Garrett GTP 1350

Garrett GTP 1350 Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.68
Based on 28 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett GTP 1350

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Very unrated machine

September 13, 2013
I don't understand why this detector wasn't more popular. It has pretty good depth (6 to 9 inches). It hits hard of silver and copper. The graphic feature is very helpful. It's sensitive enough that it can pick up tiny pieces of bullet fragments or lead shot. I'm most impressed with how rugged this thing is.

I have gradually moved into more relic type hunting involving old homesteads and abandoned home sites. I go into the forested areas, thickest grass and weeds to try and find good items. I even use it in the water. The detector gets beaten up regularly but it's it is built tough. I'm at the point where I'm considering something new but I have absolutely no regrets with this machine. It has served me well for the last 2 years.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
160

Love the Garrett 1350

June 15, 2012
Simply put. . . . . The most practical easy to use and accurate detector I have ever owned!!!!!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1427

Hmmm will correct this if fixed

March 04, 2012
Firt time out and tried everything to get it to work right but all I got was bouncing signals constantly. Going to call tommarow and see if I got a bad detector or if something else is wrong.

Overall Rating 1 star

3213

The Relic Baby

June 17, 2011
Man what a detector! I have owned many detectors over the years but this one is my second best. I hunt civil war relics and when that ID says 7 it's a bullet almost 90% of the time. Buttons come in at 5-6 and large pennies at 10.I noticed if you go over a target and it makes a small churp go over the target really tight and half the time it's a small piece of brass like a small flat button.

I use the stock coil all the time. I notch out 1 2 and 3 on my Id because it usually ends up being a square nail. I run her as hot as I can which usually ends up at around 10-10 1/2.
The only other detector I ever owned that could put the hurts on this machine was the fisher 1266x.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2443

Garrett gtp 1350

March 27, 2011
I've owned this detector now for 3 years, and have found it to be the best Ive seen, and used. When this detector hits a coin you know its a coin.

I use the size graph all the time its easy to use, and Ive had lots of practice! The pinpoint is exactly on! The one thing I can say is that digg all penny hits silver rings come in at the same as pennies, and indian heads read a little different than newer pennies.

With all the coins I've found- I've paid for this detector over, and over again. I've recovered coins at 10", also I've recovered a large piece of iron that was in the ground for a long time, and was down over a foot!

Gold rings hit all over the id so its hard to tell, most of the time they hit near pull tabs, but out of the number of gold rings I've found they have been all over the id but, not over a penny. {between just under a pull tab to just below the penny id.}
If this detector makes the sound of a railroad crossing, and you use the target sizeing mode, and its the smallest size- its a coin! I've found a 1920 half dollar at 9" and the target id was spot on! this detector is great and I recommend it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2034

GREAT RELIC MACHINE!

March 13, 2011
I'm not going to write a book on this. I'm just going to say great depth! And pinpointing is dead on and target ID is great! I know when mine says 7 it's a bullet at my relic sight.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1230

Not bad but needs some impovement

December 08, 2010
The Garrett GTP1350 has a lot of nice features and seems to go fairly deep on targets. I like to hunt for coins in local parks and schools so I need a detector with notch discrimination to help separate the trash from the good targets. The GTP has that and more.

It seems to hit coins with a fairly accurate target ID down to five or six inches. After that the ID starts to get a little jumpy. As another review said it could be better on nickels. It will only correctly ID a nickel down to about 3 inches, after that the ID really starts to be off and it will usually drop down towards the iron zone. If you are running in the coins mode you will probably miss a lot of nickels. The sizing feature does seem to work fairly good. The depth meter is usually pretty close. I like the bell tone. I do not like how you have to deactivate the sizing feature every time after you use the pinpoint button. There should be a way to turn it off completely.

All in all not a bad detector but because it is so bad at identifying nickels I will stick with the Omega. I do not like the thought leaving a bunch of coins in the ground because the detector can not properly ID them past a few inches. Other detectors that I have go deeper and ID targets at depth a lot better, but then again Garrett is not asking $1200-$1500 dollars for the GTP1350 either.

Overall Rating 4 stars

2035

The Best Detector Out There

December 01, 2010
When I go metal detecting I take my gtp 1350 because it is the best detector that I have ever used. When I take it to an old yard, the first thing it sniffs out of the ground is the silver coins and clad other than nickels. The machine could be better on nickels. When all of the silver is mainly out of the ground it is a king on old wheat pennies and indian head pennies. I really like how you can change the tones of the detector. It is also not very heavy. It is light weight.
This is the best detector that I have used. I would reccomend it to anyone. If you want to see my recent finds with this detector please visit my website:
www.metaldetectingfortreasures.com

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2031

A button eater!

October 19, 2010
I will try and make it as short as possible. The GTP 1350 with stock coil is the best detector I have ever owned period! It loves buttons and brass. I do a lot of civil war relic hunting and most of my areas are cornfields and wooded areas. If you take it too a hunted out area hold onto your hat because this machine will sniff anything out if it was missed!

The first time I took her out I went to a hunted out camp in a cornfield which the soil was more clay than dirt. I found 4 flat buttons 3 bullets an 1859 indian head penny in bad shape and a piece of thimble. Now this place was MXT'd too death! Hears what I found out about this machine. First I ran her on jewelry mode not relic! I set my sense at 10.5 and thresh at 3.5 and she was a killer! She ran very stable and I noticed something else after trying different things. Stop at every hit and go over the target with about a 10 inch sweep and kind of slow. You will be surprised some good targets will suddenly appear! Why? Because It's something small and deep!

I had a hit with mine and it registered a 2 as I was sweeping. So I backed up and made shorter sweeps and slower and it came up a 5 and rang out very nice. So digging down I found a flat cuff button and the depth was between 8-9 inches That's not bad considering it's down in a lot of clay! Remember small brass items will give you a very tight signal. As for the imaging on the GTP it's nice but when it comes to civil war relics a cannon ball can come up like an iron plow blade so I don't advise using it for relics. As for shooting coins it's a god send! By the way it pinpoints better than any machine I have ever owned!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1621

Design excellence

May 26, 2010
I purchased my GTP 1350 from Waldo of Tennessee through Ebay two days ago. I have an engineering background, and could not wait to open this unit up and take look at how Garrett designed it. I am very impressed.

First, the housing and other parts are made of "rubber maid" type plastic, very tough and scratch & dent resistant. Whites, rugged as they are, uses metal housings that get scratched up quite badly, which is an issue when trying to resell the unit.
The electronics part of the GTP 1350 is even better. There are 4, surface mount PC boards sandwiched together in nice layers kept separated by special standoffs. On one bd. there is a 100 pin LSI chip that has to be the micro processor along with the 36 pin Eprom? I guess, both together probably make the DSP (digital signal processor) circuit. Another bd. has another 36 pin Eprom IC for other functions. So when Garrett says that this detector is micro processor controlled, IT IS.

Other features like the battery compartment and the slide in covers that push the battery holders in,(to make a good electrical contact), while you push the covers in place, show the thought that went into the design of this detector. One thing I do not like about earlier detectors is the wobble in the shaft when you're swinging like the Whites 5900 DI/PRO that I had. I thought that this detector would have that problem due to the lack of cam locks.
Again, Garrett took care of that as well. If you look carefully at the end of the lower plastic rod that goes into the upper metal rod, you will see that it is made to fit snugly, the plastic at the end of the rod, and about 3 inches up from the end, is built up slightly to eliminate wobble. Cool huh?

The face plate of the display is not shinny but rather a matte finish to reduce reflection and the affect of scratches that may get on there. The display backlight is composed of a single light source with at least 100 fiber optic fibers that carry the light through out the back of the display so you get evenly distributed light, not a lot of light at one end and a little light at the other end. That is so cool!

I like the fact that Garrett chose to go with the threaded collar for the coil connector instead of a push on DIN type connector that the Fisher F5 uses. I had an F5 and opened it up, and I have to say it is not worth what the retail price is for that unit. The Garrett on the other hand is. I would not have a problem paying full retail price for the top of the line Garrett detectors because they are well designed, electrically and mechanically, not cost cutting chincy. I could go on and on, but I think this is enough. As far as performance, so far, I agree with all of the other reviews here on this detector.

The GTP 1350 is a little heavier than the F5, but there is so much more detector there, and it is lighter than some of the top end Whites. Well done Gattett!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3646

Submit your review for Garrett GTP 1350

Submit your tip for Garrett GTP 1350