Whites Pro XL 6000

Whites Pro XL 6000 Price: $600
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.50
Based on 26 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Pro XL 6000

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

6000/5900 old school is best!

December 09, 2016
I purchased my first detector from Bills Birds and Detectors in Little Rock AR back in 1985, a 6000DI series 3. It was a great machine and I learned that technology very well. I ended up selling it to buy a newer 5900 Di Pro and hunted all over Europe while in the military.

These machines were great and I found awesome stuff. I eventually ended up trading it in for the new digital Spectrum...And then sold that for an XLT, and now a MXT and a V3i....Etc, etc.... Until today, I have never realized that most of my great finds stopped after leaving the analog world? The 5900/6000 series technology is amazing!

So now I have a 6000 Pro XL and I remember what I was missing... The audio discrimination is different and almost has the ability to audibly tell you the shape of an item... The best way to explain this is to used a roll of coins, this detector will see each coins an respond...Its a great machine....I'm very glad to have one back...

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
40

Xl-pro

May 29, 2015
I have an XL-PRO with the Tone I.D. Modification. I always been a Tone I.D. type of guy. This detector is awesome as I been using it latly with a Bigfoot coil I picked up in big open athletic fields. This thing is a Quarter monster with this set up as I dig about 50 per trip. Great detector with any coil. It is old school analog fun at its best!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
112

Get a 6000 or 5900

January 03, 2012
This machine at 6.5khz <-key in wet ground, still out performs the others. I bought another one to re-build to new condition.

This analog is still beating the digital stuff out there. Discrimination with good depth.

I've seen and used the new Whites stuff and other than the MXT the 6000 beats the other stuff.

Get one of these machines on ebay you won't be sorry.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

404

Want the Best? Get a 6000

January 02, 2012
I have detected for over 35 years. In 1975 I hunted 100 year old schools that had never seen a detector and would leave daily with pockets full of silver. I have used every known analog and digital detector and I always wind up selling my Digital and go back to Analog.
And when it comes to Analog the Whites 6000 is the best. Its GEB discriminate with fast motion detecting. The faster you swing it the deeper you can detect. I have found coins that other detectors would not even come close to finding. Don't fall into the high Dollar $ detector trap. Expensive Detectors won't help you find more coins no more than a nice fast bass boat will help you catch more fish. Find you a nice 6000, or 5900 and you will thank me!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

441

Coinmaster 6000 di pro

March 12, 2010
I just don't understand what ever happened to the whites company? They used to make great machines at a fair price. Now you have to pay $800-$1400 for a really good machine!

The prizm line is all garbage! No depth to speak of and thats one of the most important things. I have a 6000 di pro I would put up against the prizm line the m6 ect and destroy them in depth and in bad soil!
I always hear of all these new whites machines heading back for repairs after one day out. Analog is where it's at and always well. It seems whites has pushed the little guys out and caters to the big spenders! HEY WHITES BUILD A GOOD DETECTOR FOR AROUND $450 INSTEAD OF GARBAGE YOUR CLOGGING UP EBAY! SOME FOLKS SAY WHITES IS GOING BACKWARDS IN QUALITY THATS NOT POSSIBLE BECAUSE THE OLDER ONES WERE THE BEST. I THINK THEY WENT DOWN HILL. Oh by the way garrett can make an ace 250 for $200 THAT CAN OUT PERFORM YOUR $500 DOLLAR MACHINES THATS SAD.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

9622

Nothing Better than the 6000 DI Pro

August 27, 2009
I have been hunting since about 1973. I have used every detector known, both digital and analog. I started with a one knob mustang detector. After 30 years of hunting and many detectors later I still go back to the 6000 DI Pro SL. There never has nor ever will be a better detector. I have dug silver half dollars at least 10 inches. I have hunted civil war relics and found 50mm shot 8 inches, buttons 6 to 8 inches. Its great in trashy areas, and is gets down extremely deep. Don't pay $1000's for digital. Find a good 6000 DI and you won't be sorry.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

994

XL Pro Rocks, plain & simple

March 18, 2009
It's official now, I've been detecting 30 years as of 2009 (not that I am, or feel, ahem, really that old....). I made the switch to digital back in the 90's but keep coming back to analog.

Ok, here's the deal: performance of VLF detectors peaked out with the 6000 Di Pro SL back 20- years ago and all advancements since have been bells and whistles only. The XL Pro takes the best analog tech from 15-20 years ago and slims it down to modern lightweight size and battery specs. Perrrrfect. Granted some digital features make "turn on and go" work better for the newbies, but the basic performance really hasn't been improved on since the last of the great top of the line analog machines. In the hands of a skilled operator, an XL Pro can do everything an XLT/DFX/etc. can except for the slightly reduced sensitivity on gold (but not by much). For coinshooting, nothing works better than the XL Pro. I have much more expensive digital machines gathering dust in my closet, that I wish were worth the extra $$, but the truth is, the XL Pro is just as good and much simpler to operate.

Don't waste hours trial-and-error tweaking dozens of mysterious settings on the digital machines when you can get the same performance with just a few knobs to twist with the XL Pro. After 30 years of owning the best, both digital and analog, let me save you the trouble: Go with the XL Pro, the best metal detector ever!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1033

Best Analog

January 06, 2009
I have two detetors in my closet.One is fishers new F75 and the other is a Whites 6000 xl pro.
I grew up old school analog with a teknetis Mark-1, and still prefer the simplicity of the older analogs once in awhile as compared to touchpads and menus. In a nut shell! If your looking for a Great Analog Detector that will hold it's own down the road for years to Come, Give it a try! Even if its not your thing, you won't have any problem finding a buyer

Overall Rating 4 stars

350

The absolute best VLF made.

May 21, 2008
With over 39 years of detector use and having experimented with many other metal detector brands my choice has always been the White's 6000. I made sure to purchase a new 6000 XL Pro upon hearing of it's impending discontinuance from the White's line of detectors. I have NEVER had reliability issues with the 6000 series. When competitors put up depth comparison charts for VLF detectors and the White's 6000 XL Pro shows the deepest target detection it only bolsters the faith I have put into it's performance throughout the years. For 6000 XL Pro user's who take the time to know their detectors they will find out that that this detector flat out performs!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

464

One of the best detector ever made !

November 12, 2007
It is my fourth XL PRO, in past I also used Garrett, C Scope, XP, Tesoro, White's and many others.
I usually don't have more than two or three detectors at the same time, so every time I want to try a new detector I have to sell one of the team. And every time I try a new detector I end up to buy the XL PRO again !
It isn't one of the deepest, but you can use it almost everywhere. The meter is perfect, and the audio too. You have four search modes, everyone has its place. With the 6 inches coil (Bluemax, Bullsey or Blackmax) and the SAT mode you can search in the worst ferrous environment.
It is a great cherry picker, you can only dig the locked targets, so you can cover a lot of ground in a little time and you will dig every good target in the first 8 inches.
The Hot Rock ID is very effective and it pinpoints very well.
The two things that I blame are the absence of a manual ground knob and a volume knob.
I really don't know why they stopped it. I don't think that digital boys can be as nice as this model.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

342

Submit your review for Whites Pro XL 6000

Submit your tip for Whites Pro XL 6000