Whites Classic IDX PRO

Price: $500
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.46
Based on 26 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.33
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.17
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Classic IDX PRO

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Fisher F44 $400
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites MX5 $600

10 year old IDX Pro

June 19, 2011
I bought my IDX Pro over ten years ago and really can't complain much at all, a depth meter would be nice but lack of it never bothered me very much, I have more than paid for it with all the coins I have found. Batteries seem to last a long time as long as I use the good quality ones. I think I will keep this machine a few more years before I look for something better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

274

Second Hand IDX Pro

September 10, 2010
I bought a second hand IDX Pro from my local detector outlet (Detecnics UK) for £250. It was bought primaraly for my 13 year old son to use as I use a Minnelab etrac. I tried the IDX on a local field and was amazazed at just how good a machine this is. It seems a little lighter than the etrac and I love the fact that it is simply switch on and go. Discrimination is excellent and I like the simple pin point toggle switch. In my opinion the IDX rates top with the best of them.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

413

IDX Pro, Great all rounder !

October 18, 2009
I have owned my IDX Pro for about 9 years, also have other more expensive higher end machines, DFX and Minelab Explorer. The up market detectors may have some advantages at some sites, but as the best all round machine the IDX is still the one I chose to use more often than not. Good depth, good discrimination. 9 years constant use never a single problem. Ok no battery indicator. But do you really need one? The newer Whites machines, Prisim etc were not a step forwards, So if an IDX comes up for sale BUY IT. You wont be disapointed and it may well out last you!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

681

Difficult to beat.

October 08, 2009
The first 'modern', quality detector I ever owned was the Classic IDX. Living in the UK, I was spoiled with the finds rate. It was giving strong, solid signals on Elizabeth I pennies at 6"-7" depth and half crowns regularly came up from 9" and deeper.
I eventually traded it in for an XLT and later bought a DFX. Even though they were/are great machines, I still regreted letting the IDX go. Recently I was offered an almost new IDX and jumped at the chance.
I can honestly say that, for the price it is the finest machine I have ever worked with. I even use it in preference to the DFX which I still own. A magnificent detector, they make mincemeat of the Prizm range and outperform many of the machines that are hundreds of pounds more expensive. Im just amazed that Whites are no longer making the IDX.
If you want to spend hours playing with AC/DC adjustments, ground balancing and all the other bells and whistles, get a DFX, they are a great machine and I love mine to bits. But if you want to walk into a field, turn on and start making high quality finds at depth, get an IDX, if you're lucky enough to find one.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

412

Whites idx pro

July 02, 2009
Hi, I just bought a Whites idx pro and also I've got a fisher f2. I've been out with the fisher in the woods and picked up a few coins, but the whites leaves it in the dust. Where I've been with the fisher, whites have picked up coins!! I don't care what people think about the detectors whites is better and if you are going to buy a fisher f2 I am not putting it down, it is a good detector but whites is the better one.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

323

Trouble with IDX pro

July 10, 2008
I live on an old farm site, and before we bought our first detector we had found one indian head cent, one large cent (about 1802), several interesting buttons, tons of horse shoes, a horse stirrup, and tons of random, yet interesting stuff, including forks, spoons, and knifes that are over 100 years old. well, we therefore assumed that with our new $550 detector we would be digging up many more things of equal or greater interest. we were wrong. the detector has never revealed to us anything deeper than four inches, here, or anywhere else. we have found almost nothing of interest.

When we get a signal, and we dig up a circle of sod, the object that gave us the signal, is always in the sod, no deeper.

When we decided to test our detector, we found that it could not register a nickel lying on top of the ground, but it can do a quarter. Even with the quarter it wont register it more than 7 inches away. We even tried adjusting the little screw under the "Made In America" sticker, but to no avail.

Maybe it's just us, or maybe we bought a faulty detector...

To sum it up, if I were to start from the beginning, I would start off with buying a higher quality detector.

Overall Rating 2 stars

2867

Proven Whites quality

September 20, 2007
I picked up a near new IDX pro from a Friend first 10 min I was finding Mercury head dimes 5-7 "deep. Good accuracy. and the weight is half what my old Whites 5900 Di pro .light and simple yet detects well. Im pretty impressed with the IDX pro so far.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

292

Great Machine for the Money

September 13, 2007
I purchased a used IDX Pro of ebay about 4 months ago. I was just moving up from a low end bounty Hunter and wanted a machine that was easy to use, better at disc., and went deeper. I got all those with this machine. I absolutly love it. It has great disc. and I've found coins up to 8-9 inches down. So far I've found three large cents, 6 barber dimes, 1894 barber quarter, and 11 other silvers along with countless clad. great machine

Overall Rating 5 stars!

283

WHITES IDX PRO IS PERFECT IF ONLY

November 19, 2005
If Whites would just add a depth meter, tone ID, low battery indicator, and backlight,...it would be the PERFECT detector in my opinion! I wouldnt trade it for a brand new "Prism". I cant understand why Whites is discontinuing this model. It is a lot easier to use than the DFX and a lot less expensive!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

483

No depth meter, No VDI #'s.. So why did you buy it

October 30, 2005
if you feel you need those features? I just don't understand people knocking this Excellent detector because it doesnt have a few convenience features they enjoy using. It is a proven performer that is still one of the best in its class.

Personally my only gripe is the balance/ergonomics, after swinging a while it just feels off somehow. No big deal but not a detector I would want to swing all day. Its only real competition to date is the Fisher ID Excel which I personally rate a bit better in iron handling and Oh yeah, it does have those other features..

Tom

Overall Rating 5 stars!

332

Submit your review for Whites Classic IDX PRO

Submit your tip for Whites Classic IDX PRO