Bounty Hunter Lone Star

Price: $200
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.41
Based on 22 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Lone Star

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Nice machine

December 05, 2009
Light weight, and easy on the bateries. I use this detector alot, it has good depth, good seperation and pretty decient depth. You can pick them up at pawn shops for less than 50 bucks. This is a very easy machine to use as well. 4 years of pretty heavey use and not a single problem

Overall Rating 5 stars!

298

Beat out 3 Whites & 3 Tesoro's on recent beach hunt

February 09, 2009
I just returned from a 2 1/2 day detecting hunt in the salt water and sand of south Alabama.
The first day myself & two others were all using whites. Our grand total for the day ended up being only a few copper nails.
On day 2 I swapped to my back-up "Lone Star" since the bay was full of iron fragments I set the Auto Notch. Upon working the same area that 3 Whites "Spectrum, Classic SL, Prism III and another group of three using Tesoro detectors had looked the day before I retrieved 27-unspent WCF 32-20 cal. cartridges, 4- unspent early rimfire cartridges, 1-Scovill Union Army button and an Enfield Mini-ball. The others just found a couple more copper nails. My Lone Star is now my primary beach detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7617

Bounty Hunter Lonestar

December 28, 2008
I've been using this unit for five years now, to my entire satisfaction. I use it mostly with the 10" magnum coil, and, with the sens and disc knobs at their preset points, I get our (larger than US ) euro coins at an average of 7" deep.

This, being a beach hunter, is more than needed in the summer, when hunting for coins only.

Cranking the sens up and the disc down will provide 2 to 4 " bonus depth, with the disavantage of incorrect ID for the deeper coins.

All in all, I keep thinking that buried treasure doesn't know how much you paid for your metal detector. Simple units will do well in most of the cases.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

405

A tip for euro shooters

May 28, 2007
Hi from belgium. I use both a lone star and a quick draw II. Here's a tip for people looking for euro coins : with the standard coil, it is not possible to separate round tabs from 2-Euros coins, nor in disc or auto notch. Well, things are different, I don't know why, with the 10" coil. You can then eliminate round tabs while still finding the coins.

Both my units repaid themselves several times, so after about 15000 hours of coinshooting, I join those who think that simple metal detectors can do it, sometimes better than top of the range models.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

358

Lonestar finds 1927 Silver Standing Liberty Quarter!!!

April 02, 2007
This is my first metal detector and I've had lots of fun with it. I've been using it for about 6mo. and have found lots of goodies. Like wheat pennys, rings, and a 1927 silver standing liberty quarter. My heart sank when I saw the silver shinning through the dirt. I think this is a great md for anyone curious about the hobby. It has been fun and easy to use.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

288

Excellent value for the money

December 20, 2006
This is the 3rd detector I've owned in 30 years, and for the price has been the best. Minus the bells and whistles, this model does what most other models do for hundreds less. As with any electromagnetic (EM) detection method, resolution decreases with depth and is as much as a function of the diameter of the coil as with high-end components. Some models do have more advanced electronics and are slightly better at dicrimintaing with depth, but again, for the money, this model is one of the best i've used and tested. for the vast majority of treasure enthusiasts, this is a great value.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

545

Very reliable

August 07, 2005
Got my Lonestar for my birthday and have been having a great time. This is my first detector so I am not a pro, but have had a lot of success. Found the best thing to do is practice in my yard with coins taped to pieces of cardboard. I can now pinpoint coins within a 3 inch circle and rarely have to dig a hole (can just poke the ground with a hunting knife). I have thought about buying a more expensive detector but see no reason to right now. I almost always find the coins it says are there, and find a lot of nickels too which it gives off a seperate tone for. I use the auto disc. mode for coin shooting and do just fine. When it sayd penny it's always a penny, when it says silver ie. dime, quarter, .50 cent ect. it's there. When I get a high tone that is for silver and it seems to be on too big an area it is usually an aluminum can. After the first month i've been able to distinguish the difference no problem. Found $26.00 in change in the first month and several old coins and jewelry too. I love it. Way to go Bounty Hunter.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

845

Wonderful first time toy

December 25, 2004
This is a great find for the price. As you become more advanced with your methods and detecting you'll want to upgrade to something with alittle more features.

Overall Rating 4 stars

79

Bounty Hunter Lone Star

December 07, 2004
I bought this as my first detector and I am ready for an upgrade. It seems to give a lot of confuseing tones as you search, it does not seem to lock on to a tone. As I said I am only a beginner so I need a lot more practice. I have found a few coins with it.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1114

Lone Star Bounty Hunter

April 22, 2004
For the value this detector is a good first. True it does not have quite the descremination of a 4 or 500 dollar detector but it in an intro model and easy to use. found many coins and relics with mine as deep as 6-10 inches with the standered 8 in coil.

for the price and performance a great detector for beginners I would say this detector is a good on . if you decide you do not like the hobby your not out alot of money if you do like it you can upgrade

Overall Rating 3 stars

375

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Lone Star

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Lone Star