Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II

Price: $220
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.00
Based on 24 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II

Compare to ▼
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310

Quick draw II

February 23, 2011
This was my first metal detector and I am very satisfied with it. I have found 10 hot wheels from when I was a kid in my back yard. I also have found about a dollar in the first two weeks of having it, 2 quarters and a Kennedy half dollar. I would recommend this to beginners to intermediate.

Overall Rating 5 stars!



July 10, 2010
I purchased this off of Amazon because of the many favorable reviews. I knew nothing about metal detecting at this point. I tried it for a few weeks and became very disappointed with its performance. I had a lot of trouble pin pointing my targets with it. And the BH pin pointer which was also included was equally as bad.

I found myself digging really huge holes in my searches because of these drawbacks. This was not fun at all.

I returned it to Amazon for a refund and started reading metal detecting forums and comments.

I ended up purchasing an Ace 250 and pro pointer and am completely satisfied. The Ace is everything I hoped the Quickdraw II would be and more.

Overall Rating 1 star


Is not the detector for me

July 05, 2010
The QDII is a beginners detector to start with. The different tones for metal types is the depth range of the object is good as well. The bad qualitys to me are all the false readings, the chatter and most of all this detector has no pinpointing quality what so ever. I have to swing the unit over a reading 10-20 times to try to even half way pinpoint where the object is in about a 4 to 5 inch radius.

I think I am going back to buy another whites.

Overall Rating 3 stars


Same as the Radio Shack Discovery 2000

May 04, 2010
Radio Shack has been selling this detector for several years under the Radio Shack name, such is mine. It's an excellent MD for the $. It will also find Gold nuggets, Not as sensitive as the GB or Lobo I'm sure. However, I've tested mine with very small nuggets to 4" max depth. You just need to know how to Calibrate for that. I found Auto notch to be best. Great relic machine, will easily sound a quarter at 10".

Overall Rating 5 stars!


Well worth the $$$

November 29, 2009
I have read both negative and positive things about this detector. Mostly, people with more expensive units trying to justify them spending $500.00 and up to get the same results.
Just so happens I was out near an old farm house built in the 1800's with a couple of other people who had more expensive units than I.
By mid afternoon we were just about to leave when I got a good hit. 2 jars filled with marbles, coppersilver coins, buttons and a couple of empty bullet casings. I cleaned eveything up, put them back in the jars and they now sit on my desk.
This was only my 3rd time out with the unit and I am still smiling!

Overall Rating 5 stars!


Bounty hunter

April 21, 2009
I've had bounty hunter, whites and minelab. Have no problems with anyone of these. I got two detecters in the same year, payed for them with my find in less then 3 mouths. Practice and your detecter will work good.

Overall Rating 3 stars


Found my wedding ring

September 01, 2008
I got this detector as an entry level to see if I'd stick with it, and in the unlikely hope of finding my lost wedding ring. Great news on both parts. The machine is easy to use for beginners, seems to be pretty accurate in finding coins, and as I found out this weekend, my gold wedding ring that was under 4" of sod and soil in my front yard. Keeps things simple, and definitely works. I am having a tough time controlling the "chatter" at beaches, but it may be my understanding of how to use the machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!


Great for the Price!

May 03, 2008
I have been metal detecting for about 40 years and have owned Whites, Garretts, Detex, Radio Shack detectors. I have owned my QD2 for about 2 years and have found over 400 coins, a gold pocket watch frame at 8", some civil war relics. The depth has been comparable to a whites prism 5. The discrimination works pretty well and depth indication is almost right on! The only thing that would make this detector even better would be Pinpoint capability. Overall, it is a great detector for the price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!


Needs pinpoint feature

April 30, 2008
Last week I dug out my whites coinmaster from 1981. I got the itch after hearing about all the new technology, so I purchased a Bounty Hunter quick draw II. Very disappointed. This machine does not pinpoint at all, I have spent 5 minutes trying to pinpoint an object and then give up. I took out my old whites and found the object right away. I am returning this machine and buying another whites.

Overall Rating 1 star


Great Machine for a Great Price

October 12, 2006
This has been a great coin machine although I have not found any silver or even wheats. The soil here eats zinc in this country. Found lots of clad. It really sounds off when over gold or coins and have on a couple of occasions picked up penny's to 6". Tone differentiation is fantastic and for the most part is accurate on the depth unless it's a large iron object or pop,beer can etc. Have had a hard time notching out all pull tabs with out loosing silver but have still found silver rings. Have found several 10 and 14 K rings so I have no gripes with this machine at all.

Overall Rating 5 stars!


Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II