Automax Precision v2

Price: $140
Avg. Score: 3 stars 3.26
Based on 35 reviews

Avg. Durability: 1 star1.00
Avg. Ease of use: 1 star1.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Automax Precision v2

Compare to ▼
Nokta Pointer $139
Makro Pointer $125
Vibra-Quatic 2 Pinpointer $169.95
Nokta RS Pinpointer $130
Garrett Pro Pointer $150
Detectorpro Pistol Probe $170

Breaks Easy

February 20, 2008
Unit works,,,,OK but, I also had the pointer break in half. I epoxied it and its still in use. It does its job, but is still very weak in construction.

Overall Rating 3 stars

30

Cheaply Constructed

October 09, 2007
The electronics work great but if you actually use this it will break. After super-gluing the pointer back together it has not broken again. Only used as a backup and for detecting buds that don't have a pointer when we go together. My Treasure Mate is far superior.
It amazes me that Kellyco puts there name on it.
Bring your super glue into the field with you,,,,you will need it!

Overall Rating 1 star

51

Great Performance-Bad Quality

July 19, 2007
I got a Automax with a Kellyco detector several years back. I had the original rocker switch and it broke the third time out, but Kellyco replaced it with the new slide type switch. This switch is more durable and has not failed me. This handheld pinpointer has more range than the others I have tried and the length is appreciated if you use one of the deep seeking detectors available. Here is the problem. The shaft is made in sections and out of the three automax pinpointers that I have currently, all have broke at the first joint. I have fixed them all myself with a three inch section of plastic pipe that I split and epoxied over the break. I would never pay the price Kellyco asks for this new, but I buy them used or like new over the internet. One tip to get the maximum range is to turn the sensitivity knob until it starts beeping and just barely and I mean barely turn it back. Sometimes it will give a short beep when you stick the probe in the hole, but don't fret, this is normal. I have to adjust mine every time I dig a new hole, but this is common to all handhelds that I have used.

Overall Rating 4 stars

180

Old Faithful

July 15, 2007
Went back to using my Automax Precision V4 after toying with the Vibraprobe 560. The Automax detects deeper and is so sensitive it rings out on the smallest sliver of foil.

Along with an On/Off switch, the Automax also has a sensitivity knob for various ground conditions.

The Automax is large, solid and slips nicely into my tool pouch with its long probe.

I actually received a 2nd Automax free with my 2nd detector purchase. Can't beat that!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

41

Al Rasor in central CA.

June 26, 2007
My buddy receieved an Automax V4 free from Kellyco Detectors with the purchase of his Garrett ACE 250. He soon suffered a stroke, sold the 250 to another friend of mine, but gave me the pinpointer. It's long, bulky, and doesn't detect very deep but, finds the "can't see um" coins in loose dirt that I may have given up on without it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

41

Better than Whites

March 19, 2007
I bought and used a whites bulleyes that thing was terrible you have to be right on it, the coin, etc, for it to pick up. Plus it falsed all the time. This unit is much better, has much
better range and it does not false all the time, only complaint is it is to long but I can live with that. to have a unit that picks up much deeper and does not false all the time.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

60

Love it

March 11, 2007
Love this pin pointer, it came free with my GTP 1350, its big, but it will get down in the hole or in the water due to the long probe, where others could not, like the $100 whites, I would have missed some of my best finds without it, and would have spent too much time looking for those small tricky items without it, the vibrate is great for not making a lot of noise too, it inspired a friend to purchase the whites and he is sorry he spent so much for that, and without the depth of the V2

Overall Rating 5 stars!

51

Not worth a second look

September 30, 2006
This pinpointer came free with my detector. It's cheaply made, both the plastic shell and switches feel brittle. The only reason I felt it warranted 2 stars was due to the fact that it did function, albeit poorly.

The retail cost of this detector is $140 and this is largely a joke. This detector has a sensitively knob that can only be used through 1/3 of it's range. Any setting in the other 2/3's and it vibrates (or squeals) non-stop. It's airtest range is about 1 inch. I've seen this pinpointer fail to notify the user of a coin 1/2" below loose dirt. This is almost unusable even with judicious pinpointing with your main detector first.

This item is huge, roughly 22" long. It won't sit calmly on your belt until needed, it will dislodge and hit the ground as you kneel. This non-feature is the best indicator that it was designed by a person that has never spent a single day metal detecting.

It's size and price are ridiculous, I would be appalled if I'd paid for this item. *If* this item were $20 and 8" long, it would be OK. One inch range is poor, I imagine those that think this range is good haven't used a Sun Ray X-1 ($180) or a White's Bullseye II ($99). If this device is the only pinpointer that a person has ever used, then they may think this is an acceptable device. I hope a new user doesn't make this mistake, there are better pinpointers out there.

Overall Rating 2 stars

154

V2 the only useful Pinpointer if you use it

June 05, 2006
Hi All my fellow TH'ers
Having used other pinpointers the Automax V2 is better in several ways; first you can use the vibrate mode (which is what I use), you can use the audio mode but it eats up batteries and disturbs other TH'ers in your group, 3rd you can locate the smallest of metal items with ease.
I use a large canvas bag to carry away all my targets and carry my V2 in it as well. As some TH'ers have found it is not easy to carry this pinpointer around due to its length.
One of the shortcomings of the V2 is the fact that if you bump it on the ground or in a hole it will give a false signal. If you but the adjusting knob it will need to be adjusted again.
Overall this is the best pinpointer I have used and have located many items with it.
Thanks for reading.
PS: Remember; Don't leave it in the ground!

Overall Rating 4 stars

60

Ok but too big!

February 13, 2006
I wish it was smaller! Also my vibrate went out right after I bought mine. I don't use that feature anyway, but would be nice to have. It targets ok and does the job, but it's size really bothers me and if you clip it on your belt, it's so big I cant bend over...so I just carry it in the same hand with my digger. My next pinpointer will be small enough to put in my pouch. I wish I would have spent the extra money for a whites or other small unit. But it will get you by if you get a good deal on one go for it until you can do better!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

60

Submit your review for Automax Precision v2

Submit your tip for Automax Precision v2