Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

Price: $70
Avg. Score: 2 stars 2.17
Based on 29 reviews

Avg. Durability: 2 stars2.14
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.14
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

Compare to ▼
Sherlock Electronic Probe $80

Yep! better than nothing!

September 18, 2017
I bought mine from Walmart online. Only paid $30. No shipping cost. Works well enough when you're within 3/4 inch. Of target. Saves time from searching without any pinpointer. My advice is to save up your cash to buy higher level Garrett pp.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
00

Comes in handy

December 08, 2016
My first detector had no pin pointer function and using the BH to locate any target was hit or miss due to its limited range. Surprisingly, now that I have a better detector and Garrett pin pointer I still find myself reaching for the BH. The limited range of the BH and narrow shaft really helps to locate targets once you have them narrowed down to a small area. I coin hunting in public parks and prefer to use a screwdriver and the BH for shallow coins. The BH will not stand up to rough use. My first BH lasted less than 3 months but the company was easy to work with to ship it in and get a replacement.

The plastic is softer than on the Garrett so you can't dig with it or be too aggressive in probing or you'll grind down the tip in short order. Not worth the $75 some try to sell it for, but it can be had for about half that price and it does come in handy. And yeah, the battery cover on the end is a cheap joke.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
00

Works well enough.

July 19, 2016
I paid $35 for mine and I think it is a good unit. It has a 1" range that many dislike but I find it to be great for my hunts. I have tried using my wife's Deteknix but it annoys me by signaling that the target is 2.5 inches away ( in any direction) and leads me to dig bigger holes. Using the Deteknix if find that it takes longer for me to recover objects. The Bounty hunter pin pointer is simple to use and is reliable, I have had mine over a year and have had no problems with it. The battery cover is cheesy. For the price I think it is a good pin pointer.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
11

Works, is better than nothing

December 05, 2015
I have had an ACE 150 for about a year, had it out a half dozen times and even though I got hits and dug plugs, I could never find anything, I shelved the unit and forgot about it. Over the weekend I caught a few episodes of "diggers" and realized they used pinpointers, so I sparked up a bit. I went to Cabela's today and bought this bounty hunter pinpointer for $59.99, there was a Garett propointer there for $149.99, I took them both out of the box to check em out, the bounty hunter needed a battery, so I couldn't readily compare it to the Garrett, but I just couldn't talk myself into the $150 and I bought the Bounty hunter.

On the way home my boy and I stopped at a favorite spot of mine, had 10 minutes of daylight and found 2 nails, a bottle opener and a pitot tube plug before we called it quits, all 4 items were a hit on my ace 150 and the pinpointer zeroed the find in for us.
The only comparison I have is how the Garrett reacted to my wedding band at the store, and I honestly could tell the garrett was better in design and functionality but having bought and used the cheaper Bounty Hunter and making my first finds today, I don't regret buying the Bounty Hunter. I'll use it until I have enough disposable income to buy a better one, I'm happy with it.

Tips: get used to the sensitivity knob for better use and follow the directions in the manual for battery cover removal, if you do it wrong, it will break.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
21

One time wonder!

November 08, 2015
I am now looking online to see if I can "fix" my pinpointer. I have literally used it one time. Pretty disappointed with it!

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
41

Not worth $70 on amazon

May 21, 2015
This looks to be the exact same model as the AccuFind sold on Amazon and put into some metal detecting kits. I got mine in a kit, and it was labeled AccuFind so that's how I will review it. I got this pinpointer as part of a metal detector kit. It has a range of about 1/2 inch so it doesn't beep until you are right on top of the item, which means you will miss a lot of items, and it's just rubbish.

It has the very basic functionality of a metal detecting kit for $5-10. If you want this functionality, go to allelectronics.com, or digikey.com for a MD kit. Also, the battery cover does not stay on.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
01

Only if you get for less than $10

April 11, 2014
Just not worth it. By the time this thing goes off you will have already spotted your dug item. I thought I had just received a bad one until I came here and read the other reviews. If you are used to adjusting the squelch on a radio then you can get it fine tuned....However that is not saying much. Holding it over a coin on a table mine finely goes off about one quarter of an inch from the coin. Using it in a actual dug plug it is pretty much useless. I don't bother with it anymore.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
11

Garrett pinpointer

February 11, 2013
When you are going through a plug, the dial (Rotating Button) tends to turn if it rubs against the side of your plug so the sensitivity goes up or down You then have to turn the dial back and continue searching.
Well.. thats easy to fix. just pop the button off then turn it on and find that spot where the buzz stops, then place the button back with the pointer facing the antena right where it stops.. .. this way every time you turn it on you just rotate it till it stops and you will have it right where you want it every time.
I also have a penny at the bottom of my pinpointer belt pouch. this way if I forget it On I will always get a buzz. I hope you all enjoy my tips. :) +-O

Overall Rating 1 star

21

Junk!!!

October 29, 2012
As the title says, "Junk". Not worth wasting ANY of your money on. Better off using nothing than this thing. Wish I could have rated lower then 1 star.

Overall Rating 1 star

21

Retired

May 08, 2012
This pinpointer is junk. Do not buy it . You have to touch the metal for it to work!I Gave it one star because it was the lowest I could give it. 0 stars is more like it.

Overall Rating 1 star

41

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Pinpointer