Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II Price: $750
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.54
Based on 35 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.75
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Compare to ▼
Whites Surf PI Dual Field $900
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro $700
Tesoro Sand Shark $679
Fisher Impulse $700
Headhunter Pulse $700

Garrett sh 2

December 17, 2016
Had my SeaHunter2 about three weeks, which I realise is not enough time to get used to a machine, however, I feel that I'm going to be hanging on to this little ripper for several reasons, one of the best for me is the ability to wear the control box around my waist (taking the weight off my arm shoulder and back) and a close second is that the coils are interchangeable, I can't do that with the Minelab Excalibur ii which has a 10" fixed coil.

I have both machines and if there was any downside to the SH2 it would be the "singing" I get swinging left. I can't work out why it happens because, if I put the coil in on my left hand side the noise doesn't happen? (I'm right handed) The other way I can almost lose the noise, is, by dropping the threshold to zero, this obviously gives a silent hunt but other than that doesn't affect finding targets at all. I'm impressed with this bit of kit especially with our very mineralised oceans.
I hunt with zero discrimination and dig everything. It's a great addition to my arsenal. Cheers and HHand GL. Chris from Oz.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Professional performance.

November 23, 2015
This is a detector that encourages you to put that bit of extra effort into your searches. You need to work methodically and listen for those whisper quiet signals which can often lead to great finds. It is simple to use, very sensitive and deep. It's a pi so you need to put some effort in if you want the most from this detector, this means digging everything including iron bits and bobs, using any discrim will loose you depth which defeats the object of a pi machine.

Don't listen to the false claims that the SH is not sensitive to gold or doesn't go deep, it is both highly sensitive and very deep, claims such as these are made by people who do not understand the machine or people who just don't want to dig any iron......They prefer the ease of vlf machines. Learn this machine and you will be digging targets that those with vlf machines will be leaving behind, it just takes patience and hard work but it will definitely be rewarded, fantastic detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
190

Useful, solid piece of equipment.

July 02, 2015
Let me start with one remark: if you buy this unit in the hope of discriminating iron and pulltabs and still finding gold, well forget it, unless you're after class rings. You can, using discrete elimination, disc out some iron flakes and pull tabs, but at the cost of an unacceptable loss of depth. BTW, any VLF detector will do the same too, and not lose so much depth at all. But, if you hunt clean beaches, this unit will trap just about anything you care to find. I use discrete elimination on dry sand, as it's kind of a motion system, and it has a pleasant and informative response on coins and rings.

I use the normal mode on the wet sands. The audio can give the right shades of tonalities that will allow you to recognize most (elongated) iron objects. The depth is more than decent, and with the 8" mono coil, rather impressive on wet sand salt. If you reasonably take care of your gear, this one will last you for years. It's sealed, so the electronics can't be flooded. Canadian beach hunters should consider PI detectors, as they find loonies and tunies without any stress, just like it would signal a copper alloy coin. No more misses and/or jumpy ID : Loud and clear. The SH MKII in the discrete mode is pretty good at that. Not for everybody, not for every hunting styles, but, wisely used at the right times and places, it will perform better than many VLF/MF units, especially in rough environments ant though (salt) mineralization.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 15 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
121

Sea hunter ii

March 29, 2014
Well this detector works well, I learned it is for wet salt or wet sand beaches. The salt water is where it gets great depth. I leave disc at 0 and never use discreet elim. I dug a deep whisper and found a dime at 2 to 3 scoops! I was using the 8 inch coil, its a bit easier to retrieve targets than my 14 inch coil. By the way I dug near rocks at the waters edge so most of the light sand was gone! I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because I don't like the wavering threshold when I swing left.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
175

4 years and working great

February 24, 2013
In spite of the weather and us old fogs being retired, we continue using our seahunters. Yes we have others yet there is no easier P.I. to use far as we are concerned. Those boys in Maine KNOW what they are dong so ten to one once all is warm etc their way they will be posting a lot of finds we wish them all the best. California beaches are a mini gold/silver mine so to speak.

A. k. a. mini jewelery store as well.. however do NOT forget the good old high desert areas as well, one may be surprised at what lies beneath her/his own feet. ONE important item, take gentle care of your seahunter, clean it, cover pad it and it will last 4ever!

Well we have a lot to get ready for the upcoming season, so all find the best and never say no, remember it is NOT the machine but the one holding it that MUST stay in practice.

God bless

Gary,bill,greg,and the gang.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

187

Sea Hunter

January 28, 2013
Both a friend and I purchased this machine for the beaches of Maine. when it comes to being at the beach they crush vlf machines. I've hit the smallest pieces iron at extreme depths. "warning" if you don't like digging everything than keep on land with your vlf.

Some have said it wont find a coin 8 inches deep, I'm shocked by statements like that, either your machine is broke or your not using it right. I've dug trenches for bits of metal lol. Thing is a beast. you can not discriminate if you want to find gold. So if your in a trashy area you got a lot of work to do. I'd rather dig deep trash and know I'm not missing anything.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

370

Long time

July 06, 2012
Well time do fly for us older BC/ers its already been three years and were still kicking with our SH2's hey why the heck not. With the way the economy has been last 3 + years well we all decided to chuck our individual rented apartments, condos and just hit the cottonpicking road BC-ing ,,, enjoying we lay low few weeks at a time out San Bernardino, county with the two old moto homes. .. relax also we hit the mountain streams, even dry beds with the Mark2's as well as other detects.. . now none of us has had to send in his own m2 only me one time and that was like couple years ago, so that tells us good old garrett do know and make a fine P. I. well as to finds OH MY !!!!!! no not tons of nuggets etc but hell bells we did pretty good on the California beaches, parks all the way to mountain / desert areas.. . we have a trip planned once it be lil cooler for imperial county, Ca around 3rd week of October this year..

All have been holding disc to Number 1 max and so far so good.. .. . wish silver were up say to $50. 00 as we got a lot f 925 rings some small chains. bracelets yet holding till the price gets back up ( we hope ) to 50$ and above . .. gold rings mostly not as many as it seems others are finding but BIG one is 18KT rest be 14KT and lowly 12 and 10 kt ,, coins anyone want cleaned pennies 5 for 4 cents

Only kidding well all have a great summer and keep on finding what others lose, a little hint with the M2 we been doing is buddy teaming in the waist to chest deep area one snorkels down to help scoop the find a tap on the leg lets old Dave or me etc know the find is now in the web bag if not start all over again.. now no kidding but we have found a heck of a lot of cell phones . . especially if there be a neg tide.. must be the sand fleas calling each other.. a lil hint if you see folks carrying in those heavy coolers filled with ICE.. . remember to make a mental note where they sit down as most will take out any leftover drinks etc then dump melted water and leftover ice we like to see thos lil ice piles oh yes as folks dig down for their favorite cold drink and maybe just maybe between the suntan lotion sweat cold ice wbeen lucky a few times over years. . so check out those melted ice / water spots on the dry sand.. . we do.. .. .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2933

Good, solid machine

May 02, 2012
I recently added the Garrett Sea Hunter MKII as a second water machine, not so much a backup to my White's BHID 300 but for areas where the black sands are a problem.
The detector is a no nonsense, solid and well built unit that does what a PI should. . . punch down deep for the gold (and iron trash).

Don't think about a PI if your area is thick with iron junk as you can be digging every few meters or so. It is best suited for open and clean sites or where mineralization is a problem.
The big coil is quite hard to pinpoint with (especially in murky water or in the surf) but is covers a greater area for sure.
The only minor problem so far is the armcuff loosens very quickly. I cured this but replacing with and adding stainless steel bolts with wing-nuts. It is now rock-solid.

Run in Standard Trash and use the Elimination very carefully. . . no more than about 1-2 to help knock out the response from salt water.
The audio can be a bit much sometimes, especially if you are digging plenty of targets. I use a neoprene headband to help block some of the audio volume.

I choose to ignore all double-beeps and some signals that sound harsh, or have a tinny sound to them. Good signals that must be dug include all coins, pulltabs, bottlecaps and some iron targets such as washers. I have an ear for PI's as I have used many of the years and you will develop a certain level of "discrimination" from your brain but not the machine.
Good signals are crisp and symmetrical and always repeatable. To my hearing they appear to start and finish with a pleasing "click/pip" sound, whereas most irregular shaped junk iron will form a brash sound and will cover a larger signal area relative to it's size.
I really like this detector and the headphones are much more comfortable than those attached to my White's detector. All in all, a very simple to use machine with set and forget controls.
I would buy another without hesitation.

Overall Rating 4 stars

5823

Hunter keeps on finding

December 09, 2011
It has been a while since we have been on this site. The year ( 2011 ) has been pretty good for the team as such we may have a profit after all the expense,, No matter what the seahunters came
through as always.. We hit the water with our new dive suits, and the hunters did all the hard work for us... NO matter what the minelab hot shots keep on talking about... The Garrett seahunter IS by far the best around for the California beach and parks,

all have a Great Holiday Season as we will be sending in our S.H 2's for update and be ready for 2012..Take care bill and the team.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3226

Garret sea hunter hk 11

November 12, 2011
This is one awesome machine. Yes you have to leave disc on normal and dig everything but it will find the gold. I have dug a thread of a fishing leader at 12 inches deep. You have to learn the proper use and it will produce..PS!!! FREE VLF DETECTOR NEEDS good home...Replaced by Garrett. Also if you don't wanna dig pull tabs and nails you will not find gold!!!!!!!!!!!!
A VLF Detector is only good for coins.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2337

Submit your review for Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II

Submit your tip for Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II