Minelab Eureka Gold

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.81
Based on 43 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.75
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Eureka Gold

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT Gold $800
Whites TDI SL $1250
Fisher Gold Bug DP $750
Whites Gold Master GMT $800
Fisher Gold Strike $850
Minelab XT 18000 $850

Whos who?

June 09, 2012
OK, some of you guys are saying things in direct dispute of what others claim, in regard to comparisons between the EG and other known brands. Who is right here and who is just making stuff up. Or is it so that some of you are just a bit tired or forgot to turn on the power button before running tests. Or maybe your hearing aid is in need of replacement. I don't know.
What I do know is this. If there is anything metal in the ground, in any soil or sand, within say, around 12 to 18 inches of the surface and of size ranging from a pinhead up, my EG WILL find it. I have never used another machine to compare it to, but I cannot see how anything can do a better job than that . Like telling me twice or giving me a prize or something. It does what I would expect it, and any other detector to do. Detects metal in the ground. What else should it do?
As far as rating it, I will give it 5 stars for doing just as my inexperienced, unbiased, level headed, fair minded, down to earth mind expected it to do. Thanks people.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

342

Minelab eureka

March 13, 2012
I know that there will always be some one who thinks there MD is better ( Garrett, Whites, Fisher, Minelab and so on) but I have used a few in the last few years, I don't care who makes the MD as long as it WORKS.
My Garrett Scorpion is crap for hot rocks and could not phase them out,
My Fisher is ok but has very limited range in tone and not much discrimination makes a great coin shooter.

Minelab eureka has almost got it right for the price
Pros- 3 freqs - 6. 4kHz
20kHz
60kHz
Auto trac ground balancing
Fixed ground balancing
Great discrimination

You need to know what these things mean, it can find gold I think you need to hear what the tones are saying.
Any way love what you do be it gold prospecting, relic hunting or coin shooting.

Cons- limited volume
Heavy to use all day long
The standard coils that it comes with is crap
Coils are not waterproof

Overall Rating 4 stars

414

Best VLF Detector For GOLD, Period!

February 12, 2012
I have used a lot of detectors from the early years of the hobby, up to now. Each year has brought new technologies to the forefront and others designs disappearing into oblivion. The major theme has never changed, balance the detector for the ground you are working and you will find what is there. Most times it has been trash from man's history, and other times real treasures(clink).

The Minelab Eureka embodies the finest of the current technologies VLF units have to offer. The choice of hunting in 3 wide ranging frequencies(6.4, 20, and 60 Khz) is just remarkable. Minelab's two speed automatic digital Accu-Trak ground balancing and tracking makes this machine versatile like no other VLF detector that I have used to find naturally accruing gold.

I have had friend say that not having a display to watch is just nuts and “old fashion”. I believe that they lean too heavily on the the video screen. They were not their hearing what my Minelab tells me and they have missed a lot of finds that I have picked up working behind them. The Eureka's solid mechanical design and well thought out electronics do make it the best VLF detector for hunting nuggets. Are there less costly detectors on the market? Sure, but if you want the best machine in the gold county, this is the one to have.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

463

Learn The Machine and Gain Nuggets

December 06, 2011
Folks,
I have both the Minelab Eureka and Whites GMT. Both are great machines, but the GMT lacks the multi-frequency feature that make it a truly remarkable machine. It is like having an XLT, Gold Bug, and a GMT rolled into one. The best part is that ground tracking on the Eureka is second to NONE. Yes, it does take some time to learn the detector, but this is true with ANY MD if you want to use it like it was designed. I sold my Gold Bug II and am very glad I did. Despite the top frequency being 60Khz on the Eureka vs. The GB II (at) 71Khz, the AutoTrac system sure beats constant ground balancing ....

Like I said" Learn the machine and gain Nuggets"
If you do not want to, Cross Stitch might be your cup of tea. Bottom line: Well worth your time and the money.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

514

Still out for verdict

September 07, 2011
To the individual that states the eureka multi freq and automatic ground balance function is not found on any other manufacturers detector and then states the exact opposite immediately after this statement has a false opinion.

Overall Rating 3 stars

937

Underpriced.

August 15, 2011
The Eureka Gold is magic, I love my fisher F5 but when it comes to prospecting the Eureka is awesome.
When I put it to the test in the backyard it was finding pea size lead sinkers at 10 inches on all frequency modes. Then it was time for the gold fields. A little town called Ravenswood and dad and I came home with 3 pieces of gold, the one weighing 37 grams had us smiling all the way back to Townsville :)

Overall Rating 5 stars!

423

A Keeper!

August 12, 2011
Broke my Eureka Gold in on the Klammath River at Happy Camp. I discovered that it will make you work hard. I found 3 bird shot size and a clinker about double the size of a grain of rice. They were all 4 to 6 inches deep in tiny cracks in the shale bedrock. Took forever to get them out.
My first thought was that it was almost too much work for what I got. I said ALMOST. My 63 year old ears absolutely love the adjustable tone. Once adjusted she sounds off like a fog horn compared to the old Fisher Gold Bug I traded in on it. Bottom line. Get to know your detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

383

It Works

July 17, 2011
I find the people that give this machine a bad review are either very biased or have not taken the time to learn their machine. I sold my goldbug II for the eureka simply because after using it over soil I had ran the fisher over found what it did not. Not once but many areas I had previously worked it found what the goldbug II did not. Why you wonder??? simple. The fishers is a good machine no doubt but it cannot handle the soil here in California like the minelab plus there is no constant ground balancing the unit after you set it down to dig.

Time is money and if you have to retune your MD every time you hit something and dig then you wasted a lot of time. As for learning your machine those of you that seek the loud crisp signal don't know your machine at all. Pay attention to the softer hits which generally deeper...you might learn something.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

432

Dont think the negative reviews are justified

May 13, 2011
I have read the complaints that some people have made about the eureka and like others have to wonder about the reading abilities of some of the purchasers.

Two weeks after I bought mine I picked a one third if a grain flake out of a road next to a stream. Was running wide open don't normally do that, but it did respond to the flake. Just a very faint wisper in the thresh hold level.
Setup procedures, practice and never learning to listen to what the machine is telling them is probably their biggest error. And for what its worth this area of central Arizona is next to western Australia, probably one of the worst ironrock and hot rock areas in the world.

The only improvements I would make to this machine is an improved volume system and maybe more search coils like a 4 by six double d loop.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

370

Minelab Eureka Gold

October 31, 2010
I bought my Minelab Eureka Gold several years ago, I am an experienced user (Army Mine Detecting), I was already impressed with the Sovereign I own, I have used my Eureka with excellent results, I honestly believe that the negative reviews are coming from people who really don't understand the machine - but it's never failed me..........

Overall Rating 5 stars!

564

Submit your review for Minelab Eureka Gold

Submit your tip for Minelab Eureka Gold