Tesoro Silver uMax

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.95
Based on 60 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Silver uMax

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344

Coin Magnet

March 15, 2010
Had for 3 months and its great for the tot lots. I got the 4" sniper coil to get really close to gym equipment. Have large clad count and even my first ring. Also got 12x10 coil and have found it gives larger coverage but only about 1" depth on quarters over the 8" stock coil. Great for relic hunting. Belt buckle at 9" Deepest measured quarter 5 1/2". Found you need fresh batteries for larger coils is my only concern. Can't go wrong with this unit.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

121

Perfection in a small package!

February 26, 2010
I have had my Silver UMAX for almost a year now and it has become my favorite detector for hunting coins and jewelry. It is light weight, very well built, and will out hunt detectors costing several hundred dollars more. If you want a detector that can do it all, then the Silver uMax is the machine you want.
I suggest you buy the small 5.75" coil for trashy areas, it will surprise you with what it will find in the trash that the standard coil can't see from masking. Read the reviews on the Silver uMax, it is highly rated in every review. If you are looking for a new detector give this one a try, you won't be sorry.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

242

Great Detector

January 26, 2010
Great little all-terrain detector. Hot on silver coins and I have gotten good solid signals on quarters at seven inches. Discrimination should be set to your unique environment. Very simple to operate and a dream to swing. Good balance and very light.C ant go wrong with the peace of mind of a lifetime warranty. With a sniper coil you could lay waist to the local parks and tot lots. Very well built, and the company backs it up.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

141

Cheap, deep, and powerful

October 02, 2009
The Tesoro Silver Umax is the finest metal detector you can buy for the price. It was very easy to learn and very effective right out of the box. I haven't found vast treasures yet, but I know that if it's down there, the Umax will find it. It has great battery life, it's very light weight, and it breaks down quickly for storage. In beach sand I have consistantly hit targets more than one foot deep. If this thing had any more power, I would need a bigger shovel! The lifetime warranty just seals the deal, but I doubt you will ever need it. Great product.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

191

Having fun

January 09, 2009
It took me forever to decide what to get but having read all the review and doing countless hours of research, I chose the Silver uMax.
I couldnt be happier. This thing is so easy to use. It takes a little time to learn what its telling you, as im finding out, but i think that goes for any detector.
Ive had it less than a week and have found close to 40 coins in my neighborhood alone. Also lots of cool little relics as well.
If this detector fits your budget you should choose it. I was thinking about the Garrett Ace 250 and am so glad I didnt go that way. Those things are so cheaply made and from what ive learned recently, cant compare to the performance of this Tesoro.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5311

Setting up this machine is simple

December 04, 2008
Setting this machine just below foil in discriminate and sensitivity around 6 to 8 and you got a mean machine. These settings are perfect for me on finding gold and silver rings and silver coins too. I certainly don't mind digging pull tabs and pop tops. Does the body good for exercise.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

382

Tesoro silver umax

October 25, 2008
I am new to the hobby, about 1 month actually, I have pulled out over 100 coins including my first 1925 Buffalo Indian Head Nickel, I also found my first gold ring the other day at an old school yard! This is one powerful detector! Metal detecting is a hobby that you have to have great patience with. Its the thrill of the hunt that keeps bringing me back. Yeah your gonna have days where you bring back nothing but junk, but there is no detector out there that says X marks the spot, here's your treasure! Remember nothing in life comes easy. I would pull a hundred pull tabs to find one gold ring! Keep swinging that Detector!! Dave in Buffalo

Overall Rating 5 stars!

192

Goldfinger in texas...silver umax

October 04, 2008
Dear goldfinger, in order to find gold rings and jewelry you must be willing to dig aluminum pulltabs cans and other junk. Gold falls into the same category of most junk metals. I have this machine and enjoy it very much. I learned to listen to the tones that silver and gold coins and jewelry make. This is a wonderful machine, success depends on how you use this machine. I have made some tremendous finds with mine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

172

A Distinctly Unique Detector

August 15, 2008
The Silver uMax is simple to setup but it's also a very serious powerful detector for all types of land hunting.

I tended to shy away from it for years because I buy the top name brand's most expensive models. I viewed the Silver uMax more as a toy for children to play with at the kiddie parks.

One day I purchased a used Silver just to see what it would do. I was shocked! It's as deep as the top machines and in some ways better than some costing many times more.

The Silver with the 12x10 inch concentric coil will beat or match detectors costing over $1000.

Go slowly and listen for those nice smooth whispers from 2 directions. Set sensitivity on 9-10 and discrimination on FOIL.

The Silver uMax fitted with the 12x10 coil will find coins and rings in the 9-12 inch depth range and that's no joke.

It's way faster than the Minelab Sovereign GT, and with the 12x10 coil, just as deep as the Nautilus IIB with 10 or 15 inch coils (probably deeper).

Someone on team Tesoro should use this setup at the next GNRS competition.

It's a winner!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

546

Good for the price but....

August 05, 2008
They should call it the "tab finder". Doesn't discriminate against aluminum AT ALL, if you turn it up enough to ignore tabs you'll miss jewelry. I've learned to dig every "tab", and now and then I find an earring, etc. Plan on digging lots of junk.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1379

Submit your review for Tesoro Silver uMax

Submit your tip for Tesoro Silver uMax