Whites Spectrum XLT

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.56
Based on 48 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.83
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Spectrum XLT

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Garrett Deepseakers Lasting Quality

August 05, 2005
In a recent article in a well respected treasure hunting magazine the author mentioned the outstanding depth performance of the Garrett Deepseaker (ADS, Groundhog, etc.) detectors of the '70s and 80's. Having been involved in this hobby for the past 32 years I have learned a thing or two from being out in the field using various models of metal detectors. New top of the line metal detectors from respected manufacturers have incorporated the technological advances of our time which bring greater advantages to recreational coin and relic hunters. That being said, this technology has its price. The fact that the capabilities of the Deepseaker models is still being referenced in comparison to all metal detectors speaks volumes about their quality.

I have owned a Groundhog ADS and it was a sophisticated piece of electronic equipment and not basic metal detecting circuitry being passed off as a metal detector. Since these machines are old school technology they can be purchased for a fraction of their original retail costs ($25-$75) and are truly found treaure when one can be aquired. I highly recommend these detectors for someone wanting to explore the hobby without spending a fortune up front to start out. A cheaper new detector may not have the capability to deliver the performance that is the Garrett hallmark. The Garrett Ace series are reasonably priced high technology and are also great introductions to this hobby. The inroduction of new metal detectors does not overshadow the fortune in finds that was uncovered by earlier models. The quality of these detectors has survived for decades beause of the results they have achieved in the hands of users with various levels of ability. I am not a metal detector dealer nor do I have a personal or financial connection to Garrett electronics. My other detector is a Bounty Hunter.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1557

XLT is a Great Detector!

July 26, 2005
I've run the XLT now for only a month and really am impressed with the overall quality and useability. I coinshoot in parks with alot of trash 60% of the time and with the 5.3" Black Max coil I have a hot set-up. I originally was set on getting the MXT but after talking it over with my local dealer I went with the XLT and don't regret my decision. Much quieter in trashy areas and finds stuff as deep as I would care to dig. Proven custom programs are available at various websites on the internet and work well but so do the 5 programs permanently loaded in the XLT. Definitely gives you the option to power up and go or when I feel like it I can customize the settings. The whole fear factor around adjusting the programming is way overblown and doesn't even have to be used if you care not to. The only concideration for me when I purchased mine concerned whether I liked the push button menu screens or whether I would like rotary knobs for settings instead. I got used to the screens and using the shortcuts for common adustments within the first couple of days. Go with the XLT you won't regret it

Overall Rating 5 stars!

362

EXceLenT detector

July 19, 2005
I have been MD'ing for 5 years now. I started out with the Whites Classic 2 SL and did very well with that.I traded that one in for a brand new Spectrum XLT. I found more nickels with the XLT that with the Classic 2. You have many different ways to see what you have detected. First I listen for the sharp and loud distinct BEEP. Then I look at the monitor and make my judgement call. then I squeeze the pinpoint trigger - and zero in on the target and it also gives me an accurate depth.The only downside to this detector is its expensive price.You will love this detector- I think it even looks better than the garretts (Garrett models remind me of weed-wackers).

Overall Rating 4 stars

163

A must have

July 11, 2005
The XLT is designed to keep functionality in differrent situations. I have used the XLT for 6 years now and have only a few issues.

Pros: This machine will find many targets on average of 4 inches deep, some targets can be much deeper depending on their size and composition. For instance, a quarter can be easily read at 7 inches whereas a dime may not. Overall the XLT has a huge amount of settings making it versatille and effective on most terrains. It also makes it easy to recognize trash so you don't waste time digging it. Relic hunting or park scavanging- this is great choice.

Cons: You may have a long and difficult learning curve but it will eventually pay off. As another read wrote- "get a beach specific detector if your going to use it on the beach" The XLT will work well on dry sand, even in dual mode, and will produce great finds. The wet sand can be hunted but it's very difficult and you lose a lot of the machines capability to find stuff. On wet sand only really loud targets such as quarters can be read making Salt water is a huge NO NO! As soon as a wave breaks and sends a small amount of saltwater under your coil the machine "flips out". It's absolutely no good around saltwater.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

301

XLT-------XCELLENT

June 13, 2005
I have used a Garrett Master Hunter CX,Garrett 400,350,Bounty Hunter Landstar.I also have rented a Fisher CZ-5 WHICH IS VERY NICE BY THE WAY!The XLT has the most information on the target than any of the detectors Ive mentioned.If your a newby and you want a whites try the QXT.The basic adjustments are about the same as the XLT.Or get the XLT and just use the basic adjustments.Get the ground balance,threshhold and sensitivity right and your on your way.I think its that simple, I think.After that the control and balance are excellent and adjustments are infinit.PINPOINTING IS RIGHT ON THE MONEY!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

191

Great Detector

April 07, 2005
Excellent coin machine. It beats the pants off of the Garrett GTAx 1250 that I had. Great discrimination, accurate target I.D., above average depth. The XLT can be configured to suit the user, not the other way around. I don't know what types of problems the other guy was having that he had to constantly adjust his machine, but I assure you that is not the case with mine, or for others I know that own one. I didn't think the machine was too difficult to learn and there was absolutly a small learning curve. But, nothing too steep that an average weekend detectorist can't overcome rapidly.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

250

ALL AROUND GREAT DETECTOR

February 17, 2005
I USE MY XLT FOR RELIC AND COIN DETECTING AND HAVE BEEN VERY SATISFIED WITH IT. BEFORE MY XLT
I HAD A GARRETT CX3 GMH WHICH IS ALSO A GOOD DETECTOR BUT THE WHITE XLT IS MORE COMFORTABLE AND DEEPER DETECTOR. I'M ALWAYS LOOKING A BETTER DETECTOR SO I JUST PURCHASED A MINELAB EXPLORER II BUT I WILL BE KEEPING MY XLT BECAUSE I KNOW IT IS A GREAT DETECTOR.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

92

Whites Spectrum XLT

October 06, 2004
I have used the Whites Spectrum Eagle for 12 years and loved it.

I bought the XLT this year. Yes the XLT is a bit tougher to master or understand what its saying, but well worth the effort.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

231

Whites Spectrum XLT

October 02, 2004
Wonderful detector, very sensitive to small coin, great depth with Bluemax 950 small wire, best pinpointing.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

191

Whites Spectrum XLT

July 22, 2004
ive used the XLT since it hit the market. theres not a better machine made. it is NOT a beach machine.

ive found generally, the bad reviews on it are all by peple who tried to use it on the beach. it CAN be used in this way, but you have to set it up for beach hunting. also, why can't any of you use "puncuation"?....you know, those little funny shaped things you see on the end of sentences? <-(like this?)

i would imagine that its the guys who have no punctuation at the end of there sentences that are having the problems, it looks as if they didnt finish the first grade! <--see that...thats "punctuation".

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1345

Submit your review for Whites Spectrum XLT

Submit your tip for Whites Spectrum XLT