Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 260 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.05
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299

What can you say? The best under $200 by far!

April 30, 2007
This is the detector that I rediscovered detecting with. This isn't a toy from Radio Shack or Walmart but a real good detector. It has other coils and features you'll pay $600 to see on other detectors. It's very light weight but for whatever reason it doesn't feel cheap and the housing is well made. The sniper coil that you can get will make this a coin killer - no doubt!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1771

OVERALL GREAT DETECTOR, LOVE THIS ONE!!

April 24, 2007
well i have be detecting since 1978 and my first was
an old whites "tr" non dsc... owned and loved my
coinmaster 5000 and 5000d but to my suprise the ace
250 is really nice.. ive been out on 6 outings and
have found about 3-4 dollars in change (lots of pennies) some bullets and 1 copper ring.. definately
test and get to know this detector!! read all the reviews.. i learned some valuable info here on the
"hot-spot", pinpoints and gold signals.. lol i am
afraid i let some get away...by passing the off as junk.. its a great detector for the money
i recommend tis one, plus its made in U.S.A.

Overall Rating 4 stars

1258

Coin shooting down under.

April 21, 2007
I live in Melbourne Australia. I have had my ACE250 since late December 2006, so that's a bit over 3 months of detecting in playgrounds, schools, parks & beaches. So far I have located $107.50 in various current coins plus old pennies, one & two cents, keys, toy cars, pocket knife & foreign coins. Recently in a playground I located a straw colour stone in a silver claw setting that had broken away from it's ring.I need to get the stone identified.

My one real complaint is that every so often the ACE 250 goes off loudly (as if an aluminium object is attached to the coil) when I turn it on & I just can't use it. Later in the day I'll switch it on again & it's fine.

If any US reviewers wish to swap notes with me, my address is wsalt@bigpond.net.au.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

563

Bell tone sound No problem if you know how to read it

April 16, 2007
The first thing that will happen when you use this machine is it will sound off with a bell tone. Yes, even over trash. Ones in the know know this and can read it. Never mind, the ones that never took time to read it. They will never find much treasure anyway! You do the work. Bell tone, Bell tone! But broken up ones as to clear ones. You use your brain. Put a quarter down, hear it and then the rest. You will soon be able to tell the dif. Know Your Machine and what it is tell you!

Overall Rating 4 stars

1288

Beginner's luck

April 15, 2007
Only two outings with my Ace250, never used a detector before. First outing, along footpath in UK, found a nice condition 1797 Cartwheel penny. Next outing, after moving to France, searched a Frenchman's garden for his gold cygnet ring lost two years ago - found in 20 minutes under his lawn. Amazingly the ring was down about 4 inches - how do things sink like that?
I like this machine, it is easy to use and understand.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1274

An Excellent All-Round Detector

March 28, 2007
Have owned an ACE 250 for several months. I don't like the triple tone but have got used to it. I use this machine on fields and wet salt beaches. On the beach I use 'jewelry' mode and cut the sensitivity back one or two notches. You can then use it over shallow saltwater pools without losing much depth or getting false signals. Pinpointing is excellent if you lift the detector up a couple of inches and move it side to side SLOWLY to get the best signal. On the field it easily holds its own against machines twice its price!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1868

Not too bad

March 24, 2007
It's a very decent machine - for the money. However, I did have to strengthen the shaft with a bolt to make it more stable and the belltone audio drove me nuts. Other than that, the machine performed quite well for an entry level model and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is just starting out.

Overall Rating 3 stars

1367

Ok machine

March 24, 2007
The ace 250 is a ok machine. I own one and I use it alot. Mainly because my son has the gti. If you want to believe all the hype about it, go ahead. Garrett sells alot of these machines because they are cheap. It is a decent machine for the money. The pinpoint has aways worked good for me. It don't get much below 6 inches unless it is a large item, all the old coins I have found have not been below 5 inches, so the ace has got them. I like the fact that it is light, the stem is cheap compared to the gti models, but then again it is only 200 bucks.

You can always pay alot of money and not get much, but you will never pay a little and get a whole lot more. I recommend the ace 250, but don't expect more than what it can really do.

Overall Rating 3 stars

5617

Horrible Machine

March 21, 2007
The Ace 250 is a cheaply made machine that feels like you are going to break it when you touch it. The pinpointing is nonexistent, but the target ID shows you what it could be, mostly because it tells you every reading at least once on the same target. I returned this machine after a week and urge you not to even buy this thing.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5151

If there was no trash

March 13, 2007
Just a complaint how my ace250 handles, it really does not work as well as they show you. The pinpointing is almost impossible,not like the compass I used to own. Sometimes you end up digging a crater to find tin foil when it's registering a dime. I feel like the quality of the detector is not that impressive. You may as well forget to do those old playgrounds and parks because it's not going to happen. Looses signal.

Overall Rating 1 star

9519

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250