Bounty Hunter Land Star

Price: $300
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.38
Based on 24 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.50
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Land Star

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Fisher F44 $400
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299

Learning the Landstar

August 26, 2009
I was really into detecting many years ago, and recently decided to jump back into it after a lengthy absence from the hobby. Read some good reviews of the BH Landstar, so I got one. After using it for a while now, I am very happy to read some of the other reviews here. Yes, I do seem to get many false signals. This has been really bothering me, but apparently is normal for this machine. I have noticed that I get good signals in Disc mode, but when I switch to All Metal to pinpoint I often get no signal at all.

Also, to date I have found lots of shallow, recent coins but not much at any depth ... could just be my bad luck. But I'd sure like to find something older at a little depth, just to reassure me I'm not passing good targets by!

Overall Rating 3 stars

211

Great Detector, Good Value

February 17, 2009
I have been metal detecting for 17 yrs. and recently purchased the Bounty Hunter Land Star off of Ebay for $165 (with a pinpointer, carrying case, trowel & headphones). To date, I have put about 206 field hours on this detector and absolutely love it! Here's the breakdown:

Yes, you will experience false readings (tones and item indications) like myself and several other reviewers with this detector. But this is the case with high dollar detectors as well. However, with practice, your treasure to trash ratio will increase.

I've been running my detector with the sensitivity at the 2 0'clock position in the Auto Notch Mode. I do not pay attention to the type of audible tone or the item indicator, just repeated tones. For instance, I have found several coins that will give off a medium tone and register as zinc. With a second pass over the same target, it will have a higher tone and register as a penny or dime. The commom factor is that, regardless of what tone or the indicator tells you, as long as you get some kind of tone on every pass, DIG! You won't find coins on every target but I've unearthed a few civil war buttons and pieces of jewelry along with of course, some trash.

The depth indicator works well and you can get about 10 hrs from two 9v batteries. Overall, this detector is well worth the money. As with any detector... just practice.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

442

My first detector

January 23, 2009
Well, I would say the depth meter seems to be pretty accurate. Could get a crushed can at around 7 inches into the ground. However it appears as a zinc or 1 cent coin on the display.

Pinpointing seems to be pretty accurate.

For me, I am using it in the disc or notch mode. Sensitivity set at around 10 o'clock position, notch around 12 o'clock position.

Hope this helps

Overall Rating 4 stars

120

Excellent for the money

April 19, 2007
I decided to wait a few months before reviewing this detector, so I could be well accustomed to it. I've found it to be an excellent detector for the money.

It gets good depth, and pinpoints right on. The no motion all metal mode is fantastic for pinpointing. The target id has been fairly accurate, although I've found that the more experience I get with the detector, the more I just listen to the tones. This seems to be common with all detectors.

I've found plenty of silver with it and a good number of old coins, hunting primarily parks, yards and woods. Nice to have the 5 year warranty if you need it, and the coils are very reasonable. I bought the gold nugget coil for trashy areas off of ebay for $35. It's a little gem.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

522

Maybe mines broke

September 10, 2006
Excellent for copper period. 6-7 inches on pennies. okay in shallow fresh water, better than on land. however after having it only 1 month i know i have to upgrade to a better one because this one cannot see silver and every large piece of iron this thing calls a silver dollar, 8 inches of digging later ive found a nail, not impressed. when they say only dig repeating over and over exact tones and id's they meen it, you will be a full fledged garbage man if you dont take that advice. some soils pinpoint well, hot rocks and trashy areas bring yourself a back hoe. The tuning might be off on this one, its a allergic to silver, but if your into iron relics or lots of pennies (it id's them perfect, depth to)its decent.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1323

Land Star = Work horse

January 26, 2006
First off a little about my self. I?ve been metal detecting off and on since 1982. This would be my third metal detector I?ve own. I like to own equipment that I could keep for years and still be up to date. I am not a dealer, this is one of my hobbies.
I?ve owned the Land Star for over a year now. Type of hunting I do the most is coinshooting, either in the parks or at the beach. This past year I?ve had the most coins found, have dug up less trash , found more rings, and deeper valuables this year than any other year. This detector is a work horse.
The manual is easy to read. The ground balance took some understanding but, didn?t take long to get that nailed down.Pinpointing is right on. In ?all metal? mode you can re-ground balance and ratchet right onto the target. In other modes, yes you?ll get a tone after the peak of the targets? signal. Using the X pinpointing method, the target is in the middle of the 4 tones. No problem, learned this with-in 5 minutes.
At the parks and trashy areas I use the 4? coil mainly. Using ?Disc? mode it?s not a problem pulling coins 5- 6? deep with that coil . The display and indicators are very accurate on telling you what?s under the coil. One key principle for coins and ?goodies? when pinpointing is good, repeatable tone/indication.
Beach hunting , is not a problem using the 4? or the standard 8? coil.
The BH users at the forum www.detecting.com ( bulletin board) are a great bunch and helpful. Bounty Hunter?s customer service is also excellent.
To sum it up in a nut shell. The Land Star is easy to learn, good depth, and good discrimination. I?ve enjoyed my Land Star and plan on keeping it for a good while.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

691

As good as the operator

November 25, 2005
I used this machine and found the 1843 Dahlonega $5 gold coin in Silver and Gold 2005 issue. On page 34. In the right locations this machine will make the finds. Dug Civil War buttons and one buckle also with this detector.

Overall Rating 4 stars

159

Land Star a very good Mid-Level detector

October 08, 2005
I have had my Land star for sometime now. I use it for Relics, coins and the beach. I have made some decent finds with it, more coins but a good many relics, and many beach finds. This MD surprised me on the beach! I can run the sensitivity at about 3/4 and it runs really quiet in the wet sand, black sand and dry sand. I will say it's not much for swimming at all as it did chirrup a lot in salt water. I have found the desc to be really good, and it finds coin sized targets at about 7 inches deep. The Pin point on this model is spot on most of the time, and goes REALLY DEEP in that mode (ALL Metal No motion) I found some melted bullets at almost 11� in that mode! Overall this is a nice detector for the money, I would get a used one or new off ebay.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

280

Land Star

September 30, 2005
I have owned the Land Star for 1.5 years now, its good for coins to about 6 inches deep. It does think that a crushed soda can is a quarter. I have found rings, charms and lots of new coins, no silver ones, but I live in a new area in the west. The display needs to be larger. I have to lift up the whole detector to see what it thinks it found, some items use the same beep tone. I put on a 4 inch coil and found hot rocks and a test gold nugget(tiny)on the ground, but it didn't see the gold 1 inch in the ground. Its a coin detector.

Overall Rating 3 stars

165

Fantastic Entry Level Detector

August 08, 2005
I've owned the Bounty Hunter Land Star for about 2 years now and it is a great, economically priced detector. Shop around because you can get it for less then one hundred dollars if you know where to look... cough... ebay... cough... ebay.

I've found tons of silver coins with this detector. It's target processor is extremely reliable for coins. If you get a solid repeatable coin tone then you've got a 95% chance of digging up a coin. I've also found Civil War buttons, old toys, and multiple rings at the beach. Yesterday I found 2 Mercury Head dimes (1918 and 1941) in a local park. Believe me when I tell you that treasure is in the ground everywhere.

Bottom line: Great metal detector to get you into the hobby cheaply so that you can begin finding some great stuff. Like I said, I've been using mine for 2 years and I don't feel the need to upgrade.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

291

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Land Star

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Land Star