Garrett Infinium LS

Garrett Infinium LS Price: $1200
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.12
Based on 40 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.33
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.67
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Infinium LS

Compare to ▼
Whites Surf PI Dual Field $900
JW Fisher Pulse 8X Pro $1500

Infinium ls

February 11, 2017
Fantastic machine, I did have to send it back after 2 weeks and Garrett replaced some defective parts and tuned it up. There is a learning curve from other non PI machines including Garrett. Ground balancing is a must each time unit is turned on, dig all signals and check hole a second time, the surprises are worth it. Remember max effective depth is about 10" so after you dig a foot down time to detect the next 10". If you have never used a machine before but understand how PI works, follow the instructions.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
01

Not satisfied with it

July 24, 2015
I bought this detector for beach use. Mostly snorkeling with it. But as soon as it goes underwater I get weird tones. I thought at first that maybe I just don't know how to use It. Watched their videos read reviews and tried it again with no luck. It works fine when not submerged. The only reason I bought is to use it underwater though.

I go to the beach only maybe 5 times a year so my two years passed quickly and unit is no longer under warranty. Although that's not my only complaint. The quality is also not something I'd expect from a $1200 unit. I've screwed the coil by hand. But to take it off I had to use pliers. The connector is now wobbly since I had to do it twice and the plug on the detector itself is too short to fit a normal sized wrench. I had to grind to fit it in.

I'm sure that if the detector worked out of the box I would leave a positive review but I'm sorry I just expected better quality for 1200+ I paid for it. Bought it direct from Garrett.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
14

Just bought a used l/s $600. I am excited

October 15, 2013
I am new to MD and my first machine was a Bounty hunter. I had it for a couple of years just out looking for change and I got a splash of water on it last week and well thats all she wrote, after finding lots of trash and about $600 worth of money and jewelry. Now I have the L/S and I took it to the beach today after reading the instruction manual.
It worked great. I dig everything because I am in Japan right now, but I found hair pins at 6-8 inches and the machine was screaming. I only went over two beaches that I had checked thoroughly and it found everything I missed before that was deep plus I was able to check the surf line that I wasn't able to do with my old cheapo machine.

I cant wait till the hurricane passes so I can check some new beaches and load up on the booty. Thanks for all your post they were a lot of help in buying this machine. Which was $600 used. I hope I didn't get ripped off but from the sounds of it I made a great buy.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
113

Trident

October 06, 2012
I've had my infinium 4 months. I too had false signals driving me nuts til I took the unit off my hip and put it onto my shaft. it seems the cable swinging around causes false signals. now I just turn it on and go. Found a few gold rings and some silver rings. I gave it a 4 due to no covers included for the connectors, rickety shaft, crappy Chinese headphones.

Overall Rating 4 stars

167

Garret infinium ls

June 06, 2012
Well my second detector when I brought this metal detector I thought to myslef what pile of junk MMMM, it was giving off false signal's I was ready to throw in the bin . OK read read read on how to use it then take the time WOW what a machine it purrs like a kitten I have found 3. 4 ounce nugget with it I am so happy now I know how to use it . . . BUT I wish garret would bring out more coils.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3419

A shaft for diving

March 05, 2012
I am new to MDing and have just ordered a Garrett Infinium LS. I have been reading everything I can get my hands on including a lot of research on the web. I decided to post to this forum because I got a lot of good info here - but! I think the complaints about the shaft is misguided. The LS is a diving type machine with a crooked shaft. If you put a straight shaft on this machine you will be very uncomfortable underwater in a swimming position near bottom - it will not work well. Thus the crooked shaft. The crooked shaft works on the bottom of the ocean and can be used on land. Good work Garrett!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3116

Infinium LS

October 02, 2011
The Second Best Investment That I Ever Made!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3528

Really Surprised

February 11, 2011
I am a minelab freak and to date my GPX4500 for prospecting in the goldfields of Western Australia and my Sovereign GT for the beach were and still are a fantastic combination.

I did however have family coming over for a prospecting trip and wanted another machine that really could be used for prospecting without forking out another $5 grand plus for a GPX.

After doing a lot of research I purchased an infinium with the 8" mono additional with a little trepidation as intentionally or not I would compare it with my GPX4500.

Well, I have to say I am more than pleasantly surprised. Firstly this machine simply blows my sovereign away on the beach with the 8" mono both in depth and sensitivity - I am finding really small hooks and even the back shaft of an ear-ring at a good couple of inches. The depth on rings and small coins is ridiculous and when people talk about 15" plus they are not exaggerating.

On gold (using my small test nuggets) without going into too much detail. It will get you 5" + on a 0.5g nugget freshly buried with the 8 inch mono. The 8" mono will detect as small as 0.3g nugget at 2" depending on shape. The stock DD is less sensitive but for 0.6 gram up performs well.

Yes it is not quite up to the GPX4500 on sensitivity less than 0.5g nugget but as you get further above that the margin gets much less much faster. Value for money this is an outstanding machine and if you only prospect occasionally ie a couple of weeks a year, I would recommend it over the GPX for the price.

Further the discrimination using both tones and rev disc really do work and very well...you just need to play.

The really important thing about the infinium is that Garret compressed a lot of features into a housing that has only three selectors. This makes you think it is a simple turn on and go machine...BIG mistake.

This machine has to be frequency adjusted IF the tone is unstable both due to EMI and/or on hot ground to get an absolutely smooth threshold.

The discrimination is exactly that and just keep it at zero unless using the reverse descrim to ID a target that has a LO/HI tone. Drop descrim less than 1 and you start losing sensitivity to small nuggets.

The gain/power is directly linked to the threshold selector. If using a mono in extremely hot ground and the threshold is slightly falsing drop it to 3-4 anything above 5 is a waste as you lose the ability to note threshold change.

Also - very important. PI's in general and the infinium especially need the coil at least one inch above the ground in really hot soil.

I have used the 8"mono on the hottest ground I can find (above 38% iron ore) and got the threshold smooth as a baby but have to lower my swing speed and keep coil level.

All in all if I had to choose one detector for all

occasions it would be my infinium. Change the shaft (minelab shaft works well just trim the coil attachment on the bottom of shaft)and LEARN the machine and you will be more than pleasantly surprised.

This detector is the most underrated you will find.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

28119

No Guarantee

December 30, 2010
My detector was faulty from the day of delivery. Appears that it has a change of mind each time it is switched on - on some occasions it works, other times it is all over the place

When I reported this to the Garret agent in RSA whilst the unit was under guarantee, I was fobbed off completely (I purchased the unit elsewhere.) Later, when I complained to Garret directly, I was again fobbed off, as they claimed that it was no longer under guarantee! This, even though they admitted that their agent should have repaired the unit when it was first reported.

The detector now no longer works, and lies abandoned in my cupboard. I have never had a single useful days work out of this detector - a complete waste of money, and the Garret backup service is appalling.

Overall Rating 1 star

9540

Not good to find gold

December 18, 2010
We held a vile of raw gold approximately 22 carat near coil and it didn't even sense it! Takes a small nugget of about five grams to set it off. As for finding relics it is good but I bought this detector to find gold and for that it is practically worthless.

Overall Rating 1 star

4453

Submit your review for Garrett Infinium LS

Submit your tip for Garrett Infinium LS