Minelab Excalibur 1000

Minelab Excalibur 1000 Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.90
Based on 63 reviews

Avg. Durability: 1 star1.00
Avg. Ease of use: 1 star1.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Compare to ▼
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Minelab Excalibur II $1200
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800

Bad coil cable

February 11, 2018
I have had two of these and both cables to the coil have totally fallen apart in pieces. The sheathing crumbles away after a few years. I talked to Kelly CO where I bought it and they said it must have been a bad batch of rubber on the first one so I ended up paying to have it replaced. My second Excalibur detector from Mine Lab now has the same issue. I never take these in the water (salt or fresh) and only use these on land in the Bahamas and store the units in a dry place. My friend has one too and all three of ours have the same issue.

I have two Pulse 8 now for 10+ years and they never have issues and are used and stored in the same manner and same place. Mine Lab Detectors are not CHEAP! And they have a manufacturing quality issue that they do not seem capable of resolving. I did reach out to Mine Lab for help but they never responded. I will not buy one of their products again as I can't afford to replace the cable every few years let alone have to deal with it and have the detector out of service.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
20

Excalibur 1000

November 15, 2016
As a professional scuba diver instructor I know very well how to take care of underwater equipment, I purchased the excalibur 1000, after just a couple months I had battery I pod problem, new I pod was sent to me, however failed to operate, the company made mistake with the wiring and inside they were inverted. Again after 2 months first serious problem start to emerge, It was sent in Las Vegas for repair, it came back after a month repaired, but after a day me using it again broke down.

He was sent back again, and this rime they apologise for making mistake with the seals. When I got it back was as a new machine. Then he went in storage for a few years, and when I used again after a few days the machine broke down again. It's just a piece of junk. The machine was sent to repair and Minelab they refused to repair, they preference to sell me a new one. I HAVE PHOTOS OF MY DETECTOR THAT I SENT TO THEM FOR REPAIR the photos that they showed me are not of my machine. Terrible service from Minelab. Be warned. Keep away from Excalibur, they are junk overpriced.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 2 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
22

Excalibur 1000

June 16, 2014
Bought mine 7yrs ago and finally pulled it out. Within 10 min. All the rubber starting falling off the wires. Called Minelab and they coudn't give me a price for material or labor till they send it. Definitely a defect in parts.. Want me pay for shipping then give me a high price once its there. Company sucks.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
78

Minelab costumer service

June 13, 2014
Minelab insulted me twice, think twice about your costumers service from Minelab before you buy. Metal Detector Reviews may have good costumer service but you have to also deal with Minelab itself and I assure you Minelab is loosing it edge. There is a big problem with the CTX-3030, I have never had one but I read it is a big one! BUYER BE WEAR YOU BEEN WARNED!!! I do own a Minelab and I have no plains to own a Minelab!!!

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
58

Best water machine

August 14, 2012
I have owned a number of different water machines and have found Minelab Excalibur to be the very best out there. Easy to use, tones will let you know what your digging and it's turn on and go. If your going to do either salt or fresh water hunting you can't beat this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

113

Beware

February 05, 2012
If your thinking of buying one second hand make sure of its history, there can be issues with these detectors that can only be rectified by sending it off to Minelab and that can be expensive and time consuming, this is important if you are going to dive the machine, as Minelab will pressure test them when they get them for repair or service.
New is the best way if you can afford it, they are the best machine for beach detecting and what the they are made for diving .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

241

Minelab excalibur 2

December 20, 2011
I had a big problem with the knobs so I replaced them with generics with a set screw, a short while later the machine started giving me problems, I sent it back and very expensive to fix!!!!!!!! Wish they would fix the knob problem. Check before using replacement parts!!!

Overall Rating 2 stars

132

Minelab excal 800

June 01, 2011
I have been detecting now for roughly about 5 years and the only detector I have used and will ever use is a Minelab Excaliber. I have both the 800 and the 1000. I find that the 800 is fantastic at finding smaller items. With my 800 I have found from ear ring backs to Spanish 1/2 & 1 reales and loads of modern jewelry. My 1000 I find mostly rings and larger items but at much greater depths. I think to master this amazing machine you have to learn the different tones. Once you have accomplished this your finds will increase significantly!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

551

The machine for the beach

May 20, 2011
I have had a couple of water detectors in the past and they were very noisy in the salt water which makes it harder to tell when you have a good target. While overseas I hit a local beach with the detector that I brought with me and it was pretty much unusable.
There were sparkler wires everywhere and lots of beach junk so I was digging holes everywhere.

I went to see a friend who had another machine for sale and I used it on the beach and it was noisy also. I told him I did not want it and he said well.. I guess I could sell you my excal since I have an etrac. To make a long story short ,as a favor to me he sold me his well used excal 1000 and gave me a quick class on it and off I went.

On my first hunt while learning my machine I found a nice heavy 14k ring, a knock off watch that still worked, a silver thimble and about 25 dollars in coins. I was amazed.

I hunted on the weekends during low tide for two months then I had orders home. In that time I found 28 gold rings, two working watches, an 18K brooch and several silver rings and items. This was overseas and not as many people hunt there so the pickings were good.
I only found one gold chain and that was a surface find. I had a blast, paid for the used excal bought an new etrac and paid for Christmas for the family with the gold that I sold (4700.00 worth)when I returned home.

The only negative about the excal is that it will not pick up small chains. No telling how many I walked over.. All these finds were posted on one of the treasure sites on the net. The excal is a fantastic beach hunter that I am going to keep forever.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

490

Minelab excaliber II

March 26, 2011
What a shame. This great detector works so efficiently...when it works. I bought it new in November 2010, used it 4 times with great enthusiasm, enjoyed learning it's idiosychrasies, and just enjoying it immensely. The 5th time I used it, it quit altogether. After about 5 minutes of fooling with it I gave up. A little later, back at my car, I tried it again and it seemed to work. Off I went back to the beach where it quit again. Less than 2 months old and already trouble.

It took a month of communications with Minelab before I finally got shipping clearance for warranty work. A few weeks after I shipped it, I called for a progress report and was told 40-45 business days is typical. This translates to at LEAST 2 months including holidays. So far, it has been out of commission far longer than it has actually been usable. Still waiting. I sure hope they sort it out because I like it a great deal...when it works.

Overall Rating 3 stars

465

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Submit your tip for Minelab Excalibur 1000