Tesoro Cibola

Price: $450
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.73
Based on 81 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Cibola

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F44 $400
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344
Whites MX5 $600

Boots

March 15, 2012
Great dectector good depth found plenty of coins no rings yet but found plenty of gold and silver rings with my silver umax.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

113

I got more for less!

February 24, 2012
First I would like to say for all those out there who say they dig a lot of junk with the Cibola don't know how to use one! If you don't want to dig a lot of junk turn off the All METAL! Don't be afraid to use the discrimination feature! When you set up your detector bury some example items in the ground. Say a square nail for instance. Bury it at 2 inches and at 6 inches and using your discrimination mode adjust it to get the best results. Folks tend to use the air method to set up their detector. Wrong! Their is no detector out there that can beat aluminum! If you think you are you more than likely gave up something real nice at one time or another. The depth of this machine is better than some of those over rated over priced pieces of junk folks pay a $1200 bucks for. Then if you want better depth they want another $300 for a better coil! In metal detecting depth means everything! All these fancy programs and buttons is crap! Most of these LCD target Id's dance all over the place. I know I owned a few. Especially on deeper targets. If you need manual ground balance and like your Cibola have it added on for a few bucks. My Cibola can destroy almost all these $1200 dollar machines on depth for less than $400 bucks!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

615

1225-X

February 22, 2012
I have been metal detecting for over 20 years with my father and Fisher brand is all we ever used.

I purchased a 1225-X of my own about 6 years ago and it is still going strong with ALL of the original parts.

I know some complain about the batteries getting stuck or the coil connector bolt being cheap. I don't disagree, however, simple fix, put a piece of tape on the side of the battery and a nicely fashioned pull-tab at the end will do the trick. Replace the plastic bolt with something from Home Depot or Lowes.

There is no option for 10 Stars so 5 will have to do. Great detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

510

Cibola that will do for me

September 19, 2011
I have been an avid detectorist for about 18 yrs. I have used many machines over the years, in all honesty I think this is the best. I have fitted a double-d coil. This is as sensitive as the rapier and the c-scope and even deeper than the single pulse machines I have owned. I too can't understand why some people think its not a deep machine, believe me I often have to dig a spade depth and would willingly prove it. Any one near sheffield who doesn't believe contact me.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

331

745 Teams Like this Cibola

September 05, 2011
We use the cibola units when we get calls from those that have lost this or that valuable ring, heirloom etc..parks beaches, trails campsites etc., as the cibola weighs just over 2 pounds it is great on trials, parks, and campsites. Now the beach areas well due to the blacksand we have out this way we then use our tesoro P.I. Units yet if item lost in the dry sand we will use both.

The overall performance of these units is five stars in our humble review.. we wish all well and Many good finds.. Take care 745 teams.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

230

An Expensive 'Beep and Dig' Machine

September 02, 2011
I wish I had read the manual before buying the Cibola instead of reading these reviews, most of which seem to glorify the Cibola and tout its deep seeking range.

In short, the Cibola gives one tone for everything and the discrimination doesn't seem very exact. For instance, nickels don't discriminate out until the Disc knob is past the Nickel mark, and it's the same for Foil and the other markings on the dial. Maybe that's not a big deal, but it seems like Tesoro could have gotten it exact.

Some people love this machine, but I can't get over the single tone, cheap-feeling plastic housing, and the thought that the next beep is just going to be another battery or bullet casing. So, if you want to hear a beep and dig to see what it is then get a Cibola, but if you want some kind of clue as to what made it beep, get something else. I have a feeling it would be at home on the open pastures instead of the city parks.

Overall Rating 2 stars

1965

Tesoro cibola

July 22, 2011
Excellent machine, have used fisher, minelab 30 50 70 and quattro. Cibolla found my first roman silver on a field where the 70 and quattro found nothing, easy to use with awesome results and it goes deep, have now upgraded to a lobo still to try it but if it does not perform will be back to cibolla. Best machine I have used.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

211

Excellent!

June 15, 2011
After a lot of research I bought a tesoro cibola 6 weeks ago. I must admit it took a few days to get the hang of all the settings, but let me tell you, once you are in tune with your detector it will find everything.

Don't be put off by the fact that it does not have a digital screen, once you have used it for a while
you will be able to tell exactly what it is by listening carefully.

This detector goes DEEP!! A little too deep if you're not into digging! I found a button at 13 inches, it is also nice and light and you can use it all day long.
The only slight complaint I have with the cibola is lack of a volume control. I bought a separate volume control in Maplins, and believe me you will need one too, it will blow your ears off! If you get a chance to buy this detector go for it. I know there are fancier dearer models out there, but they won't find more than the cibola.. . Go Cibola!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

421

Powerful machine

June 09, 2011
Don't let the simple looks and cheap price fool you, this is one great detector! As stated by others, it is very deep, but the most amazing thing is its fast target separation. You can be swinging the coil and get a "trash signal", a "dig" signal, and another "trash signal" all within the space of just a few inches on the swing. Dig and you'll find 2 pieces of iron and a coin in the same hole. Amazing.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

240

It's a real winner!

May 14, 2011
I recently purchased the Cibola and absolutely love the darn thing. I have used many other brands which cost alot more money and the Cibola ranks at the top of my list.

It's truly a turn on and go detector that goes deep and it's very accuracte in Disc mode and easy to pinpoint. The Cibola uses the new high output Technology (HOT) with built in mineralization detection making a true turn on and go detector.

It's light weight and I can use it for hours without getting tired. The Cibola will find anything that lies beneath the coil.

You don't need to spend a lot of money to get a great detector, Love the Cibola!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

290

Submit your review for Tesoro Cibola

Submit your tip for Tesoro Cibola