Whites Spectra V3 and V3i

Price: $1500
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.44
Based on 41 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.89
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.44
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Spectra V3 and V3i

V3i Beats Out the Competition!

January 28, 2011
It has now been more than a year since purchasing my V3. I resisted purchasing it originally, feeling that the DFX had been very good to me. That all changed, however, when a two week old V3 which was only used once appeared on the local classifieds at a price I could not ignore.

I quickly purchased it and sold my DFX setup. I must say that my first impression was not favorable. I could not see any advantages over the DFX and found the configuration settings of the V3 to be overwhelming. I decided to give it some time, and I am so glad I did.

This past year (2010) has been the best year of metal detecting in my 10 years at the hobby, and I owe it all to the V3i. (I upgraded the firmware of the detector from the V3 to the V3i in the fall). I have found more gold, silver, and artifacts over the past 12 months due to the V3i's ability to find small, deeply buried items that other high end detectors could not detect.

The Polar Plot feature helps to distinguish between coins, buttons and trash targets. Digital filters help penetrate mineralized soil while filtering out EMI.

Three frequencies are able to ID targets remarkably well, with a target accuracy/probability number to help even more. I prefer using one of the single frequency modes to squeak out a bit more depth.

The detector has dozens of features and configurations to maximize your detecting experience, but for the novice there are several simple, "Turn on and go" presets available.

Although many people find the V3i a bit overwhelming at first, those that stick with it and read the manual will find it is an amazing electronic device.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

969

FANTASTIC DETECTOR

November 14, 2010
The v3 is not a machine I would recommend for novices. OK,the factory programmes are good, but to get the best out of this machine you really need to be able to make several adjustments. This means you need to understand each of the parameters you change, and what is needed for the land you detect on e.g. looking for hammerds between the nails or deep coins on quiet pasture.

After 7 months with this machine it feels I can now tailor my programmes for the environment I want to search in.
The depth is great. This is a very powerful unit you can be certain of. It's also very sensitive to small items, particularly with the 22.5 khz.

Recovery speed can be fully adjusted, though the faster the recovery the less the depth(a question of physics)-Though it still hits deep when set fairly fast.
I prefer to hunt in middle frequency(7.5)-great depth and sensitivity. Here in the UK the 22.5 khz does seem susceptible to emi. I recently had mine upgraded. I read on the forums this helps with this as it's a more stable unit. I've yet to goto my roman sites and test this-before I just couldn't use single 22.5khz, though 3 frequency and 7.5 khz where nice and quiet. Still got some hammerds and small roman bronzes with the 7.5 khz.

The target id is brilliant. The polar plot is of great help in telling you it's large iron, even if the vdi number says it's a good target. The machine can give you so much information that it's exciting just digging to see if your guess was right!
Yes it's expensive, but if you are passionate about this hobby I would say this machine is a good investment.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

717

My v3i

September 15, 2010
THIS DETECTOR IS HANDS DOWN THE BEST VLF MULTY FREQUENCY DETECTOR ON THE MARKRT TODAY! I have had mine for 6 months now and yes there is a learning curve on the unit. Every trip adds to your bag of tricks, your depth and you understanding of all that whites put into this splendid machine useable features are everywhere.
All the bells and whistles have a purpose you will see in the field. Its the best detector for the money anywhere in the universe. Little green men couldn't have done better than the engineers at whites did. And service after the sale is what whites has been known for from the day they opened the doors in Sweet Home Oregon. I would have gladly paid more to have a machine this versatile. Its simply worth EVERY penny!!!!!!!!!!!!If u r a hard core th'er this unit will amaze you every day in the field. And talk in adds is cheep whites put their money where their mouths were. GET ONE TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
jeremi mann

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4133

Patience, patience . . .

August 06, 2010
I currently own a Minelab Explorer II, SE, SE pro, Whites XLT, GMT, and Fisher F75 with a wide variety of aftermarket coils. In the past, I have owned a Heathkit, White's Coinmaster II, and DetectorPro PI. This is by far the best detector I have ever used.

Recently, I took it to Ganes Creek in Alaska to hunt gold. In a site that has been constantly mined since 1906 iron trash is a real problem. The V3i's ability to discriminate iron and other metals is unparalleld. One day I averaged three holes dug per nugget. With the White's GMT I constantly dug "iffy" targets that were iron.

Having said that, a word of caution. It is unlike any detector I have seen previously. If you try to use the same detecting techniques that work well with other machines, you will be frustrated. It took me two full days of using the detector and collaborating with another V3i owner to finally "get" the machine. The 3 by 3 id method is unique. Stick with the factory settings and only adjust the volume. Use the prospecting mode for nuggets and not coin and jewelry.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7910

Spectra V3 GrabA** Junk

April 13, 2010
I had a whites DFX 300 it was a great detector and I found a few real cool coins with it ... I really liked the pinpoint on the detector when the spectra v3 came out, I sold the DFX and got the spectra v3 for 1500 ... I noticed that I couldn't detect gold right and couldn't pinpoint the target as well as the DFX could... I reset the system to defaults and placed 3 gold rings in my yard and it couldn't detect them... maybe I had a damn DUD ?????

I just sold this one on ebays to buy a mindlab e trac ... I guess I will give this a whirl .... if you would like to respond to me great @ kentuckytreasurehunter@gmail.com or myspace.com/kentuckytreasurehunter I own a computer store and 6 months out the year I'm the guitar tech for a rock and roll band on tour called Black Stone Cherry on Road Runner Records... Thanks ... Kevin

Overall Rating 2 stars

36123

Too Much Money For Alot Of Nothing!

April 02, 2010
$1500 bucks! We all love metal detecting but that much for a detector? Seems like whites has started dealing with all the high rollers and forgot about us folks who are not rich. I'm tired of the nickel and dime shell game. Buy this detector for $1200 and if you want more depth buy this $300 dollar coil! I hear of guys wanting a big foot coil for the v3s. Well for $1500 bucks that thing should pull china men out of the hole! If you want a good detector buy a whites eagle2 sl or a spectrum. They can give this one a run for it's money! I see they are starting too pile up on ebay like the prizm lines are! tesoro and garrett are getting more competative with deeper machines for $600 dollars or more less than the v3. I wonder if a jar of vasoline comes with the bonus package when you buy one!

Overall Rating 3 stars

7699

V 3 DETECTOR, AWESOME MACHINE

March 24, 2010
I have hunted over 30 years, bounty hunter, whites xlt, and whites dfx, my yard the site, 1890 farm house in Medinah, Ill. I have gotten some nice coins, mercury dimes, barber half dollars dfx pounding my yard, nothing showed up, cleaned out my yard, V3, with eclipse shooter, 4x6, in 45 minutes, 1917 mercury dime, 4 wheat pennies, all earlier 1920's, all 6 inches deep, V3, awesome machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5412

Great Detector

March 23, 2010
I've owned my V3 for 2 months now. I've owned a Minelab Explorer xs, GTI2500, Cortes Tesoro, and a DFX.
To compare this to them.
Deep as the Explorer on silver.
Deeper than the DFX and that was with a 10x14 on the DFX.
Incredible Nickel machine.
Massive amount of tweaking can be done to every aspect of this machine. From Tones to recovery to depth. Awesome ability to determine what you are going to dig before digging by learning to read the 3 frequencies and what they tell.
Worth it if a person wants to take the time to learn and study the machine's capabilities.
I like all the other machines but have to say this out does them all. And I still have allot to learn.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

596

Best yet

February 05, 2010
I have used lots of different detectors in my life. I have used alot of the whites brands starting with the 5900 di pro. I had the dfx for a long time and made some really good finds with it. Then came the V3. This machine is incredible.
For what I want out of a detector...there is nothing like it out there! I do not just hunt silver coins as some people want, I hunt everything I can find thats old and some new stuff. This machine will let me adjust and do pretty much what I want. And I am not just talking about the colors and looks. If you are new to detecting or not good with computer type stuff or just want a turn on and go machine, I wouldnt recommend this one. You can turn on and go but it will not be at its full capacity. I will have this detector for years to come without having to buy a newer one. I dont think I would want to dig much deeper than this machine has already had me digging!
Price wise...You get what you pay for. I would have paid 2500 for this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

8016

Spectra V3 a great detector!

January 30, 2010
I've been detecting with Whites equipment since 1978. The V3 is a huge step above anything I have ever used. It can be used right out of the box but offers more. Don't expect to learn the depth of this machine over night. Read, watch the videos, ask questions on the Whites forum, spend time learning the language of this detector and you will be rewarded with amazing finds. The price is more than worth it. I would buy one again in a heart beat.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

519


Submit your review for Whites Spectra V3 and V3i