Minelab Excalibur 1000

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.90
Based on 63 reviews

Avg. Durability: 1 star1.00
Avg. Ease of use: 1 star1.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Compare to ▼
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Minelab Excalibur II $1200
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800

Excalibur 1000

February 15, 2005
I have owned mine for aabout 6 months now. Took some getting used to as I had a viewer on my previous machine. It takes some getting use to. The threshold does bounce between quiet and loud but I that is just the machine resetting the automatic threshold.

At first I thought I was not using it right. No major finds when others were finding stuff. I started checking their finds (while in ground) and sure enough, I heard each of them. Conclusion, if I move over it, I will hear it.

Only complaint, the knobs loosen.

Overall Rating 4 stars

110

Excalibur 1000

January 10, 2005
I have problems with this detector maintaining a constant threshold tone. It continually changes from high background tone to low and in between. Although it hunts well on the beach it was a disappointment when hunting relics in nothern VA. Could not detect a Minie ball only a couple of inches in the ground. I returned the machine to Minelab and although they said they found nothing wrong with it they replaced the circuit board just to make me feel better about it (they are very nice people to deal with). I'm still not comfortable with it for relic hunting and will probably reserve it for the beach, relying on my Nautilus DMCII and Fisher 1266 for Civil War relic hunting. Would appreciate hearing from others on this machine.

Overall Rating 3 stars

134

Minelab rocks!

January 01, 2005
Everyone has there own "OPINION" and thats ok but from my "REAL LIFE" experience the excalibur 800 is the best beach detector that i have used. AND remember before you can give an opinion on any detector you have to use it,some people talk bad about different brands without even using them and thats wrong.I love my excal 800 and proud of it. I also use a DFX and an ace 250 wich cant be beat for the price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

123

Minelab Excallibur 1000

December 16, 2004

I have owned this detector for 5 months now.

Took a little getting used to since my first had visual ID.

Used objects from previous finds to "fine tune" my ear before getting wet.

I hunt mostly in the salt water with this unit. So far have had NO problems. I've been wiped out by more than my share of waves and the Excalibur just keeps on finding the good stuff.

Has good depth, finds at 10 - 12 inches, and if you invest the time to learn the detector before rushing out expecting to find the big one, you'll be impressed.

Discrimination is great. Leaves the bobby pins(I can still hear them however)but finds the chains with a nice tone.

If your looking to the water, this is the unit. Spend some time ear training, knob adjusting to ID targets etc.

Treat it with a little TLC at the end of the day and it will reward you time and again.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

220

Minelab Excalibur 1000

October 27, 2004
I bought my Minelab Excalibur 1000 approx. 2 years ago. Took it to Hawaii and after endless searches on the beach and in the water, I finally gave up. Every one around me was finding jewelry, and this unit just did not. I sent it to Minelab and they replaced the motherboard and some other things. and .....it still does not work. I am ready to get rid of the unit.

I will take it to Hawaii again, and if it does not perform in 1-2 days, I will look for a local metaldetecting store and buy something else. Not sure yet what it will be, but not a Minelab. It has been a totally frustrating experience. I had lots of static in the unit while in Hawaii, Oahu. The local dealer who I met on the beach told me that this happens frequently with the Minelab.

If you are looking forward to spend a nice vacation in Hawaii metal detecting on the beaches, it is very disappointing that the unit is just not performing what the ads tell you.

Overall Rating 2 stars

149

Minelab Excalibur 1000

August 04, 2004
I've had my EXC 800 for about 2 weeks now and I love it. I have owned several other brands. I've had the Surfmaster PI which worked very well but has no discrimination. You will dig a lot of small DEEP iron targets. I also have a CZ-70 which I love as well. But it won't go diving.

Something that most of you folks appear to be overlooking is that the Excalibur is designed as an underwater unit. I get the feeling you bought it as a beach unit. Yes, it's heavy. Try using a waterproof unit underwater and you will complain about it. Why? because it will float. The Surfmaster floated and was a pain to use underwater. The Minelab doesn't float. That's the way it should be. Yes, there is a problem with the wiring when you hipmount. However, I've seen the Fisher CZ-5 wiring break several times on the same unit after hipmounting. This problem isn't isolated to Minelab. The discrimination works very well. You don't need the pinpoint function. It pinpoints just fine in discriminate mode. I guess if you are digging ferrous material maybe the pinpoint mode would be helpful. The depth is fine by me. I've dug targets 12-14 inches deep. Battery life is good. I thinks folks are being critical here. I haven't run the batteries dead yet. Here's why. I charge it up each time I'm finished with it. Average time is around 10-15 hours. Come on folks, I doubt that there are many of you are out there swinging a detector for 10 to 15 hours non-stop. Price?? A little high but what isn't besides a Bounty hunter. You get what you pay for.
I would rate this Excalibur as a top of the line unit. That's just my opinion.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

262

Excalibur 1000

May 25, 2004
This is my third machine I mostly do underwater metal detecting. My other detectors would sound off at every piece of iron that was in the water and I would have to continually adjust the discrimanation button. Which I believe costed me many rings or coins.

My new excaliber 1000 does a great job in the water and on the beach. It gives off a very loud signal on targets and goes deep. The only draw backs are the weight of the unit and the knobs on the equipment always comes lose. Also when you are recharging the battery it has no indication that it is on. Other than that it is a very reliable detector and works well in all types of soil. I am very happy with it.

Overall Rating 4 stars

190

Minelab 1000

May 01, 2004
Another Minelab piece of rubbish.

All tat and no performance!

Overall Rating 1 star

439

Minelab Excalibur 1000

January 17, 2004
This is the fourth year that i have this detector,i have found it to be the best out of the ones that i had before, Whites & Garretts,goes deep, smooth threshold,hipmount is a must and as the other guys say the problem is in the control nobs they keep slipping,but apart from that briliant machine

Overall Rating 4 stars

110

Excalibur 1000

January 13, 2004
I live approximately 5 miles from the ocean in CT. My town dates back to the 1600s. I have been using the Excal. for approx. 3-4 months constantly. It is definitely a water going detector that can also be used on dry sand, or even land. This machine has yielded nice jewelry and very old coins in both terrains. On wet sand, I?ll get depths anywhere from the surface to about 7-9 inches down, this is the same with the dry sand.

Having the BBS tech., when in all metal mode, will cancel out the threshold tone when passing over iron. Having the detector in all metal mode is automatically in pin pointer mode, and with the open faced coil you can know exactly where your target is located. A few problems that I have run across with this detector is with the knobs on the unit. After some use they either loosen, or the insides of them break. Customer service with Minelab was nice enough to give me new knobs free of charge. I have switched about 5 times, and have recently run out of back-up knobs. When detecting in shallow water or on the sand/dirt, a problem of weight occurs. The 10? coil is heavy, once in water the weight goes away. The height of the coil makes it difficult to detect in the breaks of the waves. When using the Excal. in the water, a deposit of sand will collect under the coil cover.

My only problem has been getting mixed signals. This can be avoided by removing the coil cover and rinsing it. The hip mount for this unit was not well thought out. It sits uncomfortably on your and the wire get tangled easily. But the good side is that you?re carrying a much lighter load.

Being a new metal detectorist, I thought it would take me a while to learn how to use this machine. That is not that case at all with this machine. I was out finding what I wanted to find in a few hours. Over the 3-4 months of detecting. I have found 1000?s of clad coins, and a fair amount of jewelry, the most exciting find being a 10k gold 6 diamond stone ring in the wet sand.

Overall Rating 4 stars

160

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Submit your tip for Minelab Excalibur 1000