Bounty Hunter Lone Star

Bounty Hunter Lone Star Price: $200
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.41
Based on 22 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Lone Star

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Its cheap and dependable

August 23, 2015
Bought it for my son to detect with me. I use a LandStar. He keeps up with me and hits some I miss as well. It manages to go 6 to 8 inches on some coins. Most are 4 inch to surface. Other than lacking a depth finder and is auto ground balanced.. It performs great on coins in soil and beach sand. By the way, to the review that complained that it cannot tell the difference between a pull tab and a dime... High end machines are tricked by them as well. Practice is the key.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
62

A excellent budget metal detector!

March 18, 2015
I have been using my Bounty Hunter Lone Star for almost 2 years. With it so far, I have found a copper 1855 French cent(my best find yet!), a gold plated silver heart locket, and many other coins and old relics with it. The metal detector is simple and easy to use. It has the ability to discriminate and point out the type of metal you are detecting with its on screen indicator.

It's basic, and can find the coins/jewelry your looking for within its range without detecting much iron or junk, and may be bland on the look scale but is a reliable device. That being said, its a useful metal detector and I am quite fond of it. :)

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
73

Love its simplicity

July 29, 2012
The years I have owned this detector I have found hundreds of coins. I found a gold coin, silver, rings galore. It is very quiet in the trash compared to a white's classic III. It bounces around in tones sometimes but I can live with that, I will dig or probe just about anything that repeats anyway. I don't really use the indicator very often. Absolutely kills it in the tanbark does remarkably well hunting clad and pennies. In tests for depth I have found the very slow sweep will find a deep coin, in the field I think I've found a nickel at 6" or so.

I can tell a dime, nickel, or quarter just from the sound and size of the target response. I know for a fact that this is not a toy because I use it. I think the fact that you can push a button and start detecting with no ground balancing or tricky setup procedures makes this a great starting machine. I have owned compass, teknetics, and whites and I feel this was the best out of them all.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

424

Pretty Good Detector

January 10, 2012
Hi, I have received a lone star from my grandparents, and enjoy it a lot. It has an all metal option, and other options that help you find out what kind of material the object you have found is. It tells you if it is copper, (1 cent for example) and it tells you if it is gold, or silver, or any kind of coin.
VERY GOOD BOUNTY HUNTER!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

519

Lone Star

November 24, 2011
I purchased this lone star to find a gold bracelet that I was wearing when I was ripping out all the plant material in the front of my house (dumb to be wearing it) Well it fell off in the dirt and not to be found after rooting around for it for most of the day.

I purchased the Lonestar from a local seller and read the manual. I tested it with different metals until I felt comfortable with it. Outside I went. I scanned the area I thought I would find the bracelet. No go. So I spread out in a pattern. Found lots of items, sterling silver spoon. ( 90 year old house) then bingo! About 3ft from were I thought it would be I found gold. Dug down about 5in by hand and there was my $400 bracelet. I was ecstatic!

That one find paid for detector. Have been using it around the home and have found lots of old coins and some small antique Toy cars.. I would recommend this to anyone. Easy to use and boat fun to have.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

512

Top notch coin shooter!

November 10, 2011
I bought the Lone Star used from ebay about 5 months ago, and so far have found over 450 coins! It's a great detector for tot lots and parks, and nails the coins with both sensitivity and discrimination around 75 percent . I would definitely recommend this detector from beginners to intermediate treasure hunters looking for a back up unit. Also, extra coils can be purchased through online metal detector dealers for those seeking the smaller coils for less trash and more treasure.
Good Luck and Have Fun.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

461

1942 Mercury Dime...

July 23, 2011
I just bought my Lone Star metal detector about 3 days ago. I just took it out hunting today in my backyard. Within 20 minutes of use, I dug up a 1942 mercury dime, after about an hour, I had found the dime, a spent 300 Weatherby cartridge and an item I have no clue what it is LOL.
I read the manual before using, finding it most helpful. This is my first metal detector and not sure how it stands against other metal detectors. But for a novice, this is the perfect detector! Incredibly light weight which is great since I have a bad back. I would recommend the Lone Star to anyone who is just starting out like I am. I'm sure there is a lot more out there for me to dig up!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

201

Beginner

January 05, 2011
I have been using this detector for a year or better and have not had a problem with it.Y ou have to know what you want and expect out of a detector, how much time you put in and how much you are going to research what you have from others. Its a basic beginner +++ detector. If you are having trouble with it there's something wrong, send it back. If I buy another machine someday it will be to swing over wet sand.

Overall Rating 4 stars

123

CAN'T BEAT THE LONE STAR FOR THE PRICE

August 10, 2010
I buy and sell metal detectors have tried hundreds of detectors the lone star beats most hands down for ease of use and accuracy, depth is as good or better than white prizm V and minelab xterra 70 beat all Garrett up the 2500, I have gone behind whites and Garrett and found many item that they miss, still use the lone star as primary detector other than gold in Arizona I use Minelab 2100, if you are doing parks and schools coin shooting you do not need all the bells and whistles, you can pick one up on ebay for under $100.00 can't go wrong with lone star.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

635

Fort Lauderdale Beaches

December 23, 2009
I just purchased this MD today and made a really fun score. The first 20 minutes I found a liberty head dime, indian head nickle and a penny. I can see I'm going to love this thing. It beats watching my ole man watch football..ha
Great buy. Bought it at Bass Outdoor world for 200.00 bucks...Happy Hunting!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2012

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Lone Star

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Lone Star