Garrett GTP 1350

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.68
Based on 28 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett GTP 1350

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Well the Beach was fine!

March 24, 2007
Went to the beach finally and located almost four dollars in clad (regular coins). Also located small staple (iron) at about 3.5 inches. The GTP 1350 truly amazes me at the depth and smallest of size of items it can detect. I didn't locate anything in the wet sand although I buried coins to test it, and the unit worked fine (stable as when on dry sand). Didn't take it into the water though (cold). I'm still very impressed with the GTP 1350 and have located several great finds since my last review (including a 100 yr old pocket watch at 10" deep, Silver ring embedded with garnet and topaz stones, and a Tiffany and Co. Locket). So if mister Garrett can get me up and running on one of his units in a month and a half time, I think this machine would make a great alround metal detector for anyone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3026

Coin O Matic

February 16, 2007
I've just started detecting this month and can say My only expierence is being familiar with cable locating equipment up until now. I found the GTP 1350 to be a simple turn on and go system with some nice feature useually found on higher end equipment (notching, audio tones, auto ground balancing, preset modes, icon read out). The Target Profiler is really nice if your in a hurry and would like to hit only coins or dig small targets, (eliminates cans or Larger targets quickly but you still might get a tab or two). When you hit a coin it just about slaps you upside your head with a "cha ching" that any child could understand.

I purchased mine used and made my decision to purchase due to the reviews on this page. They made a believer out of me! Although I still haven't taken it to the beach though, and other detectorist think it may not make the grade. I'll report later to see what I find. Don't chase false signals by wearing steel tip shoes. 8) Finds: Wheaties, Pennies, dimes, quarters, ring, earing, a gun knife, marbels, bottle, dog tag, bullets/spent, assorted other goofy collectables all in +or- 14 hours of detecting over 6 days. I'd give the unit a thumbs up, Rick

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2320

Good as DFX

January 22, 2007
I am fairly new to metal detecting, But I have a friend that goes out with me often with a whites DFX, when we find a target we call the other over and compare reading on the machines, they have always called junk junk, and when it comes to coins they both say the same thing and the 1350 image is always right on, the Whits is about 400-500 bucks more, VERY happy with my choice in the Garrett 1350

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2430

Rings

May 14, 2006
I am very impressed with the 1350. I have been using it for about 6 months ( I have been dectecting for 13 months) and this weekend I found my 33rd ring. I can only hunt for about 4 hours a week, but have found $275 in coins and 33 rings including my first diamond ring. Thanks Garrett.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3034

Pinpointer

January 29, 2006
After pinpointing a target I always found it, even if it was a pull tab. Unfortunately pull tabs and gold rings have the same signature. One way to find targets quickly is to use two trowels: one metal for hard ground, and pour the dirt into a plastic one to wave over the coil to let you know when you have it. After locating the scoop slowly shake the dirt out untill you find the target.

Overall Rating 4 stars

2029

The 1350 is a winner!

July 18, 2005
Everything I've heard about the 1350 is dead on! This is one great machine! The learning curve is so easy...is't almost non-existant. Andy's review is absolutely true. By running in the jewelry mode, you will pick up more depth. Make sure sensitivity is at max, and you'll be diggin' Chinese coins! This is my favorite ID detector!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4738

EXCELLENT DETECTOR!!

June 09, 2005
This is the most user friendly detector on the market.great on the beach! was right on with everything ive found.it likes silver and it goes deep!! batteries last a long time too.you wont go wrong with a GTP1350. good price excellent detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3434

Easy to use detector

November 26, 2004
Let me start what to do first before you go out in the field with this nice detector.

Here are my tips:

1. Set the threshold to the point where you can barely here it.
2. Tape the coil cable straight up the lower rod.
(See my picture)
3. After you did number 2 run sensitivity at max.
If the detector is not stable back down a notch.
4. Run it in jewelry mode for max depth.
If you run it in coin mode you loose some depth.
5. Get the 4.5 inch coil for it.That coil will give you great target separation and id around old houses.
6.Make sure you always have spare battery holder.That is the only weakness of the Garrett.
7.If the id jumps for iron to coin...it's junk.
If it jumps in the coin range it's a deep coin most of the time.

The Garrett GTP 1350 is the same model like the GTAx 1250 but the 1350 has profiling (sizing).
I think that profiling isn't really necessary, because you can tell by the length of the tone that size the target is.I don't like that you turn profiling on every time you press pinpoint; because you have to press it again to turn it of.
It uses different tone in profiling mode than in disc mode...why...it's not helpful.
that profiling is just a help if you hunt a place where targets are not to close together (Beach).In trash you can't use it because the coil sees to many targets at once and the reading is off.
The GTP 1350 can size with ALL coils unlike the GTIs.
Is the Garrett deep ??? Yes if you follow my tips.
It is as deep as every other top of the line detector out there.I compared it to the Whites MXT and can say the Garrett hits better on silver and copper, but the MXT is a little hotter on nickels.The Garrett runs more quiet.
The garrett is well balanced and fun to use.You don't have to read the manual every time you use it, because it is easy to use.There are no outside controls you could accidently turn.
Target ID is right on if you use the right coil for the area you hunt in.Nickel can come in a little higher some time, so accept one more notch up.
I liked the 1250 better, because i don't need the profiling.Performance is the same.
HH,
Andy




Overall Rating 4 stars

25037

Submit your review for Garrett GTP 1350

Submit your tip for Garrett GTP 1350