Minelab Excalibur 1000

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.90
Based on 63 reviews

Avg. Durability: 1 star1.00
Avg. Ease of use: 1 star1.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Compare to ▼
Fisher CZ 21 $1000
Minelab Excalibur II $1200
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800

The one to have for fresh and salt water or on dry land

January 02, 2011
I've owned all the top models of every brand of metal detector. I've been detecting for over 28 years so I'm pretty sure I know what I know and what I don't know about metal detecting.

A few years ago I decided to try water hunting. I checked all the names like White, Garrett, Tesoro and Minelab. Seems Minelab has a whole bunch of fans and even some haters. I did a survey of people on one of the metal detecting forum sites and the overall opinion was that the Minelab Excalibur is the machine to have if you do salt or fresh water hunting. So I bought a Minelab 800 that was used. At first I hated the ergonomics of the Excalibur till I got a straight shaft and then it was a joy. I found tons of rings in the water with the 800 but I really wanted the new Excalibur II 1000 so I sold the 800 and got a brand new 1000.

There is quite a difference in coverage from the 8 inch coil on the 800 to the 10 inch coil on the II 1000. The newer coil on the II 1000 is thinner than the older coils so it is very easy to move through the water. Even easier than the old 800's coil.

The Excalibur II 1000 is a sound only machine and requires a good ear to hear the different sounds that each target makes. After a while it becomes easy to know what is under your coil.

Since getting the Excalibur II 1000, my finds of gold and silver in the water has exploded. In the past I've owned other brands of water detectors but they just did not perform as the Excalibur detectors have for me. I now hunt water almost exclusively but every once in a while I take the Excalibur II 1000 land hunting and even there it really shines. The multiple frequencies of the Excalibur makes for one really hot detector.

If you are thinking of getting an Excalibur II, I would highly recommend getting a straight shaft and a knob guard. The straight shaft makes the Excalibur almost weightless and really easy to swing.

The Excalibur is a professional metal detector and is used by many treasure hunters. The Mel Fisher group uses them.

I highly recommend the Excalibur II 1000.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1233

What a machine !!!!

December 08, 2010
I've been water hunting for 12 years and have tried about all the water nachines out there. I had an Excal II 800 several years ago and jumped the gun and got rid of it.... MISTAKE. I thought a PI machine was the ticket for me .... MISTAKE. Since then I just purchased another Excal 1000 and will never let it go.

The Excal has been the only machine that is stable in the waters I hunt. I thought I could get a deeper machine, but found out how unstable the others really are. I'm all for having the best machine for the conditions and found out the Excal is the one for me for depth and stability in fresh and salt.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

221

Fisher & Minelab

August 21, 2010
I have both a Fisher Coinstrike & the Excal 1000.

The Fisher loves rings which I use on dry land and the Excal is good in the water. They both do well against other detectors in similiar conditions.

So I take both to the beach in Fl.

It is important to get the correct settings for both to respond properly. Depending on ground or sand conditions, and settings they will provide good depth...and there is a tremendous amount of trash everywhere so you have to dig around it...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

281

South fl excal

August 12, 2010
I just got my excal 2 days ago I used it today on land and in ocean. I found a few coins a piece of junk earing and a matchbox car in the water. It seems to run smooth in water and on the sand, with minimal discrimination it toned out many bottle caps and foil, I dug a few up just to make sure it wasn't anything good and it wasn't.

I have only used it 1 day and there definitely are many tones to learn. It scares me to hear 2 outta 10 don't have problems, I think and hope mine is ok. I look forward to waking up early and going to use it 1st thing. I purchased it from kelly co, they were very nice. I also have a fisher f5, it always says a nickel when its a bottle cap. It doest seem like I have this problem with the excal. I hope.
I found alotta coins with the fisher and even a 14 k gold ring the 1st month I used it but it seemed very erratic and I almost didn't even dig the ring I found that day. I called fisher any they said the way it acts is normal, I don't know. I'd like to keep the fisher for an extra but if the excal holds up and keeps working good, I'll probably sell the fisher, any way I hope I got a good build on my excal and look foward to hopefully finding some nice jewelry to pay for it.
Thanks and happy hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

170

Excalibur user for 4 years now

July 31, 2010
I own both the 800 & 1000 excaliburs, older models. Both have servered me well during this time, no problems. They do have there weird tones but in time you will learn and master them, if the treasure is there, the excal will give you the best chance to find it....The new excal II's seem to have issues at about 2 bads per 10 sold, mostly coil problems. I am going to buy excal II but I'm waiting for them to clear up there Quality control problems...I'm guessing 1 year plus. Here is the excal in action, few of my vid's on the excal
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RLGLzSfsEi4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQay_zerS1U
these will give ideas of what to expect using the excals, and the new excal II
Good Luck.....................Joe/Obn

Overall Rating 5 stars!

310

Extremely Fun and Versatile All-Terrain Metal Detector

July 21, 2010
I purchased a Minelab Excalibur II about a year ago and although I'm not a "pro" and I haven't had a chance to use it near the ocean yet, I can tell you it is the most fun I've had in a long time.



I caught onto the different tones it makes early on and how to manually configure the different settings to read deeper into the ground. What I did was setup a "garden" like you've probably read elsewhere and spent a few hours learning the tones and beeps. If you use jewelry in your garden make sure to tie a string around it to a piece of wood or something just in case.



You could probably find it again with the detector but you'd hate to lose your wedding ring or something. Not that I used my wedding ring...



Anyways, I have used this on fresh water lake beaches, sand, dirt, gravel and other terrain and it seems to just work everywhere. I love it. At this point my most interesting find was an old wheat back penny that had a bullet hole through it, probably shot with a .22 rifle or something. I used a magnify glass to read the date and what not.



Happy detecting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

221

MINELAB IS MAKING CHANGES

June 06, 2010
Hello
Lee Ivester in Mooresville NC
I am by no means making any excuses for minelab
I found out they have had all there old techs
quit because they were not relocating to Detroit
in minelabs relocation move.
They are training new techs right now, I wanted to send my 800 in and have it tested and gone over.
But I decided to wait until this winter.
Try contacting your attorney general office of consumer complaints they may be able to help you.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1416

Lemon

May 01, 2010
Bought my detector for around $1000 (new) 5 years ago. It has never worked properly. Background tone is so erratic that you can't distinguish a good signal from noise. High pitch whine to low hum every time you swing the detector. Sent to factory twice for repairs but it was never fixed and cost me a lot! I probably have put less than 10 hours total on this machine over 5 years.Wrote a letter to Minelab describing my experience a few weeks ago but they didn't even pay me the courtesy of a reply. My next detector will not be a Minelab!!

Overall Rating 1 star

569

A + machine

October 03, 2009
I bought my minelab excalibur second hand over a year ago. I have used it for about 3-5 hours a day 5 days a week. Yea it was a bit heavy for the first couple of days but that wears off. This detector will detect everywhere in southland new zealand where we have some of the worst ground conditions in the world with no problems at all.It Can find small objects 15+ " where other detectors will not in field tests I have done. I use mine everywhere, beach, park,s woods, rivers, sea, ect. with amazing results.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

722

Thoroughly convinced by the results

September 16, 2009
I purchased my Excalibur II with 10-inch coil earlier this year. I bought a second one for my wife who shares my enthusiasm.
I hunted a local beaches that have been hunted before by others. I pulled coins up to 16" down - heavily corroded indicating they had been there quite some time.
I then moved into the water with it and within 30 minutes had a solid gold identification bracelet.

There is a learning curve with the Excalibur II. Go to Youtube and search for excalibur metal detector. There are several beach hunting videos that will give you a great start for free. Understand that AM = All Metal which is the "Pinpoint" setting on the excalibur.

Clive Clynick has written a number of helpful books. I purchased "Finding Gold, Silver and Coins with the Minelab Sovereign and Excalibur; Advanced Methods for Finding Gold in the water with the Minelab Excalibur; and his latest - Advanced Field Methods for the Minelab Excalibur. You will not fully understand them on the first read. Don't get frustrated - go use the machine and then re-read them. It will fall into place and you will be finding things others missed.
I have taken over $20.00 in change plus silver rings, chains, gold charms and the Gold braclet over the summer. In my humble opinion, the ability to hunt land and water, the discrimination capability provided by this instrument and the deep penetration achieved make this unit well worth the cost.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

590

Submit your review for Minelab Excalibur 1000

Submit your tip for Minelab Excalibur 1000