Garrett Ace 250

Garrett Ace 250 Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.19
Based on 257 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.53
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Ideal for the beginner

February 10, 2016
Ace 250 was my first metal detector. I found a lot of stuff using it. 250 is quite shallow but if search on allmetal mode you can grab some deeper stuff.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 4 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
47

Solid metal detector for those learning!

May 29, 2015
This was the first metal detector I have owned. Although you can simply turn it on and go with a lot of success, there are a lot of little tricks you can learn to really improve your game.

Running in all metal mode, and swinging slow have helped me grab relics and coins much deeper than what this forum says you should. This detector does very well ringing in silver and copper. Although it doesn't differentiate as well as other detectors, it does as well as other detectors in the price range. If you buy this detector, you won't regret it. It's currently my backup, and I constantly have friends along who borrow my Ace250, and are able to turn it on and have a very fun time.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
112

Must have got a real good one.

May 07, 2015
At max sensitivity its hitting a clad quarter at just under ten inches. I had to remeasure to be sure. Sure enough just under 9 3/4 inches. I had an ace 150 that might get 5-6 inches on a qtr. I'm pretty impressed. Try to get one used as a good backup machine or for someone who wants to try out metal detecting.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
89

I love it still learing

April 16, 2015
I read the manual watch the dvd that was included want to think garrett for a fine detector a good price that no one can go wrong in getting into the hobby had my weeks been out one time found $2.35 and 1 1891 indina head penney in real good shape. So far I find that everything works great, I tested it on the table with all the items that was in the book I also put each item in the ground at 2in all the way to 8in to see if it works well. I got the coil that came with it I also have other brands I find this one don't miss.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
76

Ace 250 vs bounty hunter 1100

March 17, 2015
My first detector was a BH1100 with an 8" coil and it severed me very good for just learning, and I used it for 2 years, but the depth on it wasn't the best about 6" on a coin and living in a very old part of town I ran it over my own yard plenty of times and dug out a few coins, ok good.

Last week I picked up an Ace 250 and understanding it had a greater learning curve I started with my own yard just for grins, did not go 2 feet without picking up targets and with the sens set less than half, dug out a 1910 wheat, then a 1911, about 1 foot away, spent about an hour digging out coins that my first detector missed ended up with 10 wheats most at 6-8" down and a few nickels the 250 properly ID'd them all at the depth the detector showed, very happy with ACE 250 so far and its only been a few days.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
115

Ace 250

October 31, 2014
I bought the ace 250 and within 2 hrs of watching the dvd. My son and I were finding coins a matchbox car the very first evening before dark. Now I have had some experience back when I was a kid my Dad had a older garrett model and it was nothing like this thing. Within a few hrs in 2 days I have found over 40 coins quarters, dimes, nickels and pennies. I'm really getting use to it already and I'm confident if you learn your device you will find tons of valuables.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1812

Ace 250 yes

October 04, 2014
I have had my Ace 250 for several years. I put the 5X8 DD coil on it and I am amazed at how well it performed before and how well it performs now. It is a deep machine despite the low cost. Sure you will dig more than if you use a machine with more discrimination but those signals will eventually be dug to consider an area hunted out. I have dug silver dimes at 8 inches in damp soil.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
168

Garret ace 250

October 04, 2014
I bought a garret ace 250 and I'm telling you it works great I watched all the videos on how to use it I felt like I knew the detector before I even received it.

I took it behind a jr high scool in northen Illinois and in my first hour of looking I found enough clad change to fill my hand 4 wheat pennies at 6 inches and a 14k wedding band the next day I found so much change I had to take it back to the car twice the whole weekend I found 67 dollars in clad change 1 silver quarter 1935 1 indain head penny and 1 gold chain 1 gold ring but I'm telling you you have to dig the nickels to find gold yes I did find a lot of pull tabs its all good its the challenge of the hunt you never know what is going to pop out of that ground your serching this detector works great I would recommend this metal detector to anyone thanks happy searching.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2010

Please get your facts straight

September 18, 2014
I just purchased this 250. I'm new to this. I've taken in out on Cape Cod beaches and have done very well. I would suggest the negative posters here read the manual and spend more than 1/2 using it before posting a neg.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1811

Ace 250 very poor quality

August 26, 2014
I see many false reviews on the ace 250. There is no reason to church up a turd like the ace 250. Dealer Shills like to post lies to get you swayed into over priced junk. I bought a new ace 250 after reading all the good reviews boy was that a big waste of money. I sold it after a month of use. It has poor I mean poor disk, and cant lock on nothing but ghost signals and a lot of trash.

It was good at finding pennies at 1 to 2 inch mark. There are many cheaper units or (at the same cost units) better than the ace like some others I've used like tesoro U max, bounty hunter 101, fisher 1212x, 1225x and the discovery 3300. In closing do not buy the ace 250 unless you have lost your car plates, boat anchor, or a box of nails. I am done with garrett after using the crappy 250. Yes there is a reason that ebay is flooded with aces people find out like myself that they are JUNK.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
2262

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250