Whites Spectra V3 and V3i

Price: $1500
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.42
Based on 38 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.83
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Spectra V3 and V3i

Compare to ▼
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Deus XP $2000
Teknetics T2 Ltd $1250
Minelab E-TRAC $1500
Minelab Explorer SE $1200
Minelab Explorer II $1200

Patience, patience . . .

August 06, 2010
I currently own a Minelab Explorer II, SE, SE pro, Whites XLT, GMT, and Fisher F75 with a wide variety of aftermarket coils. In the past, I have owned a Heathkit, White's Coinmaster II, and DetectorPro PI. This is by far the best detector I have ever used.

Recently, I took it to Ganes Creek in Alaska to hunt gold. In a site that has been constantly mined since 1906 iron trash is a real problem. The V3i's ability to discriminate iron and other metals is unparalleld. One day I averaged three holes dug per nugget. With the White's GMT I constantly dug "iffy" targets that were iron.

Having said that, a word of caution. It is unlike any detector I have seen previously. If you try to use the same detecting techniques that work well with other machines, you will be frustrated. It took me two full days of using the detector and collaborating with another V3i owner to finally "get" the machine. The 3 by 3 id method is unique. Stick with the factory settings and only adjust the volume. Use the prospecting mode for nuggets and not coin and jewelry.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7510

Spectra V3 GrabA** Junk

April 13, 2010
I had a whites DFX 300 it was a great detector and I found a few real cool coins with it ... I really liked the pinpoint on the detector when the spectra v3 came out, I sold the DFX and got the spectra v3 for 1500 ... I noticed that I couldn't detect gold right and couldn't pinpoint the target as well as the DFX could... I reset the system to defaults and placed 3 gold rings in my yard and it couldn't detect them... maybe I had a damn DUD ?????

I just sold this one on ebays to buy a mindlab e trac ... I guess I will give this a whirl .... if you would like to respond to me great @ kentuckytreasurehunter@gmail.com or myspace.com/kentuckytreasurehunter I own a computer store and 6 months out the year I'm the guitar tech for a rock and roll band on tour called Black Stone Cherry on Road Runner Records... Thanks ... Kevin

Overall Rating 2 stars

36122

Too Much Money For Alot Of Nothing!

April 02, 2010
$1500 bucks! We all love metal detecting but that much for a detector? Seems like whites has started dealing with all the high rollers and forgot about us folks who are not rich. I'm tired of the nickel and dime shell game. Buy this detector for $1200 and if you want more depth buy this $300 dollar coil! I hear of guys wanting a big foot coil for the v3s. Well for $1500 bucks that thing should pull china men out of the hole! If you want a good detector buy a whites eagle2 sl or a spectrum. They can give this one a run for it's money! I see they are starting too pile up on ebay like the prizm lines are! tesoro and garrett are getting more competative with deeper machines for $600 dollars or more less than the v3. I wonder if a jar of vasoline comes with the bonus package when you buy one!

Overall Rating 3 stars

7596

V 3 DETECTOR, AWESOME MACHINE

March 24, 2010
I have hunted over 30 years, bounty hunter, whites xlt, and whites dfx, my yard the site, 1890 farm house in Medinah, Ill. I have gotten some nice coins, mercury dimes, barber half dollars dfx pounding my yard, nothing showed up, cleaned out my yard, V3, with eclipse shooter, 4x6, in 45 minutes, 1917 mercury dime, 4 wheat pennies, all earlier 1920's, all 6 inches deep, V3, awesome machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5412

Great Detector

March 23, 2010
I've owned my V3 for 2 months now. I've owned a Minelab Explorer xs, GTI2500, Cortes Tesoro, and a DFX.
To compare this to them.
Deep as the Explorer on silver.
Deeper than the DFX and that was with a 10x14 on the DFX.
Incredible Nickel machine.
Massive amount of tweaking can be done to every aspect of this machine. From Tones to recovery to depth. Awesome ability to determine what you are going to dig before digging by learning to read the 3 frequencies and what they tell.
Worth it if a person wants to take the time to learn and study the machine's capabilities.
I like all the other machines but have to say this out does them all. And I still have allot to learn.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

576

Best yet

February 05, 2010
I have used lots of different detectors in my life. I have used alot of the whites brands starting with the 5900 di pro. I had the dfx for a long time and made some really good finds with it. Then came the V3. This machine is incredible.
For what I want out of a detector...there is nothing like it out there! I do not just hunt silver coins as some people want, I hunt everything I can find thats old and some new stuff. This machine will let me adjust and do pretty much what I want. And I am not just talking about the colors and looks. If you are new to detecting or not good with computer type stuff or just want a turn on and go machine, I wouldnt recommend this one. You can turn on and go but it will not be at its full capacity. I will have this detector for years to come without having to buy a newer one. I dont think I would want to dig much deeper than this machine has already had me digging!
Price wise...You get what you pay for. I would have paid 2500 for this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7916

Spectra V3 a great detector!

January 30, 2010
I've been detecting with Whites equipment since 1978. The V3 is a huge step above anything I have ever used. It can be used right out of the box but offers more. Don't expect to learn the depth of this machine over night. Read, watch the videos, ask questions on the Whites forum, spend time learning the language of this detector and you will be rewarded with amazing finds. The price is more than worth it. I would buy one again in a heart beat.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

509

Very nice features, Very High tech

January 29, 2010
I've had this detector only a few weeks now, and it is very much a different machine than my old DFX, it is much deeper, and the target ID is really good, I really enjoy the graph feature that shows size and probable target and I LOVE the wireless headphones, I agree with some of the other users that the price is sort of outrageous, but I bought mine used for much less than Whites retail price, I also agree that the stock DD coil is marginal at best, but I acquired a 950 V rated coil and a super 12 V rated coil and those 2 are all I will probably ever need.
There is quite a learning curve to this machine, so certainly give it some time before you give up on it if you buy one.

Overall Rating 4 stars

424

OVERPRICED MONSTER

December 24, 2009
If Whites wants to invent and sell a detector where you read lots of new meter information, it should be accurate. After looking/hearing all the new bells and whistles, does it find more? All I can say is - Not yet! I should have tested one before buying. After all is said and done, it better find more than my $100 detector (which it does not) or something is wrong here. Yes, White's needs to pay the bills so it's up to the buyers to send a message - IT'S TOO EXPENSIVE!

Overall Rating 3 stars

5174

Happy Whites Owner

November 01, 2009
I purchased a new Spectra V3 and within hours was out searching for lost gold and much to my suprize within ten minutes I found a gold wedding band . This machine is simple to operate . As a Old friend once told me "You Pay with Peanuts you get a Monkey to do the Job ! " So this machine is worth every penny I paid for it! Very pleased owner .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5625

Submit your review for Whites Spectra V3 and V3i

Submit your tip for Whites Spectra V3 and V3i