Whites Spectrum XLT

Whites Spectrum XLT Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.55
Based on 47 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.80
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Spectrum XLT

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

The legendery vlf the diablo µmax

August 08, 2017
This machine is Unique and Beast who has made this metal detector put a lot of dedication on it and made EQUALITY AND POWERFULL Beautiful machine and weighs nothing compare to others metal detectors. Perfect for GOLD NUGGETS. If you detect a hotrock just (switch hotrock and Leave it normal Hot Rock Adjust Knob) FIRST for Ground Balance put the ground balance knob in the middle with a machine off now Turn the GROUND knob clockwise 4 full turns RIGTH>>. Set the THRESHOLD knob full down <> until you hear a steady background hum, then stop.
You want it to be clearly audible, but not loud. Best in the middle Close to 1 o'clock you need to use headphones for better Accuracy I recommend small headphones for better sound for this metal detector. NOW Gently "bob" the coil up and down 1 to 4 inches above the ground surface in a spot that looks typical, and where there is probably no buried metal. Keep the coil level and parallel to the surface of the ground as you raise and lower it. NOW Slowly rotate the GROUND knob counterclockwise DOWN <> until you are familiar with the sound and feel of the null zone. Then set the GROUND knob in the middle of the null zone. You are ready to begin searching.

NOTE: You MUST use the GROUND knob correctly or you will hear the sounds of the ground everywhere. Hopefully I explained And hopefully that helped -_-?

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Whites spectrum xlt

September 06, 2015
I have been detecting since mid 70's. I have used just about every detector out there and I still come back to the Whites Spectrum and my whites 6000di sl pro. You just can't beat GEB discrimination. Most detectors use TR and Pulse and whites was the first to use GEB and it's still the best to date. Find you a good XLT and you won't ever need anything else. The VCO pinpointing is awesome. I have dug silver walking liberty halves at easy 10 to 11 inches. I won't ever waste anymore time or money on any other detector. This is as good as it gets.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
3217

Very impressed

January 13, 2015
This is one great machine! I picked one up and it's already found some cool relics, silver and coins. Awesome discrimination in trashy areas.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2813

Excellent machine !

July 13, 2014
One of the best deepest machines ever! I have found a German helmet six feet deep. It has ready to go programs for the novice but you can also play with it and make hundreds of changes, its so versatile that you cannot get bored. I have a dfx also which is the same as good but with an extra frequency that makes it a bit better on gold and a couple other features that make it more stable when I crank it all the way up. THE BEST MACHINES MONEY CAN BUY!!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1443

Spectrum xlt 1.1

June 08, 2013
Just the best machine ever, once mastered it can be what ever you want it to be, a switch on and go machine, or program it to suit what ever site your working on.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2910

Detecting France

April 01, 2012
Been using the XLT for some years now, after detecting for some 25 years. Had all sorts before the XLT, but the good old XLT is by far the best detector I ever had.
I've got it set up with a program suitable for the type of ground over here (relics deep), and don't fiddle with it anymore. I guess that's the trick, don't try to change to much in the settings, if it works fine it works fine! The problem with a complex detector like the XLT or the DFX is that you are always afraid you detecting in the wrong mode, got something wrong in the settings. Just don't go crazy on the settings, if it works fine its works fine and don't change anything.
Another thing, try digging the low VDI's, often these are good targets too! Found a nice chuncky bronze fibula that only came up as a 3 on the VDI!

Overall Rating 4 stars

516

Treasure hunter

October 22, 2011
It's simple. I've been treasure hunting for over thirty years. I have a real job, and now my findings are matching my annual salary. (AND I HAVE A REALLY GOOD JOB). I have nearly 30 detectors and the rule is, "LEARN YOUR MACHINE". The White's XLT is a manipulative detector. You can change and modify programs better than any other, but you have to know what you are doing. That comes with experience, and it will go deeper.
The question everyone has, AND I MEAN the Hard question is, can my purchase pay me back my investment? The answer is,YES, if you are a winner.

Research your target area and work it like a job you love to do. I worked two years finding nickels and dimes, and worked one afternoon finding $12,500.00. To date my findings are (Sold prices, not numismatic values) $201,057.00 and I do it with my wife and kids, which means the value of my life is ten fold.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

8577

XLT is the best machine ever

October 13, 2011
Programing is the ticket on this machine, no other machine can compare. Have used them all over the years and the XLT is by far the best.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4910

Iconic xlt

August 20, 2011
Bought a used xlt in great condition, took a little longer for the learning curve to kick in, but its worth taking your time and reading the excellent manual. Top marks to whites!
Have used Tesoro, Minelab C-scope, Fisher and these machines are all great, but I believe that every machine out there really wants to be an XLT, quite simply a lot of machine for a little money.

I just cant put it down, and when you cant get out, your still messing with it at home, changing programs and trying them out. Definitely one of the best and most enjoyable machines ever made, and one of the best I have used, (don't like the coin program though, too much discrim. )but there are lots of fine programs out there to load up instead.

p.s. Will buy a new one and put it in the cupboard, just in case they stop making them, now that would be a REAL BIG MISTAKE, just get one, you'll love it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

466

Great Deep Relic Machine

January 01, 2011
I used the Spectrum XLT for about 4 years crawling the hill of Vicksburg. Bought it used for $350 from a preacher and it was the best machine I ever owned.
I've dug tons of relics and shells with it. Very hot on iron and shell. Darn good on brass and lead too.
Made my best find in 2000 with it, a medium lead filled CS buckle pictured in E&W Treasures April 2000. Found in a CS camp beat to death with all kinds of machines. Whites even used my pic in their add that month.

Just scroll on down to Relic Mode and do a little tweaking and just glide that coil all over and up next to trees and gullies ever so smoothly and listen. Just an awesome machine. You don't have to whip it like a step child like other machines. Best deal going these days with everyone claiming to have the best and selling over priced plastic junk for upwards of $800-$1000. Its like they set their detector prices like gas prices at the pump, future digging I suppose.

A good used XLT can be had for a realistic price of $300-$400. If your like me and are sick of every detector maker claiming theirs is the best nowadays just because they put a bigger than 8" DD coil on their new machines and call it "revolutionary", then get a XLT. It was way ahead of its time and its better than a lot of the top of the line crap today. Get one, you won't regret it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1347

Submit your review for Whites Spectrum XLT

Submit your tip for Whites Spectrum XLT