Minelab Excalibur 1000

Minelab Excalibur 1000 Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.95
Based on 62 reviews

Avg. Durability: 1 star1.00
Avg. Ease of use: 1 star1.33
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Compare to ▼
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Minelab Excalibur II $1200
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800

Excalibur 1000

November 15, 2016
As a professional scuba diver instructor I know very well how to take care of underwater equipment, I purchased the excalibur 1000, after just a couple months I had battery I pod problem, new I pod was sent to me, however failed to operate, the company made mistake with the wiring and inside they were inverted. Again after 2 months first serious problem start to emerge, It was sent in Las Vegas for repair, it came back after a month repaired, but after a day me using it again broke down.

He was sent back again, and this rime they apologise for making mistake with the seals. When I got it back was as a new machine. Then he went in storage for a few years, and when I used again after a few days the machine broke down again. It's just a piece of junk. The machine was sent to repair and Minelab they refused to repair, they preference to sell me a new one. I HAVE PHOTOS OF MY DETECTOR THAT I SENT TO THEM FOR REPAIR the photos that they showed me are not of my machine. Terrible service from Minelab. Be warned. Keep away from Excalibur, they are junk overpriced.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 2 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Excalibur 1000

June 16, 2014
Bought mine 7yrs ago and finally pulled it out. Within 10 min. All the rubber starting falling off the wires. Called Minelab and they coudn't give me a price for material or labor till they send it. Definitely a defect in parts.. Want me pay for shipping then give me a high price once its there. Company sucks.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
67

Minelab costumer service

June 13, 2014
Minelab insulted me twice, think twice about your costumers service from Minelab before you buy. Metal Detector Reviews may have good costumer service but you have to also deal with Minelab itself and I assure you Minelab is loosing it edge. There is a big problem with the CTX-3030, I have never had one but I read it is a big one! BUYER BE WEAR YOU BEEN WARNED!!! I do own a Minelab and I have no plains to own a Minelab!!!

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
57

Best water machine

August 14, 2012
I have owned a number of different water machines and have found Minelab Excalibur to be the very best out there. Easy to use, tones will let you know what your digging and it's turn on and go. If your going to do either salt or fresh water hunting you can't beat this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

113

Beware

February 05, 2012
If your thinking of buying one second hand make sure of its history, there can be issues with these detectors that can only be rectified by sending it off to Minelab and that can be expensive and time consuming, this is important if you are going to dive the machine, as Minelab will pressure test them when they get them for repair or service.
New is the best way if you can afford it, they are the best machine for beach detecting and what the they are made for diving .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

241

Minelab excalibur 2

December 20, 2011
I had a big problem with the knobs so I replaced them with generics with a set screw, a short while later the machine started giving me problems, I sent it back and very expensive to fix!!!!!!!! Wish they would fix the knob problem. Check before using replacement parts!!!

Overall Rating 2 stars

132

Minelab excal 800

June 01, 2011
I have been detecting now for roughly about 5 years and the only detector I have used and will ever use is a Minelab Excaliber. I have both the 800 and the 1000. I find that the 800 is fantastic at finding smaller items. With my 800 I have found from ear ring backs to Spanish 1/2 & 1 reales and loads of modern jewelry. My 1000 I find mostly rings and larger items but at much greater depths. I think to master this amazing machine you have to learn the different tones. Once you have accomplished this your finds will increase significantly!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

551

The machine for the beach

May 20, 2011
I have had a couple of water detectors in the past and they were very noisy in the salt water which makes it harder to tell when you have a good target. While overseas I hit a local beach with the detector that I brought with me and it was pretty much unusable.
There were sparkler wires everywhere and lots of beach junk so I was digging holes everywhere.

I went to see a friend who had another machine for sale and I used it on the beach and it was noisy also. I told him I did not want it and he said well.. I guess I could sell you my excal since I have an etrac. To make a long story short ,as a favor to me he sold me his well used excal 1000 and gave me a quick class on it and off I went.

On my first hunt while learning my machine I found a nice heavy 14k ring, a knock off watch that still worked, a silver thimble and about 25 dollars in coins. I was amazed.

I hunted on the weekends during low tide for two months then I had orders home. In that time I found 28 gold rings, two working watches, an 18K brooch and several silver rings and items. This was overseas and not as many people hunt there so the pickings were good.
I only found one gold chain and that was a surface find. I had a blast, paid for the used excal bought an new etrac and paid for Christmas for the family with the gold that I sold (4700.00 worth)when I returned home.

The only negative about the excal is that it will not pick up small chains. No telling how many I walked over.. All these finds were posted on one of the treasure sites on the net. The excal is a fantastic beach hunter that I am going to keep forever.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

490

Minelab excaliber II

March 26, 2011
What a shame. This great detector works so efficiently...when it works. I bought it new in November 2010, used it 4 times with great enthusiasm, enjoyed learning it's idiosychrasies, and just enjoying it immensely. The 5th time I used it, it quit altogether. After about 5 minutes of fooling with it I gave up. A little later, back at my car, I tried it again and it seemed to work. Off I went back to the beach where it quit again. Less than 2 months old and already trouble.

It took a month of communications with Minelab before I finally got shipping clearance for warranty work. A few weeks after I shipped it, I called for a progress report and was told 40-45 business days is typical. This translates to at LEAST 2 months including holidays. So far, it has been out of commission far longer than it has actually been usable. Still waiting. I sure hope they sort it out because I like it a great deal...when it works.

Overall Rating 3 stars

465

The one to have for fresh and salt water or on dry land

January 02, 2011
I've owned all the top models of every brand of metal detector. I've been detecting for over 28 years so I'm pretty sure I know what I know and what I don't know about metal detecting.

A few years ago I decided to try water hunting. I checked all the names like White, Garrett, Tesoro and Minelab. Seems Minelab has a whole bunch of fans and even some haters. I did a survey of people on one of the metal detecting forum sites and the overall opinion was that the Minelab Excalibur is the machine to have if you do salt or fresh water hunting. So I bought a Minelab 800 that was used. At first I hated the ergonomics of the Excalibur till I got a straight shaft and then it was a joy. I found tons of rings in the water with the 800 but I really wanted the new Excalibur II 1000 so I sold the 800 and got a brand new 1000.

There is quite a difference in coverage from the 8 inch coil on the 800 to the 10 inch coil on the II 1000. The newer coil on the II 1000 is thinner than the older coils so it is very easy to move through the water. Even easier than the old 800's coil.

The Excalibur II 1000 is a sound only machine and requires a good ear to hear the different sounds that each target makes. After a while it becomes easy to know what is under your coil.

Since getting the Excalibur II 1000, my finds of gold and silver in the water has exploded. In the past I've owned other brands of water detectors but they just did not perform as the Excalibur detectors have for me. I now hunt water almost exclusively but every once in a while I take the Excalibur II 1000 land hunting and even there it really shines. The multiple frequencies of the Excalibur makes for one really hot detector.

If you are thinking of getting an Excalibur II, I would highly recommend getting a straight shaft and a knob guard. The straight shaft makes the Excalibur almost weightless and really easy to swing.

The Excalibur is a professional metal detector and is used by many treasure hunters. The Mel Fisher group uses them.

I highly recommend the Excalibur II 1000.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1233

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Submit your tip for Minelab Excalibur 1000