Tesoro Silver uMax

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.95
Based on 60 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Silver uMax

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344

Super coin sniffer

August 11, 2007
Dear folks I've noticed some good reviews on this little machine. I noticed one reviewer gave it three stars as it would not pick up a gold ring. I need to point out this machine is a motion discriminator which means you have to keep the coil moving to detect a coin or ring. When detecting use a slow sweep speed and then slow down some more. This works for me. Take time to know and learn your machine. My silver hasn't let me down yet. Its the only machine I need.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

230

Tesoro silver umax

August 07, 2007
my two boys gave the silver umax to me for christmas. i use it here in town at the ball parks and city parks.it has great sensitivity and excellent discrimation.it would be great for the beginner or seasoned professional treasure hunter as well.i have no complaints about this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

500

Tesoro silver umax

August 06, 2007
If you are entering the hobby of metal detecting this is a terrific beginner model. it is moderately priced and can take on the big boys. i think anyone would appreciate its ease of use. the only thing i would change about it is the detector stand. it could be bigger.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

370

GREAT DETECTOR

May 24, 2007
I love the Silver. It is definitely underrated. It looks good, sounds good, discriminates well, and has good depth. This detector gets the job done as well as most high end models, in my opinion. Don't dismiss this one as a beginner model. I've been detecting for 10 years with many other detectors and have every bit of confidence in this little powerhouse.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

160

SILVER uMAX

March 06, 2007
I have been detecting since 1982, for coins, beach, and relics. This is, without doubt, the most user-friendly and fool-proof machine that I have ever used. I recently hunted a Civil War campsite with overwhelming results. It is wonderful in "trashy" areas, and can "snipe" out the good targets. I had to turn the discrimination to 5 cent, and still dug a few rusty shop-made nails, but found some great relics. Love it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

141

Disappointment with the Silver Micro Max

January 12, 2007
I read previous reviews in this and other forum and thought this would be a great machine. Imagine my disapointment when I ran into the following.
1. Placing the skid plate on it caused it to chatter at any setting as if it were over very mineralized soil.
2. Worse, it wouldn't regognize a gold ring on the surface in all metal mode, yet it wouldn't discriminate against anything alluminum at any discrimination setting. It had me digging pull tabs from 8 Inches down, but no Jewelry.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1163

SILVER U MAX

March 14, 2006
Best detector out there for the money hands down. I have been detecting many years and have used several different machines and the Tesoro's always suprise me. I bought the silver u max at a bargin price and was amazed at the performance. First of all the sensitivity is excellent, underated in other forums. Second the discrimination is right on the mark. And last the lightweight design and single battery . The whites prizam II will not come close to this machine , nor the Ace 250. If you are on a budget and want to stay around the $250.00 range , then you need a Tesoro silver u max , nothing in this price range is better.
First day out with this unit landed a silver ring and lots of coins. The Garrett GTA 350 is compareable , but not as sensitive , or depth capable . Detectors used in the past , Garrett , Whites , Bounty Hunter , Compass , and of course Tesoro. In closing I would say that if you get familiar with this detector , then you will find whatever you are looking for if it is there to begin with. I have hunted with a partner with his Whites XLT and was not impressed with his finds , but he was overwhelmed with my finds. Knowledge is power , get familiar with your detector and your finds will be much more rewarding. Why buy the hype with expensive machines , when you can run with the best of them for a fraction?

Overall Rating 5 stars!

831

Silver Umax

July 19, 2005
I bought this detector for my son but decided to give it a test drive myself at a local park which I had recently combed through with a whites xl pro. I had "cleaned house" with my whites. I turned it on and set the sensitivety at about 8 and used disc. mode, I found all sorts of coins and a necklace in a area which I knew I had went over with the white's.

It is a great lil get it and go detetcor for the parks. its like taking your sports car out for a ride from time to time without taking the Cadillac and attracting attention.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

230

Silver Umax

February 10, 2005
Don't be fooled by what you read about this machine. Although it is often advertised as an intro level machine, it is the one I find myself grabbing most of the time I go out. I also own an Eldorado and a Fisher 1266, and while I'm sure the Silver doesn't have quite the depth of those machines, its ease of use and discrimination quality makes it hard to beat. And of course a true lifetime warranty doesn't hurt. I have found so much good stuff with this machine. And to think I bought it only to lend to friends who wanted to go detecting. The only slight negative to the machine, and it is slight, is the weight of the coil compared to the Eldorado. The Eldorado coil is spoked, and thereby lighter and better balanced. The Silver, due to the closed coil, is a little bottom heavy. But of course, the whole unit only weights 2.5 pounds. And for less than $250, you can't beat it. In my opinion, nothing out there for $400 is better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

350

Umax

March 22, 2004
This is an excellent machine for the beginnner or the experienced TH'er. Very good depth from a lower priced machine, with the Tesoro descrimination that has been famous for years. The Tesoro Silver is an excellent value in a turn on and go machine. Lifetime warrentee. My top machine for competition detector hunts.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

934

Submit your review for Tesoro Silver uMax

Submit your tip for Tesoro Silver uMax