Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

Price: $70
Avg. Score: 2 stars 2.17
Based on 29 reviews

Avg. Durability: 2 stars2.14
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.14
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

Compare to ▼
Sherlock Electronic Probe $80

Ewwwww...

November 09, 2009
DO NOT BUY!!! I bought this thing with my own money and it only penetrates one inch. It is horrible to use. I would much rather just make a full plug than waste my time carrying that piece of junk. And for its price I have see better things for 20 US dollars. Do not buy it you are much better off looking with your eyes than this pinpointer.

Overall Rating 1 star

134

It is a joke.

October 05, 2009
The only use for this pinpointer is if you are blind. It has to touch the target to sound. The back of the case falls off!. The 9V battery for this is worth more. The Fisher and Bounty hunter is the same thing. I got mine as a thrown in on a Fisher F2. Really glad I didn't spend the $60 bucks for one. Nothing like putting your name on a really, really crappy product. Anyone, who says it is good,- must sell them. If you think I am joking, please buy one and the joke will be on you.

Overall Rating 1 star

142

Bounty hunter and whites pinpointer

January 16, 2009
I've bought and tested both pinpoiters. The bounty hunter and the whites bullseye and both turned out to be a complete waste of money. I realize 50 for a bounty hunter isn't that much money but still you'd like it to work. I contacted whites about their model and they won't respond. Their's sell for around a 100. Rumor on the whites forum is that they are addressing the issue. We'll see. The only really good pinpointer I have found is the sunray dx1. It's both dependable and extremely accurate. The depth will amaze you. I have a whites m6 which in my opinion is a great machine add the sunray and your completely set. whites and bounty hunter wake up and get things right.

Overall Rating 1 star

189

Real time saver for me

January 14, 2009
I use a White's XLT with at 6" elliptical head. It gets me very close to start. This little guy cuts my hunting time by 2/3rds easily. I do a little digging, stick it in the hole and bingo. It points me the rest of the way.
It also picks up very tiny pieces of metal which can really drive you nuts without a pointer.
Definitely worth more than I paid for it. I have two so I always have a back up. I would never hunt without it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

101

Bounty hunter pinpointer

May 19, 2008
Although it is very durable, you can stick in the soft ground to find shallow objects. The battery cover comes off easily during use. The unit also goes off sitting on the ground with no target so adjusting the sensitivity is a must. It does save time to find targets and is helpful in allowing more time to find more targets.

Overall Rating 3 stars

105

Bounty Hunter/Teknetics works .... but

August 19, 2007
I couldn't find much on this probe, so I decided to get one and try it myself. I give it 2.5 stars. I also have a Whites Bullseye II so that is the only pinpointer I can compare it to.

The good: It's a budget pinpointer that works. As far as range/depth, it matches the Whites and may actually get a 1/4 inch or so more. It's streamlined shape and less bulky body makes it easier to carry than the Whites.

It has a few issues though.
One, the vibration is so light that if you get a quick hit, you're not sure if the pinpointer vibrated, or if it was caused by scrapping something like a tree root.
Two, the switch (knob) location is at the front of the body, just under the back of the probe shaft. If you are probing a hole, you can move the knob by hitting the side of the hole turning up the sensitivity and cause it to vibrate or turning down the senitivity and getting less depth/range. That can get very annoying. You end up having to hold the probe so as to protect the knob.
Three, the battery cover is not very secure and is easy to knock off. I had to tape it on to keep it from coming off while in use.
Four, since it's turned on/off and adjusted (sensitivity) with the same knob, it can cause feedback on your detector, vice the push and release on/off button switch on the Whites which turns off when you release the button. This is especially true when adjusted to right at the edge of sensitivity, which is where you want it for maximum depth/range. At the edge, it will periodically come on by itself causing feedback on your detector.

In conclusion it works and goes for about $45 to $50 less than the Whites Bullseye II. If you can live with the issues, then get it. Personally, I prefer the Whites and would try to find a used Whites for about the price of the Bounty Hunter first or spend the extra bucks and get the Whites.

Bounty Hunter/Teknetics could have a very good pinpointer here (4.5 to 5 stars) if they would redesign it to relocate the knob/switch to the body. Put a stronger vibrator in it. Fix the battery cover so it will stay on while in use. Add an on/off switch seperate from the sensitivity adjustment.

Overall Rating 2 stars

440

Worth every Penny

July 17, 2007
I have tried the Bounty Hunter Pinpointer and think it is well worth the cost. It is small, light weight, and easy to carry in your pocket. I have also tried the Whites Bullseye II in which I found no difference in performance at all, you just pay more for it. I tried the Automax V4 and just found that it was very bulky and cumbersome to use and detected the same as the BH. The Vibra Probe 560 was also bulky, detected no different than the BH, but it also has an automatic shut off built into it so you have to keep turning it on all of the time, really annoying. Save your money buy the Bounty Hunter / Teknetics brand, plus it has a 5 year manufactures warranty.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

226

OK for the price

July 16, 2007
Unit worked as expected. I got this for a good price and it worked well for what I payed.

Overall Rating 3 stars

84

Poor Choice

May 20, 2007
Had an Automax V2,that died; replaced it with the bounty hunter. Bad choice; depth is minimal and vibration is very weak; to the point you can hardly tell when it activates.

Overall Rating 3 stars

354

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pinpointer

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Pinpointer