Garrett Infinium LS

Price: $1200
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.12
Based on 40 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.33
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.67
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Infinium LS

Compare to ▼
Whites Surf PI Dual Field $900
JW Fisher Pulse 8X Pro $1500

Black Sand

August 23, 2008
I've always liked the VLF detectors for their pinpointing ability. But there are many areas here in S. CA that you just can't hunt with a VLF due to heavy concentrations of black sand. It is liked you are being locked out of certain areas and that always bothered me. I've only been using the Infinium for a few weeks now but can honestly say I don't feel locked out of anywhere anymore. The tones and the pinpointing take some getting used to but if you want to walk through heavy black sand areas like you own them...then this detector gets the job done.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4311

False Signals

July 08, 2008
I have noticed a few people on other infinium forums and this one who say that they get false signals while operating in water. I wonder if these people are having some cable/coil shielding problems. My infinium is an older model but I do not get false signals while operating in saltwater beaches, that is,I do not get HI/LOs or LO/HI tones, I do get some very weak wavering of the theshold as the water level moves up and down the shaft which does not cause any problems, and I only have to re ground balance two or three times in the day.
I am pretty happy with my machines performance at the beach; It consistently locates Aussie 5 cent coins at better than 15 inches in the wet sand while using the 10x14 DD. These coins weigh around 3 grams and are about 0.05ins thick x 1/2ins diam.
One thing to be sure of when ground balancing the Infinium is that the DISCRIMINATION IS AT ZERO, and AFTER GBing the disc control can be moved up to around the 2 position if necessary to reduce the effects of the salt.If it set higher than 3 you will loose sensativity to gold.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5516

18 inch mono/ Phantom No voter?

June 24, 2008
I wonder how long it will be before we get an 18 inch mono for the Infinium. Gold will be going up in value soon so we will need the best chance possible of finding those deep nuggets.

I wonder who the gutless wonder is who keeps saying no to these reviews but won't say what he/she doesn't agree with. Come forward turkey and say your piece.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4681

Garrett Infinium LS

May 20, 2008
I am not new to detecting, been doing it for over 20 years. Mostly on the beaches of Florida. The Infinium so far has been a pain to setup. You need to keep the coil wire wrapped tight to the rod or if worn on the waist don't let it get above the coil or you will get false signals. You must stay on top of the ground balancing and may have to do it multiple times during your hunt.

I would not recommend this unit for a first time user. If you are going to buy this machine join some forums and read read read.

Overall Rating 4 stars

5517

Gold in Iron ore

April 27, 2008
I have had my Infinium for a while now and although I said that I felt it was not as good as my Sovereign on saltwater beaches, I think I am beginning to change my mind.
What I have found though is that this machine is a brain snapper in highly iron mineralised ground, and no kidding folks, this thing can find gold nuggets inside solid iron ore; Show me a VLF that can do that!
Sure the Infinium works great at the beach but there are plenty of PI detectors that do that but only a couple that will find gold in iron mineralised ground, so if it's gold you want and your ground is highly mineralised then give the Infinium a go because you won't get anything better for the price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7515

Great Pulse Detector!!!

February 01, 2008
I think the Infinium smokes!!! I use the machine in tough black sand on the N. East coast without any issues. Where the Infinium shines is in the surf and water! The disc and iron check do work and help to really reduce junk found. This is a pro level machine and does have a learning curve. If you read the posts online you can reduce that curve alot. I also use VLFs and think they make a great pair working together as no one machine can do it all! You will dig more trash with a pulse, but out in the water targets a fewer and the good stuff is deep. The Infinium is so stable and deep detecting when adjusted correctly, that not much could touch its performance. Another trick is you can just dig the high-low signals while using the reverse disc and Iron check to just get the gold (you can cover alot of ground quick this way)! The detector is built like a tank and just works great in the water with the 8" mono-coil! I'll grab it in areas that have been pounded or are sanded in, as you'll probably walk away with something good. I have all the extra coils and plan to do some relic and nugget hunting with it too. It's a great detector to add to any serious hunters collection of water machines!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

488

Infinium L S Best All Rounder

January 26, 2008
The Infinium can't match my Soveriegn on salt water beaches, but in the goldfields it's a killer.
It outperforms all but the best Minelab P I,s
and one or two high frequency VLF units that are designed to find tiny bits of gold within a couple of inches of the surface. If you want to find gold and can not afford the way over priced Minelabs, then get an Infinium, it will work pretty much anywhere.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5511

The Infinium....plusses & minusses!

January 22, 2008
Having owned one, had a friend who had one and then field tested a good one, I can honestly say that there are very bad ones out there....quality control must have really died at Garrett!! My unit and my friends unit were very poor. Crap sensitivity (.22 bullet was about as good as it got) and false signals when in hot ground. Both myself and my friend sold ours ASAP. Have now seen a really good one and I am impressed! Can hear a .2 gram bit of gold at 3" with the stock coil and matches a Minelab SD2200 for depth on most targets with similar coils. Much better response on hot ground too. Very poor design for the stem as it wobbles like a 1970's machine, the stock coil is made for diving and is far too heavy, no decent range of accessory coils are available and the headphone system is completely stupid as you cannot use your own, you must use a Garrett set with a dumb ring connector only! Overall, a very poor design but when you put up with the flaws and find a good one that works as promised, it performs. The Iron discrimination is quite good and reliable on solid Fe items, even at full depth. For the price, it is a good first timers unit and great for ladies who want to hipmount the control box to save weight on your arm....make sure you get a 10X5" DD coil though!

Overall Rating 3 stars

5312

Best all-rounder and a top contender.

October 31, 2007
Well I may only have had the Infinium LS for a short while and I am well pleased with this unit. I have used many types of detector in my 14yrs of metal detecting,both vlf,and pulse induction units. I can honestly say that the more I use it the more I like it. After using the SD2100 for years on the gold fields of Australia, the Infinium is a treat to use. It is extremely quiet, with a threshold that purrs along. The depth on the gold fields and on the beach and in the salt water is fantastic, I have found two 50c pieces at a measured depth of 18" 5c pieces in the surf came in at over a foot deep, it is comfortable to use and I am only 5'3" and 65kg, with the unit mounted under the cuff, it is well balanced. It is half the price of a minelab unit and a dedicated all rounder. It will find .3 of a gram, I recommend learning how to use it properly, before bagging it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4311

Ground Balance This PI, Tune It Properly And Start Hunting.

October 31, 2007
If you are a somewhat seasoned hunter, and want to find DEEP targets in both mineralized and non mineralized environments, (yes...land and water)the Infinium is a great choice. It really shows it's strength in regularly or hunted out environments. After about a 10 hour learning curve (I have previously owned a PI) and getting used to the LOW-HIGH/HIGH-LOW signals, it just started pulling out both gold and silver rings missed by other hunters real DEEP. The proof was in my results from using this machine. This past season (2007) was my highest gold ring count ever in nearly 15 years!

I am not a dealer, so I don't really care if you buy one or not. However, I did a lot of research on this machine, read the good, the bad and the ugly and came to the conclusion that the greatest problems were due to user inexperience and a pre-agenda to post bad reviews.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

8910

Submit your review for Garrett Infinium LS

Submit your tip for Garrett Infinium LS