Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II

Price: $350
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.04
Based on 26 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars3.91
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.09
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Fisher F44 $400
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330

Wow, it is quick and impressive

June 26, 2013
My father and I got two models, mine being either broken, or was built with down syndrome, but the sharp shooter was on every time and just walking with it out in front tilted up, it would catch stuff in a heart beat. As I stood with my broken Simple Simon BEEP, BUMP, BEEP CHIRP, that never stopped, my father found coin after beer tab after coin.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 4 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
98

Time well spent

March 04, 2013
I purchased my Bounty Hunter sharp shooter 2, I never metal detected before. I went out the first time and was impressed, I was finding coins in minutes, to dig a quarter out of the ground, wow! You never know whats out there yet to be discovered.

The sharp shooter is really easy to use after you learn when to discriminate in trashy areas, the tone for quarters and dimes is very distinct, and usually spot on! Pennies have a tone thats also distinct, nickels on the other hand are the hardest to find, if you think you have found a dime or a quarter, turn the discriminator to the highest setting if it still beeps more than likely its a coin.

I'm having a lot of fun using my bounty hunter sharp shooter 2, if your bored and looking for something to do this summer I'd PURCHASE ONE! I feel like a kid playing in the sandbox!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

141

Bounty hunter sharp shooter 2

September 11, 2012
Had for one week. Been beach hunting and had fantastic coin success. Found 137 pennies( 2 wheat pennies)50 dimes (1 silver) 29 quarters, 17 nickels. 1 silver toe ring and more pull tabs, foil and bottle caps than I know what to do with. I was working with notch with 9- 12o'clock sensitivity and 1-3 oclock discrimination.
I also used the auto notch setting for jewelry hunting as booklet described only to find out that it doesn't detect gold :( disappointed.

I spent all that time maybe 30-40 hrs of detecting only to find out that all the area I hunted (which was great judging by all the coins I was finding and all the old 70's and 80's pull top coke tabs ) was all for nought, well kinda. I learned a valuable lesson to test your target metals gold, coins, jewelry before you start hunting. I missed all that opportunity to find some nice gold jewelry.

I tested today for the second time on the beach with 4 different gold pieces. One gold charm slightly bigger than a nickel, one nice 14 in 14 k gold necklace, one silver ring, one 14 k gold hertz pin with tiny metal backing. And lastly one 14 k earrings small stud.
The auto notch is useless at any sensitivity or discrimination. The only solid pings was the14 k pin that had little metal on it and of course the silver toe ring hits at every level except max discrimination and good for any sensitivity.

I actually tested two gold chains one white gold and got no action even bunched up together. And only got badly broken sparse hits on 14 k chain and that was bunched together ( got no hits spread apart) the small heart snapped pendant got zero feedback and the small earring 14 k gold got no hits and was a complete bust. Avoid auto notch if hunting for gold jewelery.

If you want coins or silver jewelry hunt away. And the second part of my test I used the notch setting and only got poor feedback on my gold jewelry. The only music / beeping I could hear was on 7-8 o'clock discrimination which is barley on. If you have a lot of rusty metal and are gold jewelery hunting then you could use either the discrimination or notch settings with no more than 7-8 o'clock discrimination settings. If you want to find small to medium/ chains or bracelets then dig all your broken signals cuz my tests showed many broken signals while scanning the gold jewelry.

You can use the all metal mode to lock in the signals. Just raise off the ground a couple inches and pass over target area. I'm going back in my little hundred yard area on the beach and use the all metal mode to see if there is gold left behind. I did some test in a small area and picked up a copper penny that I must have gotten weak signal on using notch setting and I picked up some beer bottle tops along with some rusty nails. I'm willing to redetect the same area I just spent hours going over in hopes to locate some potential gold I passed over.

Overall Rating 3 stars

171

My First

August 10, 2011
This is a neat machine - but it is my first. My younger brother recently taught me how to use it. He is old school with older model Whites and Garrets, and had recommended same to me.
After his initial snort at my choice, he admitted he was impressed. He thought it worked well and couldn't believe the price as he had paid much much more 10 - 15 yrs back for his. I bought new but discounted at a Houston Sports store. We'll see.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3610

Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II is hard to beat.

April 30, 2010
I am very happy with my Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II. It takes time to learn the machine. I have found a gold ring, numerous silver rings, silver coins, clad, clad and more clad change.

This detector is a dime and quarter magnet. I have dug a child's silver ring at a fresh water beach over 12 inches deep. It regularly finds coins eight inches and deeper. I set the sensitivity at around 12:00 o'clock and the discrimination at 10:00 o'clock for moderately trashy areas, more sensitivity and less discrimination for clean areas.
After getting a high pitch repeatable tone, I switch to all metal mode. I know the size of the object before I dig it by passing the coil over the target and listening for the tone in the all metal mode. The shorter the tone the smaller the object. Longer tone means a soda pop can 90% of the time. Short tones or precise tone means a small coin sized object.
Once I figured this out, my trash to treasure ratio increased dramatically.

I thought you had to spend a lot of money on a detector, but this detector has proved me wrong. I watch a lot of You Tube videos and I am finding as much and sometimes more than the guys using the $1,400 detectors. I saw a new Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II at Academy Sporting Goods the other day for $149.00! I bought it so I can take along someone and introduce them to the world of metal detecting.
My wife thinks I need intervention.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1392

Like it - not sure to upgrade or not

June 07, 2009
I got my detector for Christmas and started as a beginner this spring. My sharpshooter has really got me hooked. I've been out about 12 times (usually a couple hours at a time). I've found about 75 quarters, 50 dimes, 100 pennies, 3 nickels, 3 sterling rings, an old gold watch and a sterling bracelet.

I'm still learning how to use the various features - right now I just turn both knobs to center and go.... I just learned how the All Metal works - wow that was a revelation. I went to a ball park and was finding quarters just beneath the surface every 20 feet - requiring hardly any digging at all. When I get a consistent high pitch both directions it's pretty much guaranteed a quarter, but I have dug up several shredded cans thinking it was silver. The rings both showed as quarters. The bracelet was showing .50-1.00, so I figured it was good. I'm disappointed that i'm not finding many nickels and or gold, but after reading some of these posts, I think my discrimination knob may be set too high.

The pinpoint works really well -I can usually probe a 3 inch circle and tap my target. So now that I'm completely into the hobby, I'm wondering if I should look for a better machine, or just learn this one better. I'd definitely recommend the sharpshooter 2 to anyone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

553

SHARP SHOOTER 11, GREAT VALUE & FUN!

August 29, 2008
Being only new to this hobby, I started with an affordable Bounty Hunter Quick Draw 11. I found this detector idea to learn on and it paid for itself in a short time with lots of coin finds. I have recently bought a B.H. Sharp Shooter 11 and after initially having to work out the ground track function, I've also found this detector to be great. The three tone function allows you to recognise most junk and after finding many coins and some rings already, I find I can't wait to get back out there!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

274

Its OK I suppose

April 24, 2008
Purchased this machine about a 2 years ago and found loads of coins. Way to many false signals though, not impressed with the depth, the target id system is a waste of time, it is ALWAYS WRONG, it shows silver for pull tabs and foil???

Overall this machine is OK, it does find the stuff but as long as you put in the time, spend a little more and get a good machine like a whites or minelab if you are quite experienced, if beginner, this is a really good starting machine. But if you want to make some money, its underwater metal detecting all the way to find the gold you have to be lucky. To find anything of value on land and you have to have a top of the range detector.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1433

Hate the bounty hunter

October 23, 2007
I would absoutly go with the Tesoro Silver uMax the different tones and display and pinpoint can make you waste A LOT of time digging bad targets and leaving good targets.

Here is an example of what I am talking about. I bought a top of the line Bounty Hunter which I thought worked great for 300 dollars. It had target ID, Tone ID, and pinpoint. I was finding lots of coins and TONS AND TONS AND TONS of trash, I was finding about 5 dollars a month which I thought was great. But that wasn't even close to enough for betteries.

So I sold the detector and and bought a cheap price MADE IN CHINA detector for 55 bucks on ebay. It was mono-tone, no pinpoint, and no display. After 2 days getting used to it, my finds almost immediately increased to 3-5 dollars PER DAY. This payed for batteries and my lunch.

If I had even went with the lowest model or out-of-date detectors from Tesoro, I am possative that spending 100 - 150 dollars for a one tone, no Target ID detector would have netted me more coins and caused me less frustration and confusion than my chattery, annoying top of the line Bounty Hunter.

Overall Rating 2 stars

2140

A very sharp shooter!

May 31, 2007
I have a bounty hunter ss2 and am very happy with its performance. I have been i "detector-holic" since 1978. and found over 1000 nuggets and $15,000-$20,000 in coins! (estimate) most of my early gold hunting was done with an old bounty hunter 840 VLF/tr and it used to clean up after Garrett groundhogs/deepseekers in the very mineralised west Australian ground. The 840 managed to give me 32oz in one day including a 10oz piece at 11" down!.

I have owned about 25 detectors (I have 6 at the moment 2 bh's, 3 minelabs, 1 tesoro. ) And worked in a detector shop in the 80's trying to teach people how to ground balance hire detectors, fisher whites and Garrett's etc, I used to tell people to try the bounty hunters. Alas Garrett was king and most people back then were Garrett mad here in west Australia (in fact most thought that it was a Garrett or nothing!!) we used to find a lot of gold because of this love affair. the new bounty hunters seem to be the same in that people overlook them.

My sharp shooter 2 is a top unit and finds lots of good coins at respectable depths, and i often pick it up instead of my Sovereign gt (witch hasn't shown the much cheaper BH up at all!, and weighs Heap's more to boot!) a bit hard to pin point for us old school detector boys, but nothing is as easy as an old VLF/tr automatic for pinpointing. Target id is pretty good too. At the price the Bounty hunter ss II is top value and i"ll be keeping mine. One only complaint, bounty hunter should have added an automatic circuit to keep threshold in all metal mode, but if you keep hitting the ground track button it still gets the goodies!

Overall Rating 4 stars

693

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Sharp Shooter II