Tesoro Cibola

Price: $450
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.73
Based on 81 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Cibola

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F44 $400
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344
Whites MX5 $600

Cibola

August 08, 2008
I have had the Cibola for 2 years now. Before a Minlab Explorer. The Cibola beats that hands down for ease of use and more finds made. Depth is very good. i.e.A George V halfcrown measured in at 11 inches. A Roman Sestertius at 9 inches in nail infested soil.Very good on small coins missed by other machines. I use my machine with the coil reversed to offset the weight problem mentioned in one review.
Brian

Overall Rating 5 stars!

176

Cibola user notes

July 14, 2008
I bought a new Cibola about 2 months ago. I thought I would share my experiences with it. It's very easy to use. Anyone can get the hang of it pretty fast. There is no display at all. There is no change in tones when you are over a quarter or a penny or a nickel. When in all metal mode a high pitch squeal usually means a large target. Like a can. But in normal detecting/discriminator mode it either beeps or it doesn't. The discriminator works like a giant volume control. If you set it high you will get coins and bottlecaps in parks. If you set it to read nickels I hope you like digging.
I am going to get a higher end machine with a visual and good audio based system. I will save the Cibola for visitors with no detecting experience.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

726

Recommended beginner detector tesoro silver umax

May 19, 2008
I highly recommend the silver umax it is super sensitive. It will find precious metals...rings both gold and silver. old and modern coins and is excellent for relic hunting. Get the 5.75 and 9x8 coils. one for trashy areas and the other to search deeper, it wont let you down. Research is the key.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

814

Garrett master hunter 7

May 09, 2008
I have a 1990 Garrett master hunter 7. One of the last great analog detectors. The power in the vlf mode is insane! In an air test, it will detect a metal post from 3 feet away. This model in my opinion is not great for coins, but for relic hunting it is super. I run it with the power all the way up and the discriminating all the way down, with a 8 inch coil. In a heavy area it will sound off almost every foot, finding all sorts of things, its best near or in old ghost towns or old homesteads or out in the desert.

Overall Rating 4 stars

326

Excellent machine!

April 26, 2008
I have had this machine for about six weeks now and I love it. I have compared it to Bounty Hunter's Discovery 1100, and Garret's Ace 250 and this one is my preference. This machine has gone DEEP. I have found small copper pieces at 14 inches down. In six weeks I have found about $70.00 in clad, a couple silver rings, and two gold plated pendants. I can't wait for warmer weather and better locations to hunt. This machine will pay for itself in a few more weeks. I love it!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

64

Cibola High Tone mod Excellent choice!!

February 02, 2008
I owned a Cibola a few years ago and sold it, I was accustomed to all the bells and whistles of the digital machines and really did not give it a chance "bad decision". I ordered another this week with the High tone factory mod which I like a 100% better. I took it out for a few hours today in a few super trashy areas around some old house sites I thought I hunted out with my Id Excel,that's what I get for thinking. Pulled up 3 Mercury dimes less than a foot apart at around 5 inches, two were actually together, 4 wheaties, 2 which were around 7-8 inches and about 8 clad coins. Quite impressive considering I've hunted that area many times. I never had any problems with mineralization and was able to run sensitivity on 10 and super tuning is pretty amazing "DEEP", found a 1 inch piece of copper tubing at over 9 inches, just think it could have been a large cent?? I used pinpointing very little,not saying it's useless but you just know where to dig according to the sound in relation to the coil. As far as coins, all gave a double blip right in the center of the coil,larger objects "cans" give a longer beep and extend out further from the center of the coil. All and all I give the machine 5 stars, it has already whipped my Id Excel in every test I've put it through including discrimination, overall depth and sensitivity. I know choosing a detector is hard, I did alot of research before buying this detector and could have spent alot more than $355 in another bells and whistles machine, now I happy I did not. I'm sure me and the Cibola will spent a ton of quality time together. Happy hunting!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

654

Really Like Mine

January 26, 2008
My Cibola does what it is supposed to. It air-tests as good as any machine out there. Works good in the field, also.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

114

Cibola

January 15, 2008
I've used this detector from April to sept 25th of this year. My coil of choice for the beach is the 3x18" as it covers a tremendous amount of area + goes to 8" deep which is more than enough for dry sand detecting. It can also be used in the wet sand to a certain extent.
I found it to be light, easy to pinpoint with (even with the 3x18 coil), and has great battery life. All in all I am very happy with this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

163

Super Cibola

November 10, 2007
What a great detector, I've had fishers, whites, troys, and the cibola beats them all. Great on small hammered coins etc. Very good depth and a pleasure to use. For the price you cant go wrong.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

231

CIBOLA/ LASER TRIDENT 1

August 16, 2007
I bought one of these a few weeks back. For years I struggled with a "top line, allsinging all dancing" machine and found very little. With my Trident 1 (AKA Cibola) I have found a lot of interesting items. It is as light as a walking stick and extremely sensitive to small targets. I have had mixed results with the pinpoint function(probably due to lack of practice) but to be honest I find it unnecessary anyway as normal searching method will put you right on the spot. It is dead easy to use and works brilliantly.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

280

Submit your review for Tesoro Cibola

Submit your tip for Tesoro Cibola