Whites Bullseye

Price: $120
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.74
Based on 35 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.17
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.17
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Bullseye

Compare to ▼
Nokta Pointer $139
Makro Pointer $125
Vibra-Quatic 2 Pinpointer $169.95
Nokta RS Pinpointer $130
Garrett Pro Pointer $150
Detectorpro Pistol Probe $170

Takes a licking and keeps on ticking

October 13, 2010
I have the original white plastic whites pinpointer, I bought in 1999. Had to replace three push buttons, other than that its been through mud, rain and snow. I still use it on every hunt, and it works great.

Overall Rating 4 stars

155

Great when it works, but...

September 14, 2010
I got this with my MXT, and, for the most part, it's been very useful. I've had to take it apart numerous times, however, and over the years have added a momentary, button-style switch (Radio Shack) in parallel with the tiny, board-mounted one that kept cutting out. I've also had to hard-wire in a 9-volt battery connector, solder broken pickup coil wires (nasty job), glue a broken probe base to the case, cement a broken case back together, etc. Lately, it works just fine at home, but acts up in the field (intermittent sensitivity switch). The headphones supplied with the MXT have also had their innards rewired multiple times. Just goes to show, ya gets what ya pays for....

Overall Rating 3 stars

83

SO FAR IT WORKS GOOD!!

June 19, 2010
Just bought a whites bullseye-2 had it out for oh about 1-hr. didn't find to much but junk/trash with my detector just got that b-4 x-mas, still tiring to learn how to use it. Getting better but any ways about the pin-pointer, I find it to work good for me so far.
It bets picking up the whole detector while on your knees and waving it around the hole. It's much easier with the be-2 plus I like that when you dig your plug hole down oh say 5-6 inches you wave your detector and use their pin-pointer and it tells you your in the right area except the walls of the hole are covering the target ever so sightly.

It's much easier to use a probe that looks like a finger and point at the wall of the hole or just circle the hole going downward in the hole, it will locate it on the side of the wall meaning you dug the hole and missed the coin by 1/2 inch (f**%^$@#g--$#!t) I'm sure we all had that happen but remember this unit is to work by PIN-POINTING so if you have lumpy soil you brake the clumps into smaller pieces and use the probe to p-p the coin in the clumps of dirt.

As far as the star rating goes I didn't have much time to use but the little time I did use it it found a small piece of cut wired fencing (chain linked)the piece was the size of a coin used the be-2 in the loose dirt and found it right away I thought it was a penny because of the signal, but for the most part it works good for me. Happy hunting!

Overall Rating 2 stars

719

Works but needs modifications.

April 13, 2010
I've been reading everyone else's reviews and realized that I have the same problem. My switch went bad on me. BUT...I found a solution. The device works great with the exception of the switch so I went to Radio Shack and bought a tiny little toggle switch for about $2.99. I removed the faulty switch and replaced it with the toggle. I then put a small hole in the rubber button on the device for the toggle switch to stick through. This thing has never worked better!

My battery connections are getting worn or bent....probably going to replace those with a snap on 9 volt battery connection, which Radio Shack also had for about the same price as the switch. If you already have this device, make these simple modifications (or have someone who knows how to solder make them for you) and you'll have a very reliable and great device! If you don't already have this pinpointer, I would recommend getting one of the cheaper ones that work as well. I've seen some close replicas on other websites for about $16.

Overall Rating 4 stars

131

Love it except for the switch problem!

April 08, 2010
After about six months of use the pressure switch went bad. Whites replaced it minus shipping. I have had three bullseyes and now on my forth. On all three units the swith went bad and I just purchased my forth. Some may say I'm crazy but I love it when it's working. I sure hope White fixes the swith problem soon or they are going to lose sales on a good product because of a small defect.

Overall Rating 3 stars

70

Bullseye II

March 31, 2010
I got it free with the purchase of a new detector from Kellyco. Kellyco has been great though, 3 new detectors from them over the years and only good experiences. The Bullseye II worked fine for about 5 hunts, maybe 10-15 hours. Then it wouldn't tune down, it would just buzz. I solved this on the 3rd hunt by sliding in a penny at the base of the battery door like I read on several forums. By the next hunt, it started happening again, I even tried 2 kinds of 9V batteries but it wouldn't work.
I took it with me 2 more times and both times wanted to wrap it around a tree because it was useless. I wasted time on a good hunt without a pinpointer and ordered a Treasure Mate by Tesoro that night. It is fantastic and worth the money.
The Bullseye II is in the trash as I'm typing this. I would only buy one again if it were 20 dollars or under, think of it as the Bic lighter of pinpointers- disposable.

Overall Rating 1 star

192

Figured it out

November 19, 2009
Thought my Bullseye was suffering from the dreaded "switch" issue. The unit would periodically stop working when I had the button depressed. Through troubleshooting, I found that if I was pushing on the battery it worked reliably. I put a penny I found between the battery and the sliding door and the unit works like a champ! I recommend trying this before returning your pinpointer for service.

Overall Rating 4 stars

82

Too many problems

November 20, 2008
Recived pinpointer with a MD purchased from Kellyco. Have had problems with falsing and the push button switch. Worked fine for about a year, but as it got older, the sensitivity deteriorated. Battery life is very good.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

92

Whites should just stick to detectors

September 06, 2008
Total junk is all I can say do not waste your money unless you have it to throw away! Whites detectors are GREAT! I bought the Bullseye II and within 1 month it was trash press the button light would come on but that was it 120$ down the drain should have bought a Sunray inline probe for 60$ more. Live and learn I guess!

Overall Rating 1 star

1711

Works 4 Me

March 13, 2008
Got this and WOOOT! it works great. I'm not a body builder so I have no problems with the activation button or dial knob, I don't use it with muddy mittens on and I clean it at the end of my sessions. Only negative thing is there seems to be a "dead-band" between low sensitivity and high sensitivity. I regularly find items at 1" depth for coin "plucking" on high but mostly use it in low sens. to find them dirty camoflaged items. My whites pinpoints great. For dark conditions I have a glow in the dark decals on it and its ez to find.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

122

Submit your review for Whites Bullseye

Submit your tip for Whites Bullseye