Minelab Excalibur 1000

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.90
Based on 63 reviews

Avg. Durability: 1 star1.00
Avg. Ease of use: 1 star1.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Compare to ▼
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Minelab Excalibur II $1200
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800

BULKY- BUT A FRESH WATER RING KILLER

August 17, 2006
I HAVE BEEN DETECTING FOR 44 YRS. I CONSIDER MY SELF A PRO ON LAND AND IN THE WATER..I HAVE WRITTEN 3 STORIES FOR WESTERN & EASTERN TREASURE MAG.. SO I HOPE MY EXPERIENCE HELPS, HERE GOES: I USED A GARRETT XL 200 PULSE & XL 500 FOR MANY YEARS, DUG ALOT OF IRON , BOBBIE PINS , NUTS & BOLT DIGGING, SO I BOUGHT & TRIED OUT THE EXCAL. 800..A KILLER IN FRESH WATER FOR RINGS, BUT "VERY" BULKY & HEAVY ON DRY & WET SAND!! YOUR ARM SLIPS OUT OF THE ARM REST AND THE HANDLE DESIGN IS JUST NOT GOOD, SO I TOOK OFF THE ARM REST OF MY DFX AND PUT IT ON HER- MUCH BETTER BUT STILL HEAVY--THE BATTERY CHARGER HAS NO LIGHT TO LET YOU KNOW IT'S WORKING- NOR IS THERE A VISUAL LIGHT OR METER TO LET YOU KNOW IF YOUR BATTERIES TOOK THE CHARGE OR ARE LOW- YOU ONLY HEAR A CRAZY SOUND FROM YOUR HEAD PHONES WHEN THEY ARE LOW AND UNFORTUNATELY THIS MIGHT BE WHEN YOUR OUT HUNTING AT YOUR SPOT! I WISH THE COMPANY WOULD HAVE THE HEAD PHONES SCREW OFF THE SET, MAN DO THEY GET TWISTED UP AND ALSO SHORTEN UP THE LENGTH OF THE DISC CORD.. OTHER WISE GREAT UNIT IF YOU HAVE A FRESH WATER SPOT.. THE 1000 UNIT THAT MY FRIEND BOUGHT SEEMS TO BE VERY SENSITIVE, ALOT OF NOISES COME OUT OF THAT UNIT COMPAIRED TO THE 800, MUCH MORE STABLE-- HOPE THIS HELPS YOU .. THANKS


Overall Rating 4 stars

216

Excalibur spends much time in shop for repair

May 09, 2006
I own 2 CZ 20's, 2 White's Surfmasters, have had a Minelabs Excalibur 800, Garrett Sea Hunter, Garrett Infinity and a Minelabs Excalibur 1000.

The Excalibur 1000 is only a fair machine. I find it to be my choice only for a first hunt in trashy areas if there is no outside radio frequency interferance. It seems to be greatly affected by the presence of outside sources of RF.

It frequently just begins making squawking noise and the only thing to do is shut it off.

I find it's ability to locate deep targets dissapointing. It is a very clumbsey unit to handle in the surf or current. The lower shaft is not durable and a spare is necessary to have on hand.

The knobs on my unit were of poor quality as the insert in them were made of common steel. One trip to the ocean left them crusted in rust. Very poor for a machine advertised as a salt water item. Minelabs did replace them with better knobs with brass inserts.

It has quit working on me a couple times and I have had to send it in for repair. Turn around time was way too long if you only have one machine and enjoy hunting.

I personally would not trust it on a travel trip without a back-up machine.

The rechargable battery only last a few months and need to be replaced. It's ability to hold a charge was poor and after only a few uses would not run for a long day of hunting. Poorest and most expensive battery I have ever found on any piece of electronic equipment. I swaped to a battery pack that uses 8 AA cells. These will only run the machine about 6 to 8 hours so have a change handy.

It will give a good indication of an iron target but goes crazy if much mineralization is in the ground. It works just OK in clean sand of Florida but performs poorly over hot rock areas unless sensitivity is reduced till it will find very little of anything.

I have owned it for over five years, used it for hours but still prefer the CZ 20 to 1 over the Excal 1000. I do find the 800 to be a little more proficient and stable. Some folks report having good faith and luck with the machine but that was not my experience. I have used metal detectors for over 26 years.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7510

Excalibur 800 & 1000 are fine for diving.

May 07, 2006
Excal 800 an 1000 work well diving or wading a beach. I hip mount it for wading. Diving it has been stable for me and all the different tones help give target Identification and it is accurate. It is also very deep and I prefer it over any PI I have tried as they have little discrimination.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

191

Poor performance while diving

March 24, 2006
I bought a excalibur 1000 last august 2005.
On land it is a super detector, but while scuba-diving
the sound run off and you can do nothing about it.
For two times I have sent it back to Ireland,
and asked for repair, but I get it back with the same problem.
You only can search in the Pin-point mode while diving,
so you will find tons of iron trash.
If I had known before I would have bought a fisher or a tigershark...

Overall Rating 1 star

212

Beach sweep

February 16, 2006
i love my excal it finds me a lot of gold i have a wot coil on it and this thing goes deeep. "tip #1" get out of auto sens i run mine at 10 o clock and i run my disc at 1. "tip #2" get a big beach scoop and be prepared to dig deep for all that gold at the beach. good luck keep m swinging.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

201

Dont know what all the hype is about this detector!

February 03, 2006
I've used the excal 1000 on the beach and scuba diving all over the world. the headphones are flimsy and fall off your head way too easily when used for scuba. i've heard that using a homemade strap around your chin to the phones may help. I also find this machine to be kind of noisy & unstable. the tones are mainly indescernable and whispy. I prefer to use my beachunter ID, which is more simple and has distinct seperate tones.

Overall Rating 2 stars

133

Great Beach Detector

August 11, 2005
I live close to the beach in Florida (East Coast) and have been detecting on and off for 10 years.I have owned several Garretts and since I only do beach hunting I was dissapointed with the Garretts false signals in the wet sand or shallow wading.I took the $$ plunge and invested in the Minelab Excalibur 1000 and WOW what a difference!!I have found SO many rings,coins and other jewelry with the Excalibur that I could never have found with the Garrett Detectors.The Excalibur made me feel like,, what was I doing with those other "toy" detectors.I highly recommend the balanced shaft to displace the weight of the Excalibur.I'm NOT saying that Garrett or other brand of detectors are junk but if you are a serious beach hunter you cant go wrong with the Excalibur.

Overall Rating 4 stars

785

Excalibur 800/1000

August 04, 2005
Probably the best surf detector available. The 800 has an 8 inch coil and the 1000 has a 10 inch coil and reads 20% deeper. No matter what- "Go with the 10 inch coil!" The coils are hard wired and the units are not designed for interchanging coils unless you send it to Minelab.

The standard shaft supplied with this unit is poorly designed by mounting the head unit below the grip and above the shaft. It is recommended that you get the upgraded "Balanced Shaft" with the "Lightweight Aluminum Guard" that protects the knobs. This mounts the head unit under your forearm making it much lighter and easier to swing. The extra cost is about $130. I would seriously recommend this shaft and getting a "hip mount kit" to anyone who plans on using this in the surf or lakes.

Those who complain about the weight of this unit are probably using the factory shaft. Your gripes are understandable but if weight is an issue for you, consider that a 6 x 12 sand scoop full of wet sand almost weighs 20 lbs and the waves usually break right where the good finds are. Surf hunters must be able to take a beating from the waves, at times, and develop the ability to pinpoint and scoop their target blindfolded while standing in one spot of turbulent water.

Sound like fun doesn't it? It is!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

373

At First I Hated It! Now I love It!

May 24, 2005
The Minelab Excalibur 1000 is not for everyone. This machine is for the serious treasure seeker only.

When I first got my machine about 3 months ago, I was amazed at how easy it seemed to work. Then as the ground thawed and I started to hunt I soon became dissatisfied. It seemed to have poor depth and very unstable. The tone would bounce all over the place and I dug as many as 10 holes to 1 real target. I got to the place where I wanted my money back! I thought it was a piece of junk!

A friend who also owned the Excalibur convinced me to calm down and begin to learn the machine. I took his advice and made a "coin garden" and began studying how the detector responded to different targets. I then went into the field with the attitude to learn and not gripe.

Today after about 60 hours of practice I love the Minelab Excalibur 1000! It's a great land hunting machine, the best I've ever owned. And I've owned the best of other brands.

The secret to using any Minelab detector is to learn the machine. It does give a distinct tone for coins, jewelry, and artifacts. In fact, for the price, it's probably the best Civil War relic machine in the world. It's also a killer in high trash areas.


Now I just need to see how well it does at the beach.

Thank you Minelab!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

302

Excalibur 800 & 1000

April 14, 2005
I bought my fist Excalibur 800 in 1996. I liked it so much that I got the 1000 a couple of years later. In 2001 I got my third Excalibur again the 800. The 1000 I found to heavy even in the water. The 800 is much easier to mover through the water with and much easier on the arm out of the water. I thought the 1000 would go deeper but that was not my experience. Service with Minelab has actually gotten cheaper (Out of warranty service.) My wife was using the Whites PI but now has adopted my first 800. The 1000 is back up if I have to send a unit in for service.

I prefer to search in the all metal mode and use the discriminate to use the Iron-Mask feature. My discriminate level is 0 otherwise. I prefer to dig everything. I've found that if you don't register nickels then you can't find platinum and that a diamond ring is seen as a pull tab.

I usually use auto sensitivity or lower it if I get a lot of interference. I prefer to tune my unit by first selecting discriminate and have a very slite sound and then turn it to all metal. The discriminate setting under good conditions has a very smooth threshold but if close to a radio station or if the Navy decides to play with their electronics it can get so erratic that all metal is your only choice. Even under these conditions you can use discriminate to check if the target is iron.

I've had a lot of detectors but I prefer the 800 over the rest.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

380

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Submit your tip for Minelab Excalibur 1000