Whites Prizm V

Whites Prizm V Price: $500
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.93
Based on 15 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 2 stars2.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Prizm V

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Fisher F44 $400
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700

Prizm 5

October 14, 2013
This baby can hang with the toughest. Great machine especially for the bucks. Small learning curve then once you get to know its reactions to what is there, it is amazing! I now own an MXT PRO but have no problem going back to the P-5 at times. I highly recommend this detector as part of an arsenal of exhuming wonders. As a serious initial unit, it can't be beat.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Not happy

May 27, 2013
Years and years I used the six DB very good machine due to the fact that I'm older now the weight of the six DB became an issue. So I bought a prism five, it is lightweight and much easier to use in that respect.
But no matter what I do I can't get it operate right. The target IDUs he tells me it's either a one cent piece or $.50 piece.

Now I have metal detected for years and in the whole time only found three $.50 pieces. As far as a depth goes that seem to be inaccurate also, and pinpointing is a joke. It's never in the center of the coil, and you can crisscross a target all day and a target is never were it is supposed to be.

Today I dug seven whole and found one piece of junk and it was on the outer edges of front of the coil. I would not recommend this metal detector to anybody that happen to like white's metal detectors. I'm going to dust my old one off and figure out how use it. I think I will call whites tomorrow and see if I get any answers or satisfaction, if not next new prism five is going up for sale.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
29

Artifactman

June 14, 2012
I have seen a lot of reviews on here everything from poor to great. I used this machine for two years just about every day the weather would allow.
The first 3 or so months I missed a lot of good targets that my friend would come behind me and get. The reason was because I didn't understand what the detector was telling me. For example, a deep merc. say six to seven inches will not reaD like a shallow dime the icon will jump for zinc to quarter back and forth in an erratic fashion.

Once I learned what the machine was doing my finds jumped trough the roof. Its a good detector you just got to use it and learn it. My buddy mentioned above hunted with an xlt and after I learned my prizm5 I was keeping right up with him and even skunked him a couple of times.

Also with this machine max sensitivity isn't always the best. If its acting a little erratic bump it down it wont hurt I promise, it seems like people think if its at the max setting it will work better, thats only true in some cases.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

121

Prizm detectors

October 15, 2011
Got a prizm 3, at first got to many ghost signals and only newer coins, my best was at the beach. Got a signal pulled a towel from the sand and two twenty dollar bills fell out, I email whites and they sent me a new coil, now I have found what most people had dream off.
At a relatives house we pulled a tree from the back yard a large hole was left about 4+ ft I tried my new coil found a boys scout badge dated 1984 coins 80s 70s at the bottom of the hole got a signal at nine inches dug and found 4 jars with 1887. 89. .1921..22 silver dls mercury dimes 1940..41.42.43 quarters 1934 to 67 half dls+nickels 1870s one jar full of wheat pennys 570pc 1927 to 1958 plus other coins .
Now I just found a semi new prizm v w/a 950 coil for a quarter of the price of a new one cant wait to try it out and see what treasures it will help me find.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1611

Very reliable and fun to use!

January 12, 2011
I recently bought a refurbished Whites Prizm 5G. I believe it is the same machine as the Prizm 5 with the addition of manual ground balance adjustment knob on the left side of the control box. I have given this machine a true beating. I use it almost every day after work
( I have a park in front of my house)
I used it at the beach once, got cought in the rain. accidentally dropped it. Got muddy, etc. This G5 works like a swiss watch! It is a little on the expensive side if new.

I bought it refurbished and still paid $400 for it . I am so far impressed with the quality and durability. It just looks and feels like solid Whites construction. As far as performance goes, it finds coins and jewelery at 6-8 inches no problem. A signal that repeats clearly is usually a good find. The VCO pinpointing feature is a lot of fun. In sand I find that some signals are not very clear at first, but then I switch to all metal or VCO and nail the target without a problem. Honestly I would like to save money for a MXT or MXT Pro, but I am keeping this G5 too! Simple to use. I believe it performs as advertised.

The recovery time is a little slower than some Fisher detectors, but the water resistant control box can take more punishment on the field and does not look or feels like cheap thin plastic. The target identification is usually accurate. It does not have VDI numbers showing on the LCD screen but it shows what the target probably is on a simple horizontal chart and also has like 8 different tones to help you figure out your target. You have the option of setting it to have 3 tones or one tone only too.

Discrimination, notching and sensitivity are all easy to play with. Target depth reading on the fly! The 9 inch coil does great but word is the 4X6 DD smaller coil works better in trashy areas (as expected).
I believe this is one reliable machine that can provide lots of fun if you choose a good place to hunt.
Happy new year and happy hunting to all!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

321

Using the Prizm

November 13, 2010
Eddy in East Texas, one very good detector, easy to understand and easy to use all day long, even for my wife, we both use them.

Very pleased with all they have to offer.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

120

WOW! Already?

March 31, 2010
It has been only not even 2 months with this machine and I've already got some great treasure.I found a Braided Hair Large Cent and a WW2 Hat Pin. This machine is one of the best of its class and for that price, I wouldn't (and didn't) hesitate to purchase it. I was lucky enought to get it for $440. The only bad things about this detector is it doesn't do too well in trashy areas and whole pop cans read as pennies (sometimes) Its depth is great and it knows what your digging, but pop tabs are confused with nickels a lot.the vco pinpointing is great and multi tone helps a lot. This is a great,simple machine and I wouldn't ask for any more

Overall Rating 5 stars!

241

Really sorry machine

March 25, 2010
Having owned garrett, bounty hunter and my favorite machine white coinmaster 4 and still use a whites 6000d, Imust say this prizm v metal detector is the most unreliable detector.
After searching a small area and coming up with only trash I went back over the same area and found a 14kt signet ring with my 6000d
The discrim is horrible, the depth reading is adequate, the multitone did not help much.
This prizm designers needed more input from people whom actually metal detect.

Overall Rating 1 star

2026

Prizm v not for me!

January 30, 2010
Far from rich I decided to buy another detector. My budget was around $300 and my whites 5900 di pro sl was getting old so I decided to go with something new. Since whites made great detectors I decided on the prizm v. What a mistake! Poor depth, jumpy signal. Sold it after 2 weeks.

Then I bought a tesoro cibola. What a machine depth is out of this world deep deep deep! Good targets scream at you! And for $340 delivered it's worth it! My 5900 is better than the whole prizm line and most of the newer whites! Whites seem to go 3 steps forward and 2 steps back! But I guess you could call it the old smoke and mirrors game. Putting the same circuitry and adding a whistle with no over all improvement in performance change the design and name and walla a new detector line.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1572

Fantastic Mid-Range Detector

November 10, 2009
I have had my Prizm V for about 3 years now and it has been a great detector. The features are simple to use, it is light enough to swing all day, and I usually find more "treasure" than trash. Hunting on Virginia Beach, I have found several pieces of gold jewelry laced with diamonds that have already more than paid for it. The Prizm V doesn't seem to do as well in wet sand, but that is common with detectors designed for coin/relic hunting. All together, it's a great machine.

http://www.treasurewriter.com

Overall Rating 4 stars

232

Submit your review for Whites Prizm V

Submit your tip for Whites Prizm V