Tesoro Tejon

Tesoro Tejon Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.50
Based on 42 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.43
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Tejon

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000

One terrific detector

February 09, 2017
I have used a Tejon with an 11X8, widescan coil for a little over a year now and am very pleased. There is a learning curve to the Tejon but once you understand this machine, watch out. There is no target ID, but I don't dig any more false targets than with an expensive TID model of another maker.

Some complain the unit produces too much chatter. That has not been my experience when the unit is set up correctly. Some also claim it is no good in heavily mineralized ground. Again, that is not my experience as I have used mine in some heavily mineralized sites of our gold fields here in California.
Perhaps other locations are worse, all I can go on is how the unit has performed for me. It will detect very deep targets and I have taken the Tejon to some locations that I hammered with other detectors in the past and found coins at deeper levels. Did I just miss them before? Possibly, but one site yielded 8 additional coins, too many for me to think was due solely to sloppy detecting on my part.
One coin, a 1914 S Barber Dime looked to be 8-9 inches down. I had another very expensive detector in my truck and it would not hit on this target at all.

The Tejon is lightweight, powerful and when fully understood, it is a wonderful detector. I would recommend if you purchase one and are new to the design, purchase the Kindle book "Mastering The Tesoro Tejon and Vaquero Metal Detectors", by Christian Thorsten.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
10

The definitive machine for relics

January 30, 2017
If you are looking for a real metal detector, buy a tejon, with its two discriminations, light weight, and great depth you can not ask for more.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
10

I like it... i like it a lot

November 12, 2015
I started hunting relics in VA with nautalis, wilson and then purchased a Badito II. Loved the Bandito and could outhunt those with fancier machines because I learned mine so well. I'm back in Texas now and have been hunting sites with relics in deep sand, mineralized earth, leaf litter etc.. Tesoro came through but I decided to try Whites 6000 because I got a great deal on it. I was happy.

I recently switched to Tesoro Tejon and took it out to a field where things are getting hard to find. I immediately found (at about 12 inches) an Enfield bullet it the footprint of my buddy hunting with an older Garrett. I then found a flower button with an iron back amongst square nails- also in his footprints. This machine really sounds off on small targets at a greater depth than I'm used to. I'm finding buck shot and percussion caps at several inches deeper than I'm used to and larger iron pieces at a depth uncomfortable to dig.

There is a little chatter in highly ironed area and mineralized ground but if you know your detector you can hear the good through the bad. I don't care for screens and find them a distraction or an expensive addition to the overall weight at best. If you have a keen ear and can become one with your detector then the Tesoro Tejon is for you. I give it 2 thumbs up.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
121

The tesoro tejon

January 11, 2015
Just used my Tesoro Tejon on a schoolyard hunt and let me tell you, that thing LOVES to detect the heck out of iron, even small pieces. I found it does not detect deep (AT ALL) in these iron-rich, highly mineralized soils of the Piedmont. It may do good in the loose, black soils of the Midwest or up North and in some parts of the South, maybe even out West but these soils are very tightly pack with 100 percent solid red clay. Terrible soil for digging in too. Like trying to dig into wet PlayDoh (don't know if I spelled it right,sorry). The wet PlayDoh analogy was no exaggeration. Quite literally that hard to dig in. So people would do better to use a Fisher 1270x, CZ-3d, or a number of other brand detectors but NOT a Tejon when it comes to the Piedmont. VERY lousy detector for this region....

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1219

Tesoro has a rival!!!!

January 10, 2015
Actually when you do the typical air test, you are restricted by things like EMI from stray electrical house current. So in the (real) world, your depth can be lopped off by having to turn the sensitivity down to just above 3/4 turn on the knob to be able to air test unless you think you can hear the actual beep of the target underneath all that chatter(sounds like the Tejon is laughing at me). But long story short, I got appx. 12" on a quarter in the air test. But wait, there's MORE! Do you boys and girls want to know who the rival is? How about a Mikron NRG-110 (ditto on the screen version, the NRG-150). My Mikron NRG-110(looks like a Tesoro knock-off), (air-tested) at 16.5" on a quarter. NOW you can imagine how this translates into depth in the real world on a quarter-size target that's been in the ground 10-infinity years. This is a very little-known MD company out of Bulgaria where they have to have (VERY) deep detectors, much more so than a Tejon so they can find single coin-size targets a foot or two(or more) from the (8000) year-old Thracian Empire which is older than Rome. A little trivia, who makes the deepest detector in the world? Not Minelab but Nexus with the Nexus Standard SE Mk. II. Where's it made? Bulgaria.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
924

Depth is incorrect here...

August 27, 2014
This machine goes way deeper than anything I've owned, the average depth here is incorrect. On this same site, they are saying the F75 is getting 16" on a quarter....Ok. I got a measured 18" on a 3 ringer. Anyway, there is none that I have tested that are deeper than the Tejon. And oh by the way, it's pronounced Teh Hone, trust me, not Tay Hawn, or Tee John and all the other rubbish out there... It's Spanish for Badger. Anyway, the maximum depth is BS on these reviews, do some research and check it out!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1520

Hot and deep detector

October 07, 2013
I have hunted with my Vaquero for a few years and loved it. Always wanted to try a Tejon and finally this summer I got one. I was worried the Vaquero and Tejon would be too similar to each other... Let me tell you this is not the case. The Tejon is at least 3 inches deeper in my mild dirt here in the Midwest with stock coils. My old sites are producing coins again with the Tejon.

Super deep detector and very sensitive to tiny targets. I found the Tejon very similar to the Vaquero to operate, but suggest you ground balance the Tejon in disc mode with the trigger held back. This lets you ground balance with a fast retune mode and makes it a snap to ground balance. Make sure you have a good digger cause you are gonna need it with the Tejon...

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
262

Tejon goes Deep !

November 15, 2011
Well I have had my Tesoro Tejon for four months now. I am very impressed so far with its ability to go deep for the smallest targets like shrapnel from bullets, and pieces of iron. If properly grounded the Tesoro Tejon cant be beat!!

I have been detecting for 32 years and have owned other name brand detectors, but this Tejon really impresses me. The only problem I have experienced is the threshold goes ballistic once in a while even though I ground balanced it and put it a barely audible threshold setting. If I give it a minute or two it calms down a bit and goes back to normal threshold mode. But, I can live with it as this machine is so sensitive and punches down deep missing nothing if the coil is over it!
If it just had Lobos auto tracking it would be an excellent nugget detector. I bench tested the Tejon with lead pellets and bbs and got readings at 10 inches!! For the first time buyer realize there is a small learning curve, but its worth the effort!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

474

Tejon #1

April 10, 2011
I've been hunting for 35 years and used many machines. The only machines I know of that will hang with the tejon is the fisher 1266 and the ground hawk.
My first month with the tejon was good 22 cw bullets, 3 cw buttons, 6 silver dimes, and a 52 franklin half, and that was worked out spots and it just keeps getting better.
If you want pure power and depth go with the tesoro tejon. After awhile the you will be able to tell what your digging before you dig just from the tone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

404

Tejon is very unstable, you either like it or hate it!

August 04, 2009
I liked mine when I got it and took a trip to City Park in New Orleans to hunt with it. It found metal but when I dug the target the Tejon just layed on the ground and growled all the time. Called Vince at Tesoro maybe 25 times asking questions and still this detector was too unstable. Vince told me to send it in and they would look at it but I had just bought it! I kept trying to get it stable. I put the sensitivity low and it would just not work right. The Tejon would find multiple targets that were not there.

Had to send it back and now have the Tesoro Cibola. The Cibola is very stable and gets just as deep, according to Vince at Tesoro.

Overall Rating 2 stars

3873

Submit your review for Tesoro Tejon

Submit your tip for Tesoro Tejon