Garrett Pocket Probe

Price: $120
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.78
Based on 18 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.50
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Pocket Probe

Compare to ▼
Nokta Pointer $139
Makro Pointer $125
Vibra-Quatic 2 Pinpointer $169.95
Nokta RS Pinpointer $130
Garrett Pro Pointer $150
Detectorpro Pistol Probe $170

Awesome tool for see impaired....

September 04, 2014
Last April I was diagnosed with Macular Adema in my right eye (Believing fro Miracle) so my detecting suffered whenever I had to locate a dark tarnished coin. After ordering my Garrett Pro Pinpointer I now have my third eye, what an invaluable help. Thank You Mr. Garrett!! Dan Walton.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 4 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
40

Outstanding

October 24, 2013
How anyone could metal detect without a Garrett Pro Pointer is beyond my comprehension. It helps you to pin point the exact location of your target. Helps you to determine the size of your target. It allows you to pop shallow targets out of the ground without having to dig a plug. It also allows you to find those coins that have taken on the same color of the dirt without having to wave hands full of dirt over the coil.

Not only is the Garrett Pro Pointer an outstanding piece of equipment but Garrett's service department is second to none. If your pro pointer should fail and we know that everything can fail you can depend on Garrett to get it fixed and back to you in record time.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Excellent

October 29, 2012
My previous pinpointer was a Fisher which was not worth 5 cents. The Garrett is awesome. I don't care for their detectors, but their pinpointer is bang on. The range this thing picks up is amazing. More often than not I can pinpoint with it before even digging a plug. Obviously the target isn't very deep for this but the parks I hunt, the majority of finds aren't very deep. A very valuable tool, wouldn't leave home without it!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

70

Garrrett pro pointer

November 20, 2011
I have got the garrett pro pointer its three weeks old and I think its the best thing since the wheel, I like it better than my car!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

152

Whites man in love with garrett pin pointer

September 16, 2010
As with anything detector choice is very opinionated! I am a hard core WHITES man!
Recently I watched a youtube post about garrett propointer and I was blown away. I thought this had to be a fake. 129.00 later I was sold! Its the perfect pinpointer. Small, powerful perfectly ergonomic. The only con I can see is it could have used a brighter led its only half as bright as the whites. I can't get the garrett detectors to perform like whites can but they rule the pinpoint world. I just knew they could come out with a good product.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

302

The Rolls Royce of Pinpointers

August 16, 2010
Folks if you're looking for THE BEST Pinpoint PERIOD! Well the Garrett PP IS IT!

I got the ACE 250 "Spring Package" ( highly recommended if you're getting the ACE 250). This PP is pack with features:
1. Water resistant(put a thumb on the small speaker)for easy clean-up.
2. The "beep" tune and vibration intensifies the closer you get to the target!(The "beep" goes to a straight tune when it's on the target).
3. Comes with a handy light, seeing the ACE 250 doesn't have back lighting.
5. A "Scraping Blade" to sift through the "plug", dirt ect.
6. 360 sensitivity, a real probe.
This baby more than makes up for the Ace 250's pinpointing short comings big time LOL.

Tip: 1.When you have located the target area just probe the area with the Garrett PP vertically for the precise location of the target! This works flawlessly on any target within 4". This means, swift recoveries with precision and smaller holes!

Tip: 2. If a signal is "iffy" in the coin range use tip 1. And if the PP's "Straight tune" is covering an area bigger than a coin then you know it's JUNK!
No matter what detector you get, GET THE GARRET PRO POINTER you WILL LOVE IT! Happy Hunting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

181

Awesome tool. Indispensable.

August 09, 2010
Cuts down your searching time 5 fold, once you have dug the plug. This unit is built very tough, and has a very long battery life using a single 9 volt battery. Has an LED light built in which is useful for low lit areas. It can be detuned to get right next to the object. Just turn it off and turn it back on while you are closest to the object. Great to scan the area before you dig, as a pinpointing tool also. If it beeps you know you won't have to dig deep unless the object is huge.

If using in the rain and mud, you should tape over the speaker hole with strong duct tape. You should do this in any case. My speaker hole and power switch are taped over. It may not be as loud but even with my poor hearing I have no problem in hearing the tone. Great for the beach also. Plunge it into the dry sand, and you will find your target in NO time. Rain and mud will enter the hole though and cause problems. For this reason I had to return mine to Garrett, (my fault totally) and while it was gone I felt lost without it. Garrett's service is next to none the best. This is a must have for all metal detectorists.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

192

Simply the Best!

July 21, 2010
If you're looking for a pin pointer, you don't have to look any further. The Garrett ProPointer has set a new standard for this piece of equipment. Easy to use, well built, outstanding warranty and service. And it helps me find my targets quicker wile digging smaller holes. Get it, you won't be disappointed.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

91

Must Have

February 07, 2010
After reading through all of the reviews I recently purchased one of these and it is well worth it. If you don't have a Garrett Pocket Probe (or equivalent) then you are wasting time and possibly missing treasure. I use a Garrett Ace 250 which works great and pinpoints targets very good. However during the dig it's a bit cumbersome to re-locate targets using a full size detector.

This probe speeds up the process by quickly letting you locate finds. On several occasions my dig was just off but the Garrett let me find the coin in the wall of my hole or just another half-inch deeper. It's also great for finding those dirt colored coins fast. I found at least 50 coins and two rings after the first few trips using it.

In Colorado the ground is frozen (now) which makes digs over a few inches almost impossible. After finding a target with my Ace 250 I started using the Pocket Probe to zero-in on it before digging. I scan the target area holding the probe parallel to the ground and then pinpoint it holding the probe perpendicular. I am digging smaller holes and finding targets faster than ever.

Others have mentioned the probe is too loud but you can mute it by holding it with the speaker against your skin. I recommend keeping a coin in your pocket near where you carry it so you know if it is still on when you put it back in its holster.

Bottom line – Five Stars – I recommend it. Have fun.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

420

Cut dig time, Big time.

January 24, 2010
Very good pinpointer, will not consider any other. Only thing is, the kids keep using it as a Detector (with good results)I might add, so at times it is hard to keep track of.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

63

Submit your review for Garrett Pocket Probe

Submit your tip for Garrett Pocket Probe