Tesoro Compadre

Price: $200
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.85
Based on 48 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.91
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Compadre

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Little Detector, Big Performance!!

December 20, 2010
First of all let me say I never was a Tesoro fan. Their machines seemed to be too simple to find anything worthwhile. After buying one for my daughter's birthday (she has a short attention span) I noticed she was finding as many coins as I was and sometimes more!! I took it out a few times by myself and was impressed with the depth and pinpointing. It's also light and can be swung all day.

The small "profile" of the Compadre doesn't seem to attract as much attention in parks and playgrounds which is normally a good thing. For $150, it's a great machine for a beginner or even as a back up for experienced users!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

311

Compadre: The Detector You Keep

November 28, 2010
Ok, so you've been holding off on buying the Compadre. "It looks too much like a toy," you thought. Your loss.
The Tesoro Compadre is one of the best detectors you can buy, at $150 or any other price. The Compadre reminds you of the reason we all got into this hobby: to have fun. And the Compadre is the most fun you'll have with a detector. One knob to set your discrimination, plug in the your earphones, and off you go (word of warning: keep your earphones off your ears when you first turn it on unless you want the battery check to blow your eardrums out).
Would I take the Compadre to the beach or relic hunting? Nope. The 5.75" coil is too small and doesn't give the right depth for that.
However, take the Compadre to any park, tot lot, school field, or house lot and get ready to have the most fun you've had in a long time.
It has just the right depth to hit about 90% of targets you would find no matter what detector you use, and at 12 kHz, it nails small gold (if it's there) like a pro.
That small coil will weed through trash like there's no tomorrow and will get you closer to metal playground equipment than most other detectors costing much more.
I have owned many detectors, but the Compadre is the one detector I have bought and kept and use regularly.
It also makes a great backup/loaner if you ever decide to "move up" (just don't be too surprised if you keep coming back to it)and the lifetime warranty is still the best in the industry. So if you feel like you're spending more time adjusting your $900 technological marvel than actually treasure hunting, just grab the Compadre and start gobbling up the coins and jewelery. If its there, the Compadre will find it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

583

Compadre

February 20, 2010
For the money, you cant beat this machine. I also have a laser scout which is basically the same detector with an 8" coil and a sensitivity knob, however, with the compadre you know the target is bang under that coil and you retrieve it immediately. With the scout you seem to dig bigger holes. I don't think the sensitivity knob makes a whole lot of difference. I would say the compadre is just about deep enough for most items and is a pleasure to use.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

342

Big dogs won't train this little pup,it's one step ahead.

February 15, 2010
Like Tom in Virginia if you have a Tesoro Compadre keep it or someday you will be sorry. For a long time some friends of my brother had many people with detectors looking for a large diamond earring set in white gold but it was given up for lost. I will not name any of the high end detectors that were used to try to find it but the Compadre found it in about three minutes. Don't ever be fooled, go for the Compadre.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

271

I miss my compadre

August 09, 2009
I sold my compadre, it was one of the biggest mistakes of my life. I have regretted it ever since. Never let go of your compadre. Its one of the best grab and go detectors ever made, period....

Overall Rating 5 stars!

387

Definitely a winner !

June 01, 2009
Just bought a Compadre to hunt the beaches. Got one with 8" hard wired coil. The very first 9 hours with it (3 outings) were very productive : one 18K golden bracelet, two silver pendants, and 206 current coins. The ability to discriminate into the ferrous range is a real plus and makes this little beaut a great coinshooter and i'm sure it'll be an excellent relic hunting unit.

This detectors talks to you while searching. If you undestand it's language, you'll outclass any digital unit.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

323

What a great piece of equipment!

May 16, 2009
I just bought a Tesoro Compadre for my 7 year old daughter and a Fisher F2 for myself. After getting familiar with the controls and some test, I took her to the local playground with her Compadre. She found 1 quarter, 1 dime and 4 pennies. This thing is simple, lightweight and it discriminates great. She was so happy with her detector! Only reason I gave it 4 stars is because it doesn't have pinpoint feature but you can't beat it for the price. The coil is small so after using it for a couple of hours, I'm sure you will be more accurate when digging. Great buy and will highly recommend it to anybody on a budget looking for simplicity but a quality product! I'm digging it!;0)

Overall Rating 4 stars

176

Best little detector in Texas

April 30, 2009
I bought this detector for my wife and she loves it. I have 6 Tesoros, so you know that I am a Tesoro nut. Well I find myself grabbing this little machine when my wife is not hunting with me for the first time hunts. It will really sniff out those indicator coins in a trashy area. It is so light and easy to use. A wonderful machine for the money. Great job Tesoro

Overall Rating 5 stars!

184

Love this Compadre its Great!

April 07, 2009
Great detector finds coins like a beast. Good jewlry machine too. Gets at least 6 to 7 inches on a coin in grass amazing. Discs out iron really well too. Easy to use to. Good battery life on one 9 volt.Highly recomend. Had a Garrett ace 250 and a Fisher F2 like this compadre way better. Tesoro you Rock.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

275

Nice Machine for the Money thumbs up

April 06, 2009
Well first of all its better than the Ace 250 and the Fisher f2 for less money. Very smooth quiet and sensitive. Its also a pretty deep detector. Tesoro made a customer outa me.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

266

Submit your review for Tesoro Compadre

Submit your tip for Tesoro Compadre