Tesoro Compadre

Price: $200
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.85
Based on 48 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.91
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Compadre

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Should have bought the Compadre first

October 11, 2011
I started detecting with a machine that had VDI, ground balancing and a DD coil. A good machine but once I got my hands on the Compadre, nothing else compared.

I just love how this machine allows me to get in a rhythm of digging targets. I've only owned it for a couple of weeks and I've found an earring and a really nice Fiori. 925 Italian pendant. Looked up the value of that single find and it almost pays for the Compadre.

I no longer have the other machine. Right now, the Compadre is everything I need and want in a metal detector.

HH!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

395

It's a no-brainer. Buy one!

September 10, 2011
First off, let me just say that I love this machine. It's so nice to just grab a machine, turn it on, and find some great stuff. I use this machine more than I use my F5 simply because it works, it's light, it's fast, and it sounds great. It's the one machine I can say that I will NEVER sell. If you're at all considering it, just look at what everyone else says. It's the best bang for the buck out there.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

352

Simple, quiet, and loves small gold!

September 01, 2011
I absolutely love this machine. It's so light, very fast recovery speed and the silent search discrimination is easy on my ears. Yes, this machine won't go as deep as other machines due to it's smaller coil, but it separates well, loves tiny tiny gold that other machines will walk over, and has a lifetime warranty. Get one! You won't regret it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

313

Newbie... But Compadre finds a ton!

August 04, 2011
I bought a used compadre about two weeks ago. I have never used a metal detector before, and my wife made fun of me for buying it. Let me tell you, she isn't laughing anymore.....

I was playing with it in my front yard, just trying it out and learning how it worked, and I found a 14K gold wedding band about three feet from my front door. I was pretty excited!

I took it to our local park a few days later and found tons of coins and about 1 billion pull tabs. Found several old wheat pennies, lots of quarters, and even a few dimes... No nickles though.

In my very own back yard I have discovered some amazing things. I have so far found 2 Continental Currency coins buried together about a foot deep, and the compadre had no trouble pinpointing them. They look to be silver... I am trying to find out how much they are worth, so if anyone has an idea of there value please let me know.

The Gold ring paid for my compadre 4 times over....

The compadre is simple to use and it finds tons of stuff. The tone it gives when it finds a coin is unmistakable. Two thumbs up!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

313

My introduction to the Coinpadre!

July 27, 2011
Being new to the hobby I recently bought a used Compadre with the 7" coil and so far I can honestly say it's found me money EVERY time I've used it. The beauty is it's simplicity - it's nice and quiet until you hit a target, then that single discrimination knob is dead on.
A majority of the time I can tell what I'm about to dig - but you have to learn what it's telling you first. It's so light and has a quick recovery time so can swing it pretty fast. The only problem with that is sometimes getting a loose cam lock and the pole gets a little creaky. Put it back together and your good to go. The quality is top notch, pin pointing is a breeze and I can easily determine the size and shape of any big iron objects.

It's small size is very unassuming and toy-like, so you don't look like a threat to the local park manager - but oh how looks can be deceiving. The Compadre is a truly capable machine.

Digital displays are nice but they eat battery time and the real essence of detecting comes down to the sound and that's what drew me to Tesoro. There is something about the quality and crispness of their sound that made them stand out.

As I learn the Compadres language the age and quality of the finds have gotten older and better. Last find was a 1902 indian head penny ay 7 1/2 inches.

Bottom line, would I recommend this detector - heck yes!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

252

Very Fine Metal Detector

May 28, 2011
This metal detector is one of the best. It is so light and comfortable fatigue is not an issue. It is very, very sensitive to targets and the discrimination works well. I could have spent a lot more for bells and whistles but the Compadre's performance and simplicity makes detecting fun and eventful.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

191

Tesoro Compadre

March 27, 2011
The tesoro compadre is an amazing detector. I have found coins, also a 1700s belt buckle that is believed to have been used in the revolutionary war. Best detector for the money by far. Highly recommended..

Overall Rating 5 stars!

181

Looks can be deceiving.

March 13, 2011
I've spent way too much money on metal detectors over the years and have earned plenty of regrets in the mean time- including some very high end machines that didn't live up to expectations.

I can't count how many times I've been up for a quick trip out to the park or tot lot and have foregone my pricier machines in favor of the little Compadre. Really, it's the ultimate grab and go MD.

Nope, it isn't 'impressive to look at' what with all manner of buttons and screens and knobs and levers and switches, but an experienced detectorist will be doing lots of digging with it. Once you learn its language and start to get a better grasp of what signals are given off by what targets, you will be able to use the Compadre and your brainpower to compete with many high end machines.

My favorite machine of all time is still the Whites 1266X, but I do love this little Tesoro. Price aside, they could charge $399 for it and I'd still love it based on performance and durability. It's a real champ.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

236

Very Good Depth And Great Discrimination

February 10, 2011
First thing I did when my Compadre arrived was air test it on some coins and a few small gold nuggets I had. Some of the coins from my wife's grandfather went back to the early 1800's - picking them out at over 9" for the larger coins even your everyday clad dime was coming in loud and clear at 7". The one knob discrimination control works really really well. My old Bounty Hunter seems a toy by comparison. This just may be the best deal for the money out there.

Light as a feather and easy on the batteries. Small nuggets weighing only a few grains tested out to about three inches - no reading though on a few specs of fine/flour gold. If its all I had I'd try it out in gold country. Should be a real jewelry and coin getter though!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

211

Value for money

February 07, 2011
I use a lazer scout, but I think this is the u.k. version of the compadre, I've owned the silver sabre previously, what a land mark in detecting that was, anyway the scout/compadre is superb in finding coins right next to iron, only tesoro seem to have mastered this to a fine degree. It will find a coin within an inch of a rusty nail, detectors costing mega bucks have difficulty in doing this, ok the depth is not awesome but it's tools for the job, on bad sites you cant fault this little one.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

151

Submit your review for Tesoro Compadre

Submit your tip for Tesoro Compadre