Home > Reviews > Tesoro

Tesoro Tejon

Tesoro Tejon Price: $700
Number of Reviews: 39
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.46
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Tejon

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Tesoro Outlaw $650
Teknetics G2 $750

The tesoro tejon

January 11, 2015
Just used my Tesoro Tejon on a schoolyard hunt and let me tell you, that thing LOVES to detect the heck out of iron, even small pieces. I found it does not detect deep (AT ALL) in these iron-rich, highly mineralized soils of the Piedmont. It may do good in the loose, black soils of the Midwest or up North and in some parts of the South, maybe even out West but these soils are very tightly pack with 100 percent solid red clay. Terrible soil for digging in too. Like trying to dig into wet PlayDoh (don't know if I spelled it right,sorry). The wet PlayDoh analogy was no exaggeration. Quite literally that hard to dig in. So people would do better to use a Fisher 1270x, CZ-3d, or a number of other brand detectors but NOT a Tejon when it comes to the Piedmont. VERY lousy detector for this region....

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star     Durability 5 stars!     Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
Greg from Advance

20

Tesoro has a rival!!!!

January 10, 2015
Actually when you do the typical air test, you are restricted by things like EMI from stray electrical house current. So in the (real) world, your depth can be lopped off by having to turn the sensitivity down to just above 3/4 turn on the knob to be able to air test unless you think you can hear the actual beep of the target underneath all that chatter(sounds like the Tejon is laughing at me). But long story short, I got appx. 12" on a quarter in the air test. But wait, there's MORE! Do you boys and girls want to know who the rival is? How about a Mikron NRG-110 (ditto on the screen version, the NRG-150). My Mikron NRG-110(looks like a Tesoro knock-off), (air-tested) at 16.5" on a quarter. NOW you can imagine how this translates into depth in the real world on a quarter-size target that's been in the ground 10-infinity years. This is a very little-known MD company out of Bulgaria where they have to have (VERY) deep detectors, much more so than a Tejon so they can find single coin-size targets a foot or two(or more) from the (8000) year-old Thracian Empire which is older than Rome. A little trivia, who makes the deepest detector in the world? Not Minelab but Nexus with the Nexus Standard SE Mk. II. Where's it made? Bulgaria.

Overall Rating 4 stars     Durability 5 stars!     Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
Greg from North Carolina

10

Depth is incorrect here...

August 27, 2014
This machine goes way deeper than anything I've owned, the average depth here is incorrect. On this same site, they are saying the F75 is getting 16" on a quarter....Ok. I got a measured 18" on a 3 ringer. Anyway, there is none that I have tested that are deeper than the Tejon. And oh by the way, it's pronounced Teh Hone, trust me, not Tay Hawn, or Tee John and all the other rubbish out there... It's Spanish for Badger. Anyway, the maximum depth is BS on these reviews, do some research and check it out!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!     Durability 5 stars!     Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
John from New Mexico

16

Hot and deep detector

October 07, 2013
I have hunted with my Vaquero for a few years and loved it. Always wanted to try a Tejon and finally this summer I got one. I was worried the Vaquero and Tejon would be too similar to each other... Let me tell you this is not the case. The Tejon is at least 3 inches deeper in my mild dirt here in the Midwest with stock coils. My old sites are producing coins again with the Tejon.

Super deep detector and very sensitive to tiny targets. I found the Tejon very similar to the Vaquero to operate, but suggest you ground balance the Tejon in disc mode with the trigger held back. This lets you ground balance with a fast retune mode and makes it a snap to ground balance. Make sure you have a good digger cause you are gonna need it with the Tejon...

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!     Durability 5 stars!     Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
Roger from Midwest

81

Tejon goes Deep !

November 15, 2011
Well I have had my Tesoro Tejon for four months now. I am very impressed so far with its ability to go deep for the smallest targets like shrapnel from bullets, and pieces of iron. If properly grounded the Tesoro Tejon cant be beat!!

I have been detecting for 32 years and have owned other name brand detectors, but this Tejon really impresses me. The only problem I have experienced is the threshold goes ballistic once in a while even though I ground balanced it and put it a barely audible threshold setting. If I give it a minute or two it calms down a bit and goes back to normal threshold mode. But, I can live with it as this machine is so sensitive and punches down deep missing nothing if the coil is over it!
If it just had Lobos auto tracking it would be an excellent nugget detector. I bench tested the Tejon with lead pellets and bbs and got readings at 10 inches!! For the first time buyer realize there is a small learning curve, but its worth the effort!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Fred from Mariposa

332

Tejon #1

April 10, 2011
I've been hunting for 35 years and used many machines. The only machines I know of that will hang with the tejon is the fisher 1266 and the ground hawk.
My first month with the tejon was good 22 cw bullets, 3 cw buttons, 6 silver dimes, and a 52 franklin half, and that was worked out spots and it just keeps getting better.
If you want pure power and depth go with the tesoro tejon. After awhile the you will be able to tell what your digging before you dig just from the tone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Darkwing from Alabama

292

Tejon is very unstable, you either like it or hate it!

August 04, 2009
I liked mine when I got it and took a trip to City Park in New Orleans to hunt with it. It found metal but when I dug the target the Tejon just layed on the ground and growled all the time. Called Vince at Tesoro maybe 25 times asking questions and still this detector was too unstable. Vince told me to send it in and they would look at it but I had just bought it! I kept trying to get it stable. I put the sensitivity low and it would just not work right. The Tejon would find multiple targets that were not there.

Had to send it back and now have the Tesoro Cibola. The Cibola is very stable and gets just as deep, according to Vince at Tesoro.

Overall Rating 2 stars
Rick Rogers from New Orleans

3260

Love my tejon

July 31, 2009
I have been using my Tejon for one year now and love it. As far as depth.... last week I found a US bridal rosette at about 18 inches. This machine is great. I have learned to slow down and listen very close for the small beeps. The spot that I am in right now is producing civil war relics at an average depth of ten inches.

Slow down take your time, sometimes the items are so deep the discrimanter has made me think it was trash but after pulling a 5 to 8 inch plug out of the ground I can quickly realize that its not trash at all. After one year it has produced over 200 bullets, 2 fuses, 7 cannon ball frags and lots of coins and a few buttons. I am not bragging on my behalf only the machines. It finds the treasure I just do the dirty work.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Mike from Richmond VA

367

Why I Came Back To The Tesoro Tejon

April 07, 2009
I'm on my third new Tesoro Tejon now. I sold the other two due to believing negative comments I read on the various forums.

Beware of anything you read about any detector! Yes, that includes here.

When I think of all the time and money I wasted jumping from one new super brand to the other it makes me very sad.

Today we have tones and meters and all sorts of big talk about frequencies and all the rest. But the bottom line is finds.

With the Tejon I find everything worth finding at a site. I have completely covered sites with the Tejon and when I rehunted them with the latest super machines I found nothing more worth digging.

As a commenter below implied, the Tejon is a nearly perfect detector for coins, jewelry, and relics.

It has depth like I never found in any of those expensive hot-shot brands and models I bought because some know-it-all convinced me it was vastly superior to any other brand or model.

Most of those other very popular “super deep” brands are so noisy and jumpy they'll frustrate you beyond belief and rob you of finds.

Everybody today is talking tones. I found them to be just as misleading as meter readings can be. Targets masked or buried deep often do not sound or read as they do in air tests. Ground masking can and often does change the whole picture.

So today I hear they now have color TV detectors! My! That should prove entertaining.

Then there are the “it ain't like it used ta be” guys. You know, the older Tesoros were much better. I tried those and while good they don't compare to Tesoro's latest models. Do people really think Tesoro would quit making a better machine in favor of an inferior one?

As for me I like finds. Give me the Tejon and you use what you like best.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Coinshooter48 from MI U.S.A.

11615

This Tejon Rocks!

March 15, 2009
This Tejon Rocks! I am a Relic hunter and have used Nautilus IIB's and Minelabs for many years. When I started looking for a new detector I had a wish list. I wanted a machine that would go as deep as a Nautilus with the stability of a minelab. This Tejon passes the test. It is ultra-light, stable, easy to use, deep and affordable. It's just plain fun to use.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
VaRelics from Va Beach, VA

298



 
Submit your review for Tesoro Tejon Submit your tip for Tesoro Tejon