Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II Price: $750
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.53
Based on 38 reviews
Helpful Tips: 2
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.43
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Compare to ▼
Whites Surf PI Dual Field $900
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro $700
Tesoro Sand Shark $679
Fisher Impulse $700
Headhunter Pulse $700

Pulse induction detectors

January 08, 2018
Generally speaking, PI units are great under the right conditions which are one of the two: a trash-free beach (easier to find diamonds in your bathtub) in the ocean, where there is also trash.

Note: even deserted/ never used beaches have trash PI units perform better in the salt water because of NaCl (salt) conductivity. I have personally owned a PI unit and one day I dug a two-foot deep pit looking for my target only to realize it was already in the sifter stuck to my epoxied magnet ....
Wait for it: iron chips a few millimeters across. Better to just never have left the house. Gaaaah! On the other hand, in the water PI units are amazing but ready to wave away/ dredge the sand away at every target announcement. I did and found a ring and an old skeleton key maybe 8 inches down. Cool finds, surely. PI units will detect feet down, not just inches down, and you must be willing to go after the signal source.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
41

Garrett seahunter mk 2 review

January 05, 2018
First a short video using the shmk2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=Db6yVSF5lm4 got this MD oct 9, 2017, I always hunt on zero discrimination for deepest depth and threshold at 1 and always on standard. A bit heavy but normal weight for a Pulse induction, I can detect for 9 hours, only break is to drink water, sit down a lil bit, no lunch or snacks.

Found AN750 18k white gold, lots of coins, SS rings, silver rings, earings. You need to use this on a crowded beach to recover lots of lost jewelries. You need to have patience as it will detect almost about anything that is made of metal. I don't believe in discrimination that will just mask out gold and other valuables.

My problem now is that I'm too far away from top world class beach in our country. Believe me this is like an ATM machine on a high-end beach resort with lots of highclass tourists and guest.
Battery lasts for about 18-20hours duracell. Or any alkaline battery. Unit, coil, wires, headset built like a tank. The shaft is a bit flimsy or it wiggles, you can resolve that with tape or teflon.

I like the battery type double AAs as you can buy them almost anywhere, unlike specialized battery packs. I'm only using the 8" inch coil, made a diy rubber coil cover or protector. Can't wait to try this unit on scuba, so far I only used it on knee to chest deep salt water. This machine goes deep by the way, if you don't have patience, better look for other type of machine a very short video found my first silver using shmk2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=Db6yVSF5lm4

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
40

Sea hunter ii

November 14, 2017
I've had the detector for a couple years. It can definitely find deep objects. No discrimination at all (well, there is a way to set it but at the risk of missing a target). You need to listen carefully for those little peaks in volume for something deep, but it will find them. Only downside is the weight. You won't want to swing it all day.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Garrett sh 2

December 17, 2016
Had my SeaHunter2 about three weeks, which I realise is not enough time to get used to a machine, however, I feel that I'm going to be hanging on to this little ripper for several reasons, one of the best for me is the ability to wear the control box around my waist (taking the weight off my arm shoulder and back) and a close second is that the coils are interchangeable, I can't do that with the Minelab Excalibur ii which has a 10" fixed coil.

I have both machines and if there was any downside to the SH2 it would be the "singing" I get swinging left. I can't work out why it happens because, if I put the coil in on my left hand side the noise doesn't happen? (I'm right handed) The other way I can almost lose the noise, is, by dropping the threshold to zero, this obviously gives a silent hunt but other than that doesn't affect finding targets at all. I'm impressed with this bit of kit especially with our very mineralised oceans.
I hunt with zero discrimination and dig everything. It's a great addition to my arsenal. Cheers and HHand GL. Chris from Oz.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
70

Professional performance.

November 23, 2015
This is a detector that encourages you to put that bit of extra effort into your searches. You need to work methodically and listen for those whisper quiet signals which can often lead to great finds. It is simple to use, very sensitive and deep. It's a pi so you need to put some effort in if you want the most from this detector, this means digging everything including iron bits and bobs, using any discrim will loose you depth which defeats the object of a pi machine.

Don't listen to the false claims that the SH is not sensitive to gold or doesn't go deep, it is both highly sensitive and very deep, claims such as these are made by people who do not understand the machine or people who just don't want to dig any iron......They prefer the ease of vlf machines. Learn this machine and you will be digging targets that those with vlf machines will be leaving behind, it just takes patience and hard work but it will definitely be rewarded, fantastic detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
210

Useful, solid piece of equipment.

July 02, 2015
Let me start with one remark: if you buy this unit in the hope of discriminating iron and pulltabs and still finding gold, well forget it, unless you're after class rings. You can, using discrete elimination, disc out some iron flakes and pull tabs, but at the cost of an unacceptable loss of depth. BTW, any VLF detector will do the same too, and not lose so much depth at all. But, if you hunt clean beaches, this unit will trap just about anything you care to find. I use discrete elimination on dry sand, as it's kind of a motion system, and it has a pleasant and informative response on coins and rings.

I use the normal mode on the wet sands. The audio can give the right shades of tonalities that will allow you to recognize most (elongated) iron objects. The depth is more than decent, and with the 8" mono coil, rather impressive on wet sand salt. If you reasonably take care of your gear, this one will last you for years. It's sealed, so the electronics can't be flooded. Canadian beach hunters should consider PI detectors, as they find loonies and tunies without any stress, just like it would signal a copper alloy coin. No more misses and/or jumpy ID : Loud and clear. The SH MKII in the discrete mode is pretty good at that. Not for everybody, not for every hunting styles, but, wisely used at the right times and places, it will perform better than many VLF/MF units, especially in rough environments ant though (salt) mineralization.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 15 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
152

Sea hunter ii

March 29, 2014
Well this detector works well, I learned it is for wet salt or wet sand beaches. The salt water is where it gets great depth. I leave disc at 0 and never use discreet elim. I dug a deep whisper and found a dime at 2 to 3 scoops! I was using the 8 inch coil, its a bit easier to retrieve targets than my 14 inch coil. By the way I dug near rocks at the waters edge so most of the light sand was gone! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I don't like the wavering threshold when I swing left.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
185

4 years and working great

February 24, 2013
In spite of the weather and us old fogs being retired, we continue using our seahunters. Yes we have others yet there is no easier P.I. to use far as we are concerned. Those boys in Maine KNOW what they are dong so ten to one once all is warm etc their way they will be posting a lot of finds we wish them all the best. California beaches are a mini gold/silver mine so to speak.

A. k. a. mini jewelery store as well.. however do NOT forget the good old high desert areas as well, one may be surprised at what lies beneath her/his own feet. ONE important item, take gentle care of your seahunter, clean it, cover pad it and it will last 4ever!

Well we have a lot to get ready for the upcoming season, so all find the best and never say no, remember it is NOT the machine but the one holding it that MUST stay in practice.

God bless

Gary,bill,greg,and the gang.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

187

Sea Hunter

January 28, 2013
Both a friend and I purchased this machine for the beaches of Maine. when it comes to being at the beach they crush vlf machines. I've hit the smallest pieces iron at extreme depths. "warning" if you don't like digging everything than keep on land with your vlf.

Some have said it wont find a coin 8 inches deep, I'm shocked by statements like that, either your machine is broke or your not using it right. I've dug trenches for bits of metal lol. Thing is a beast. you can not discriminate if you want to find gold. So if your in a trashy area you got a lot of work to do. I'd rather dig deep trash and know I'm not missing anything.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

400

Long time

July 06, 2012
Well time do fly for us older BC/ers its already been three years and were still kicking with our SH2's hey why the heck not. With the way the economy has been last 3 + years well we all decided to chuck our individual rented apartments, condos and just hit the cottonpicking road BC-ing ,,, enjoying we lay low few weeks at a time out San Bernardino, county with the two old moto homes. .. relax also we hit the mountain streams, even dry beds with the Mark2's as well as other detects.. . now none of us has had to send in his own m2 only me one time and that was like couple years ago, so that tells us good old garrett do know and make a fine P. I. well as to finds OH MY !!!!!! no not tons of nuggets etc but hell bells we did pretty good on the California beaches, parks all the way to mountain / desert areas.. . we have a trip planned once it be lil cooler for imperial county, Ca around 3rd week of October this year..

All have been holding disc to Number 1 max and so far so good.. .. . wish silver were up say to $50. 00 as we got a lot f 925 rings some small chains. bracelets yet holding till the price gets back up ( we hope ) to 50$ and above . .. gold rings mostly not as many as it seems others are finding but BIG one is 18KT rest be 14KT and lowly 12 and 10 kt ,, coins anyone want cleaned pennies 5 for 4 cents

Only kidding well all have a great summer and keep on finding what others lose, a little hint with the M2 we been doing is buddy teaming in the waist to chest deep area one snorkels down to help scoop the find a tap on the leg lets old Dave or me etc know the find is now in the web bag if not start all over again.. now no kidding but we have found a heck of a lot of cell phones . . especially if there be a neg tide.. must be the sand fleas calling each other.. a lil hint if you see folks carrying in those heavy coolers filled with ICE.. . remember to make a mental note where they sit down as most will take out any leftover drinks etc then dump melted water and leftover ice we like to see thos lil ice piles oh yes as folks dig down for their favorite cold drink and maybe just maybe between the suntan lotion sweat cold ice wbeen lucky a few times over years. . so check out those melted ice / water spots on the dry sand.. . we do.. .. .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3035

Submit your review for Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Submit your tip for Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II