Whites Classic IDX PRO

Whites Classic IDX PRO Price: $500
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.57
Based on 23 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Classic IDX PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Fisher F44 $400
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites MX5 $600

Add me to the list of amazed idx pro owners

November 19, 2016
I saw all the reviews here and elsewhere online saying that the IDX Pro is a hidden gem. I took a long time waiting for a used one without much time on it to come up. FINALLY an IDX Pro only used for 3 hunts then closeted came up on a forum of 2nd hand machines.

When the machine arrived I was shocked...It looked brand new in every way! I took it out for a first hunt in a trashy area that I hunt that has yielded many silver coins and old jewelry. The IDX Pro lived up to it's reputation, as the coins started coming out of the trashy field. Depths was 3 to 8 inches. Then I hit a 1901 Queen Victoria Canadian 5 cent silver at 6 inches. SUCCESS!

Every day I have taken it out I have successfully pulled out coins and jewelry. If it beeps, there's something under the coil, and very little junk. This is the stock model. I am seriously considering the "Mr. Bill" mod that adds threshold, manual ground balance and boost. It's suppose to improve this already great machine into a top notch beast. If you can get your hand on an IDX Pro, do it. A modified version comes up on flea-bay or the forums now and then.

The extra hundred or so dollars is worth the price. I am very pleased that I added this machine to my collection. The only problem I will have is to justify keeping some of the machines that the IDX Pro out-performed.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
30

Thank you from beginner

June 01, 2015
Thanking all of you. I am more rock hound, that now incorporated gold, and silver into the hobbies. Your review helped me have faith my research had paid off. Just won at eBay a white IDX pro classic lc. Looking forward learning from you all. Semper Fidelis,RETRIED SPARTAN Swift,Silent, Deadly our motto USMC LAW ENFORCEMENT CAPTAIN JOSEPH FITZPATRICK.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
718

An oldie, but a definite goodie.

June 15, 2014
I have a 16 year old White's Classic ID which has been modified for manual ground balance and threshold. This thing smokes my digital MX5. I did the classic 'nail board' test, where I taped a large rusty nail, a gob of foil and a silver quarter smack on the middle of the 2, spaced about 1-1.5" inches apart. When I swept the board in front of the coil of the MX5, the 'dig me' tone was not even there. Erratic, sputtery signal and a VDI that went from 8 to 60. In other words, it did not indicate a 'diggable' target. Pass it by....

When the same board was swept in front of the Classic ID, I got a clear, repeatable tone. In other words, DIG ME! The Classic is stable, quiet and you can kick up the sensitivity almost 100 percent before it becomes unstable. I also discovered I like a silent search, as the MX5 requires a slight (sputtery, poppy) threshold tone. I like my MX5, I really do. It's depth is great, pinpointing is spot on but in order to have success, you basically need to be hunting ground where there is nothing but coins, and we all know, that's NOT going to happen.

This is the difference between the analog and new digital machines. While the new digital machines have advantages (TID), those advantages don't necessarily mean much in the real world. I hope this Classic ID never dies. I'm looking for a second one just in case.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
172

Bloody marvelous

March 21, 2013
I bought this machine as a back-up and for my girlfriend to use occasionally. Needless to say, she started to finds things and at a truly great depth! So she permanently borrowed it, and it is now hers.....Mumble mumble grumble.

Joking aside, this machine was one of those technological moments where they reached a peak. I challenge any modern machine, yes I do mean any. Including the V3i and E-trac, Deus etc to beat this machine for depth. I promise it will give you a run for your money. A great machine, good recovery speed, and lovely and simple to use whilst doing all the important things right.

If you're lucky enough to find one around, buy it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

164

Idx pro

March 13, 2013
After reading some info online I was lucky enough to find a used IDX PRO on CL.
Having never touched a detector in my life I was thrilled that I was able to turn it on and have a decent idea of what was going on immediately. That was the fall of 2012.

After 3 months and MANY MANY hours I have bagged 90 bucks in all sorts of coins and everything else you can imagine might be buried in parks and schoolyards. As with any machine the more time you spend with it the better you and it work as one. I would not even try another detector, it has been so good why change? Sometimes you're lucky enough to get a winner on the first shot, and at the 200 bucks I paid I couldn't be happier.

In fact I ordered an identical to the "tee" detector for my 8 year old son who has been my constant hunting companion. That one was 255 bucks but there was shipping and it came with a nice set of headphones. Absolutely great machine so far, I would have trouble even bringing up the few things that it could have. I'd rather not have those extras in return for exactly what I do have which is a PAIR of phenomenal machines.

Anyone having trouble is dealing with a machine that is not up to par for whatever reason, don't dump it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

195

Great Detector !!

October 05, 2012
An absolute beauty of a machine. Will hold it's own with detectors costing twice it's price. Simple to use and lightweight with excellent recovery time, depth and discrimination. The best machine out there pound for pound and dollar for dollar. Missing a couple of "bells and whistles" but when factored in with it's overall performance capability, this is rendered meaningless IMO. An IDX Pro in the hands of an experienced hunter is a deadly combo.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

121

IDX still rules!!!

November 29, 2011
I have had my IDX pro for many years now.... And just got back into the hobby ..... It is a great machine and I have found many coins on the beach in little time as I do with my Coinmaster....

Overall Rating 4 stars

225

10 year old IDX Pro

June 19, 2011
I bought my IDX Pro over ten years ago and really can't complain much at all, a depth meter would be nice but lack of it never bothered me very much, I have more than paid for it with all the coins I have found. Batteries seem to last a long time as long as I use the good quality ones. I think I will keep this machine a few more years before I look for something better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

264

Second Hand IDX Pro

September 10, 2010
I bought a second hand IDX Pro from my local detector outlet (Detecnics UK) for £250. It was bought primaraly for my 13 year old son to use as I use a Minnelab etrac. I tried the IDX on a local field and was amazazed at just how good a machine this is. It seems a little lighter than the etrac and I love the fact that it is simply switch on and go. Discrimination is excellent and I like the simple pin point toggle switch. In my opinion the IDX rates top with the best of them.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

341

IDX Pro, Great all rounder !

October 18, 2009
I have owned my IDX Pro for about 9 years, also have other more expensive higher end machines, DFX and Minelab Explorer. The up market detectors may have some advantages at some sites, but as the best all round machine the IDX is still the one I chose to use more often than not. Good depth, good discrimination. 9 years constant use never a single problem. Ok no battery indicator. But do you really need one? The newer Whites machines, Prisim etc were not a step forwards, So if an IDX comes up for sale BUY IT. You wont be disapointed and it may well out last you!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

611

Submit your review for Whites Classic IDX PRO

Submit your tip for Whites Classic IDX PRO