Garrett Ace 150

Garrett Ace 150 Price: $150
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.23
Based on 35 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.25
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.38
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 150

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160
Teknetics Alpha 2000 $200
Whites Coinmaster $180

Awesome

October 27, 2016
Had the ace 150 for a little over a month and its my first detector and I'm hooked! I've found dozens of coins earliest being a 1911 Australian penny about 7-8" in my own backyard I've found a silver pendant on a cricket field about 4" and also a lot of junk but its all part of the fun you just have to be patient and get familiar with the tones and not get frustrated be patient. This machine is great and cannot wait to find my first bit of gold!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
11

The best starter machine around.

January 03, 2016
I'm surprised at the negative reviews of the Garrett Ace 150. For the money (around 90 UK pound) it's unlikely you will find better. The Ace 150 is my back-up detector, I use it when I feel like a change or when beach detecting as it tolerates wet/damp sand far better than a lot of higher-priced machines. Yes, the target recognition is not always correct but even Minelab and XP machines get this wrong from time to time and yes, sometimes being a single-tone machine it takes a while (if you are new to detecting) to figure out which targets are worth digging and which to leave, but we have work this out with any detector we buy.

I like the fact that it's a simple switch on a go machine. Choose a mode, set the sensitivity and away you go. Again, for the price it's a surprisingly deep little detector and can easily find a coin on the beach at 8" deep. Even though I've got my eye on a new back-up machine I won't be parting with the ACE 150. For someone just starting out in the hobby you can't go wrong with this detector and it will pay for itself in no time.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
72

Garrett ace 150

October 29, 2015
Great machine deeper than my f2 light and easy to use, I use it mostly on beach, great on land, easy on batteries. All the detector I'll ever need, get headphones with volume control though its loud.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
61

Garret ace 150

October 25, 2015
I've had quite a few detectors, and had a loan of ace 250 for months, the ace 150 is brilliant, exactly dame coil frequency, and depth, I've tested both, and a honest email from garret said same, pinpointing and couple of extra modes is only difference, I love the ace 150 it works in wet sand if I knock one bar off sensitivity, I will upgrade, but wouldn't have anything else for back up. Great.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
42

Good dry sand machine

March 01, 2015
This machine excels in one place and one place only - The dry sand. There is no pinpoint feature on the machine so you have to do the X marks the spot technique. You also get the bare minimum of target information (5 sectors: iron, nickles, pulltabs, rings, coins. And depth gauge) However if you live near a beach and have a spare $150 then this machine will serve you well as long as you search the dry sand!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 4 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
48

Not much yet

November 27, 2014
I got the ace 150 about 6 weeks ago. Found a lot of junk and one ring. I haven't had the ring checked out but it looks cheap. Headed to the beach on Monday I'll see what I can dig up there. Still good exercise.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
45

Excellent all rounder.

July 29, 2013
I have been through a few detectors and have ended up with an XP Deus, which I really like. My 2 sons showed interest in detecting but having had an Ace 250 in the past, I was a little bit concerned about getting a 150 for them. I needn't have worried.

On our first outing, incidentally on the beach, this amazing little detector performed absolutely superb. The boys were picking out coins in the dry and wet sand without any bother whatsoever. I had a little go with it too and was very impressed. I won't be getting rid of my Deus for one but I must admit to wondering why I have spent so much on a detector when the Ace 150 performs as well as it does.

Hugely recommended over anything on the market. We used it in All Metal mode and swapped over to jewellery to confirm a good target. Sensitivity was set at one bar below maximum with no problems with falsing on the wet sand.
Coil does need to be just barely off the wet sand to avoid any false signals. Good repeatable signals are the one's to look out for.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
168

Inaccurate readings

April 23, 2013
Getting hits as coins that turn up as junk, IE. Pop can pull tabs, old barbed wire. It does turn up coins too but it's a real gamble what your going to get. A lot more junk than coins or jewelry. Very frustrating to use.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1127

Hunter

December 17, 2012
For the most part I really don't understand why metal detector are so expensive, all of them have a small electronic card that are very easily made (in China) and the wands are nothing new, this is actually old technology, so when I see these huge prices for these things it make me want to cringe and forget this as a hobby, I purchased two very good used units from two different manufactures only to find both had the exact same electronic cards in them.
These hobby hunting devices are way over priced, sorry no more for me.

Overall Rating 3 stars

2019

Great machine

August 15, 2012
Great machine, looks nice, works great, pinpointing is easy, don't listen to all those ppls, who write its a hell to pinpoint, its a lie, give it some time, and you will be master of it, I'm going with minelab or garrett ace 250-350 for next machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

196

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 150

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 150