Garrett Pro Pointer

Price: $150
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.68
Based on 38 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.38
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.25
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Pro Pointer

Compare to ▼
Nokta Pointer $139
Makro Pointer $125
Vibra-Quatic 2 Pinpointer $169.95
Nokta RS Pinpointer $130
Detectorpro Pistol Probe $170
Garrett Pocket Probe $120

Best Handheld Made

September 14, 2011
I have owned every model made and this is the best. It is very well built and Garrett backs it up if it ever does break. Easy to change battery. Gets great battery life. Loud enough to hear with my headphones on unlike other pinpointers. Vibrates in conjunction with speaker. Closer to target, more intense vibration. I detect almost every day and I give this little gem a workout. I would be lost without it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

180

Best you can get!

September 02, 2011
I've had a bunch of pin pointers from 15 buck to 200 dollar. And this one is the best by far, and built like a tank. Water proof, shock, and dust proof... The best stand alone pointer you can buy!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

130

Pro Pointer is the best handheld bar none

July 18, 2011
I own several handheld pointers and although the others work well the Garrett Pro Pointer works the best. I highly recommend the Pro Pointer as your first and best currently available pointer. You can not go wrong with this pointer.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

133

The Best

June 17, 2011
The best what else is there to say!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

75

Great Pinpointer!

March 01, 2011
I have used the Garrett Pro-Pointer for going on two years now and it hasn't caused me any real problems.
It comes with its own holster which holds the Pro-pointer securely and is ruggedly built. The Pro-pointer itself is built the same way, strong, compact, light weight and meant to give you years of trouble free use.

Depth wise it will air test a penny out to about 1 1/2 inches and is very good at finding your target as its osculating tone will rapidly increase in volume the closer you get to the target.
It is also water resistance and can be made 100% waterproof by covering up the two tiny little speaker holes with "Plumber's Goop" which also helps quiet it down. I have found that the LED light is barely bright enough to use in low light conditions and the Pro-pointer won't hit on very small gold, but for everyday use it works just great and is a wonderful little pinpointer!

Oh, by the way you will get several months or more use out of one 9 volt battery, but carry a spare as it will give out without much advance warning... Good hunting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

361

Surpasses all other hand-held pinpointers!!

February 07, 2011
Pinpointers are an essential tool while metal detecting in my opinion. I do not like spending valuable detecting time sifting through dirt piles looking for tiny targets. For me, it is dig, remove the plug, sweep the coil over the hole and the plug, and then use the pinpointer to find the target.

The Garrett Propointer has shortened this process even more with it's scraping blade, which is also sensitive to metals. Push the button to activate your propointer after removing the plug and sweep the blade around the perimeter of the hole or the top of the dirt pile. When the Propointer beeps, simply slide the pinpointer back until the target is at the tip! This feature alone makes it worth the investment, but it is also more durable than other "button activated" brands of pinpointers.

That other leading brand push button pinpointer failed the first time mud got into the button mechanism, but not the Garrett! I have completely submersed the Propointer in wet mud and it still works. I have had it so long, the tip is wearing down and the button is wearing off, but it still works like a charm!

Another great feature of the Propointer is the on/off switch which allows you to switch it off to avoid EMI "chatter" with your detector. No more waiting 60 seconds for the auto-off feature found on some other pinpointers.

The LED flashlight has helped out when detecting after dusk and is a nice bonus.

It always fits right into the included belt holster, no more going back to look for the dropped pinpointer!

I never go detecting without my Garrett Propointer at my side!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

281

A Great Pinpointer

February 06, 2011
The Propointer has been with me on every land hunt I've done since I bought it. This device makes retrieving targets so much simpler! It will penetrate about 2" into the ground and gives you a combination of vibration and beeping as you get close to the target. No guess work here. And there's no settings to worry about. One on/off button and off you go. Be careful as the Propointer will sound off if it gets too close to your detector, your finds pouch, or your digging tool if its metal!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

173

Simply great!

February 05, 2011
Had mine for about 3 months and is invaluable! Really makes target recovery easier. Especially useful when you are hunting an area with very old targets that you definitely don't want to nick with your digging tool. Very easy to use and very durable been dropped a few times on concrete with no ill effects. Only downside is it could be a little louder or have a more aggressive vibrate as it can be hard to hear through a good pair of detector headphones.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

227

Submit your review for Garrett Pro Pointer

Submit your tip for Garrett Pro Pointer