Garrett Ace 150

Price: $150
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.23
Based on 35 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.25
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.38
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 150

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160
Teknetics Alpha 2000 $200
Whites Coinmaster $180

Good Machine

October 03, 2011
This is my first season with Garrett Ace 150, some 50 hours in total. I like both the machine and the process of coinhunting. It seems to be very similar to fishing, that I like very much. Ace 150 gives you an opportunity to think the process over, so after some time of practice you can work out your own strategy and tactics of search.

I hunt mostly on old roads and paths in the woods and in the fields and have found a couple of dozens of old copper coins and one tiny silver coin, that is over 300 years old. I set Jewelry or Coins mode to give the task for the machine and then switch to All Metal to identify what I've found.
I like Garrett Ace 150 for being easy to use and a chance for thinking.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2237

Acer 150

May 24, 2010
It does everything bar tell u where the coin is so u got 2 dig very wide hole. That takes twice as long as u mate with his machine and he got old c scope from car boot sale.

Overall Rating 3 stars

42107

Great Detector for the money...

January 21, 2010
I bought my Garrett Ace 150 less then a month ago. I love it. I have fount over $16 in clad ,1 .925 silver ring,1- 1945 silver dime. 3 wheat pennies. All i can say is for the price it cant be beat...

Overall Rating 4 stars

4945

Silver 5 stars gold o stars

June 05, 2009
I find feal silver 500 bc silver and others.
I doit test for gold 7 stucks gold coins deapth half meter and nothing. For gold take other machine but for silver is the best 1,5 meters in the rocks detecting silver is powerfull. Sorry for my einglish I dont know good english. ty, and good luck to all.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3264

Two short trips, two beautiful coins!

March 23, 2009
My partner and I have just bought our first detector, the Garrett 150, we went out on a 'trying it out' trip in a field in Shropshire UK, and within about 10 minutes had detected our first find, a short cross quarter silver penny about 1200 AD! this tiny thing was about 3 inches deep, but the Garrett gave a clear and focussed signal. We were hooked, the next day out to another field, after half an hour or so, the Garrett detected a strong silver signal, this time about 6 inches deep, a King James 1st silver sixpence in lovely condition, with the date crystal clear after 400 years in the ground, 1604!
This machine has effectively paid for itself in two days re. coin value, although our pleasure in touching history is the most exciting thing by far! Dont hesitate, if our experience is anything to go by....

All the best
Dave Perry

Overall Rating 5 stars!

10240

Great detector

March 18, 2009
I just got a used Garrett Ace 150 and used it in area where we had just done some construction and we were amazed with what we found (even little staples). We found over 30 items (nails, screws, very small rust pieces). I'm impressed with our training exercise and how great it worked.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2346

Wicked Bang For The Buck!

September 14, 2008
I received my Ace 150 as a birthday gift this summer. I must admit it does take a little to get used to, but once you have figured out all the features and signal sounds you will be on your way to digging up a bottomless pit of goodies! As for the pin pointing complaint I have no problem with it. I do the "X" pattern over the signal and can come within 1-3 inches of the target. I find that some of the newer Canadian coins do not fall into the coin range but actually into the iron segment. But who really cares! I am sure most detectorists aren't interested in digging up 2007 quarters anyway!

As for the good stuff like silver, copper, and brass items they sound nice strong signals in the coin range that you can be about 90% sure with some practice you will be digging a worthy target.

Pennies and silver coins sound a repeating bell tone when you position the coil directly over the top of the target. I hear a lot of novices complain that it can't find gold alone but it falls into the pulltab range. This is true but one thing to remember is that even a $1000+ detector will give you the same signal! Just keep digging up those pull tabs and you will find gold! This detector is one heck of a deal for the price so don't be deterred by some of the negative comments you may have heard. Just be patient and learn what the machine is telling you.

Remember that the detector is just a tool to find the metal, and you are the real detector! I hope this review is of help to anyone interested! Thanks for reading!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

20734

Best dtector for the money

November 02, 2007
I have owned, several metal dtectors Whites coinmaster, bounty hunters but the Garrett Ace 150 is by far the best metal detector for the money. The new Garrett Technology is great , you can screen out undesirable items with the 3 settings which is great for me as my house was built in the 1880s and they used to bury their garbage in the back yard. I used it for 2hours the first time and after I got used to it I Found 1 quarter, 3 dimes , 11 pennies, a silver necklace charm, a l metal dresser knob,and 2 chunks of undetermined metal I am very pleased with the Ace 150, and I highly reccommend it. Thanks Garrett.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7434

A basic beginner

August 22, 2007
This is a very basic, very beginner metal detector. No pinpointing capibilities causes larger holes to be dug and makes the target harder to find. Save your money and get the ACE 250. It's a much better detector with more features and pinpointing capibility and it isn't that much more in cost.

Overall Rating 3 stars

5266

Great Beginner Detector

February 14, 2007
After careful consideration, and research I decided to buy an Ace 150 as my first detector. So far it has been great. I've found some coins, pull tabs, old coke cans etc. I cant wait for the weather to clear up, then I can drive to Galveston and scan the beaches there. The pin pointing is easy to understand if you read the manual or watch the dvd that usually comes with it, the sounds are easy to identify, its light weight, and seems fantastic for a beginner like me.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3344

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 150

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 150