Garrett Ace 250

Price: $250
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.20
Based on 258 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.06
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.56
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Compare to ▼
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Factors

May 18, 2005
I recently picked an ACE250 up on recommendations from friends, and must say im not at all happy with this machine. I constantly got false signals, along with the depth readout being incorrect. And to top if all off, the pin pointer function goes off while you have the coil in the air, not very reliable. Also, so people know, there is only one tone for this machine, you must cock your arm to the left and read the screen every time you get a tone, otherwise get ready to dig a whole lot of nothing. Im glad to see this thing go. makes metal detecting frustrating. Nice foundation for a good machine but they should make a few changes to it.

Overall Rating 1 star

8132

Garrett Treasure Ace 250

May 18, 2005
I'm an experienced metal detector with over 10 years of practice. I recently decided to sell my $1000 Troy X5 and go with a cheaper detector because I just don't get out much. I had liked the Garrett GTA 1000 I had years back and saw that the new Treasure Ace 250 had basically the same features, only in a lighter weight. So I bought one. Here's the skinny... THE GOOD: I have no doubt that I will do well with this machine. The visual feedback (which I use basically just for "good to know" purposes) was very accurate and the controls were well thought-out and easy to manipulate. This is a light weight, accurate machine that is very good for the money. THE BAD: It does not have a "quality" feel. The stem is terribly wobbly (could benefit from locking collars) and you really have to crank down on the coil nut in order to stabilize the coil. I have concerns about the durability of the whole set-up. I like the headphone plug on the left - this one is on the right. No biggie there. I wish you could control what tone you wanted. I like one tone with varying pitch - but this has a three tone deal that is gonna take some getting used to. No coil cover/protector available from what I can see. The headphones that came with it are a joke. I'm glad I kept my adjustable volume Troys. SUMMATION: Once I do a little engineering to firm up the stem assembly, this machine is gonna find as many coins as my $1000 machine did, and for $199 delivered to my door. It's no Mercedes, but my dad's old Volkswagon beetle always got us from point A to point B reliably. You get my drift. Thumbs up.... for the money.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1866

Ace 250

May 14, 2005
I like this machine alot.. it will detect DEEP.
The id is right on most of the time. The only thing I have a problem with, is Pin Pointing.
It can get pretty frustrating. If you want a Great machine...This is it. budget price with high price performance.

Overall Rating 4 stars

770

Great piece of equipment

March 28, 2005
I just purchased the 250 for my son. I purchased the GTI 2500 for myself a few weeks ago and love it so while on a trip to florida last week I stoppey by KellyCo and picked up the Ace 250, what a nice piece of equipment. Compact, light, easy to read display and also easy to setup / use.
Only had a little time to test it out and can say that for the price I can't believe all the features it has on it. My son loves it, that is when I'm not using it.
I would recommend this to anyone. I am thinking about getting rid of my wife's bounth hunter and picking up another 250.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3282

Great detector!

January 27, 2005
I was given a Garrett 2500 for Christmas. I have never detected before and have been using the 2500 for about a month now. I purchased the 250 for my spouse, and used it yesterday in the same places I had used the 2500. I found numerous coins I had not found before. Not because the 2500 had not hit in the same areas, but it is very difficult for a newcomer to understand. I found using the 250 easy, and simple to use. When it said it was a dime, or penny, or quarter, that was exactly what it was. I am now buying one for myself to use for coin hunting. When I get more proficient I will go back to using the 2500. The Ace 250 is light weight, easy to use, and seems to be very accurate within its stated specifications.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4961

For just 199 $...this is the best !!!

December 22, 2004
Check all the features of this lightweight detector at garretts homepage.
I can't believe this detector sells for 199$ over the net.It should cost about 400$.
Depth is as good as the detectors in the mid to top pricerange.Target id works great and you can swing it fast and gain depth doing so.You can cover a lot of ground with it in a day without getting tired.It uses just 4 AA batterys...so go to walmart and buy an one hour charger with 4 AAs for 24 $.That will make detecting almost free of costs for batterys.
The detector is well made.It hasn't all the features of the GTAx 1250 and up, but you get all you could want for just 199$.And what could you loose buying it?...it will still sell for at least 150$ after years because all the guys on the forums agree to: This is the best 199$ detector you can buy.
Buy one and start a great hobby.
HH,
Andy

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4466

A real beach hunter ...

December 20, 2004
The new Garrett Ace 250 is a winner on the beach.
It will stay stable in wet salt water sand and detect about as deep as any of my high end detectors.
Works even better in the dry fluffy sand.
The target ID is right on the money and it has two tones.
A bell like tone for coins and a beep for nickles and pulltabs.

The price/performance ratio make this one of Garrett's best machines.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2663

Ace 250

December 05, 2004
For the money, I don't think you'll find a detector that is as stable as this one, good depth, very accurate ID, I don't dig unless the signal is repeatable, and so far if the ID says it's a quarter, dime or penny etc. then you can just about bet that's what it is. Found a heart shaped pendant on a gold necklace today at a playground, it has diamonds around the heart!
I went to the beach last weekend and was surprised at how steady the ground balance was. No problem in the sand. Didn't find much other than loose change. I'll have to wait 'till summer and do the beach again. My friend purchased one as well. He found a mans silver ring this weekend. Anyway, I'm impressed so far.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

10463

Submit your review for Garrett Ace 250

Submit your tip for Garrett Ace 250