTI 1500

September 26, 2006
I really like this detector it is very acurate very deep and well built, I really like the bell tone for coins and the imaging is also really helpful. I have had just about every brand out there and this is the best for me a coin hunting beast.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

240

GTI 1500

September 24, 2006
This is with out a doubt the best detector for coin hunting I have ever had I hardly ever dig trash now imaging is great. This detector is also great at depth of detection.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

221

Will give it more time

May 09, 2006
I recently purchaed the 1500 and have have good, but mixed results. It is an impressive piece of goods. It is easy to use, just push the "power" button and go. The menu is great and easy to use too. It comes with a great video. The "imaging" wasn't as good as I had expected and Garrett had no qualms about me sending it back for re-calibration. The coin belltone is very nice as is the target depth indicator. It has many features that I haven't toyed with yet. In just 3 days I have found a gold wedding ring and a silver class ring along with many coins. I think this will be my detector of choice.

Overall Rating 4 stars

254

Submit your review for Garrett GTI 1500

Submit your tip for Garrett GTI 1500