Tesoro Silver uMax

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.95
Based on 60 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Silver uMax

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344

Don't let the size full you

June 25, 2008
I've got to tell you I'm very impressed with this machine, I have been looking at Tesoro's for a while now and what caught my eye was that the depth they get and great valued price, this is no toy!

Just recently had a Whites M6 and I thought that was quite a weapon, but the Silver Max picked up quarters the M6 left behind, I could not believe it.
If you used to a VDI machine the Tesoro takes a little bit of time to get used to but when you do, it's an awesome unit. The discrimination works great, I'm a coin hunter myself so I set the DISC between tabs and pennies and it works great. I pulled more coins then trash using the stock coil, my first find was a quarter with an old nail lying on top and had no problem pulling a out a good signal. Then my other find was another quarter with 2 pennies spread an inch apart, almost dismissed this signal thinking it was too big but I'm still in the learning stage as well so I dug it up and thats what I had found.

I think I'm going back to the place where I found my large cent and re hunt all of my old spots, I've got to say it's definitely worth the money, great product!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

231

Great detector

June 14, 2008
Just bought one 2 weeks ago and have no complaints or problems with the detector,it is my 1st tesoro and probably want be the last one either, these machines are great, lifetime warranty you can't be it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

70

Ring getter

February 22, 2008
This detector is a very good ring and jewelry detector. It has a very quick learning curve. Very sensitive and easy. Very well balanced and not complicated. Much better than Garrett ace 250.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

348

This machine helping to fill my coin folder

February 22, 2008
I am filling my wheat penny coin folder with the help of my silver umax. Good way to complete your coin collection. Fine detector. Thanks Tesoro.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

193

Great detector

February 09, 2008
Just starting to make some good finds with this detector. I have already found a showbiz pizza token, a sears token celebrating 100 years and a couple of old cereal box toys. I think I have found a terrific hobby as well a great adventure.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

222

My Favorite........

January 26, 2008
I have made posts about other machines, but I'd have to say that the Silver uMax is my favorite. This could be due to the fact that I was able to hunt out a virgin Cavalry encampment with mine, while my Explorer was being worked on(that's why I bought the Silver). I was so impressed with the Silver, that I bought a Cibola. My Silver is favored over the Cibola, and I think it works better in trashy areas. Yes, I know it's "cheaper", but I like it better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

201

Silver Umax - A wolf in sheeps clothing

November 21, 2007
I have been using my Silver Umax as my main (and only) machine for over a year now. I hunt old house properties, farms, tot lots, and ball fields with it. I can not say enough about this fantastic detector. Some of my finds include gold and silver jewelry, both old and modern coins, many CW relics, old toys, and just recently a piece of Spanish silver (8 reale).
This machine LOVES finding old relics!
Don't let this low priced detector, without all the fancy bells & whistles fool you. I have hunted with guys using the big $ machines (Minelab SE , White's DFX) and I not only find as good of finds as them, but many times even BETTER! They are truly amazed.
The Silver Umax is very lightweight and you can swing it all day long without fatigue. It is a very easy to learn, turn on and go machine. It has a very quick learning curve, and you will quickly be able to tell the good signals from the junk. Although the stock coil works great, I upgraded my coil to a 9 x 8 concentric coil to get even more depth. I consistantly dig targets down in the 10" deep range (soft soil).
I bought my machine used for only $150 and have had NO PROBLEMS at all with it. You can pick a new one up on E-bay for about $240. This machine is so underrated it isn't funny, AND the Tesoro's come with a lifetime warranty too.
Happy hunting.
-Doug-

Overall Rating 5 stars!

382

This detector finds the silver

November 12, 2007
I have had my silver umax for several years and enjoy searching around old barns and storage sheds in my neighborhood with permission from the owners of course. Finding lots of silver and clad coins, its exciting. Recently while searching my own yard I found a monogrammed silver ring about 8 inches deep. It had been in the ground for 35 years. the girl who lost it was 15 years old at the time she lost it. Her and her brothers used to play ball with me and my brothers when we were kids back in the early 1970s. I am sure she will be happy to get it back when she hears that I found it after 35 years. The silver umax is a fine detector. Thanks tesoro for a great American made product.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

780

A great little machine!!!

November 10, 2007
I just got this detector today. I was really surprised at how tiny and compact it was. This detector is really light and SO easy to; they are as good as it gets. It has good depth as I was getting coins down to about 4 inches with good signal strength and I am sure it goes deeper, there were probably just no coins deeper than that. The tone response of the detector is awesome and I whole-heartedly love this machine.

This detector is a great buy for the money and well worth your hard-earned dollars. Five stars for sure.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

150

Learn this terrific detector

October 25, 2007
To lee in north Carolina foothills. Read your instructions supplied with the detector and learn how to operate it. Don't be so quick to give a bad report on this wonderful machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

242

Submit your review for Tesoro Silver uMax

Submit your tip for Tesoro Silver uMax