Teknetics T2

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.46
Based on 46 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.58
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.58
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Teknetics T2

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Tesoro Outlaw $650

T2 updated review

May 30, 2013
This is my second review.
After quite a number of field tests this detector is not for me and this is why:
Recovery speed on small hammerd coins is not as good as the goldmaxx.

2 plus tones leaves you looking constantly at the meter checking for high numbers, problem is most hammered coins fall into low number range, the t2 is a top machine loves predecimal silver, I feel not quite enough tweaking for UK detecting.

Don't get me wrong if you are looking for a good all rounder this is a good choice, this detector does tick most boxes, great balance, good recovery, easy to use, yust not for me.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
2141

T2 jury out

April 18, 2013
After using XP GOLDmaxx for the last two years hammered coins a breeze to find. I recently purchased the t2. Most people use 2 setting but I can not get this machine to recover on a small hammered next to iron.
1 plus does recover.
2 plus seems to have a pre set disc of 40, on large silver recovers no problem.

On my first dig got lots of false signals due to not knowing the t2 well enough. Second trip out, small hammered short cross, nice strong signal plus point the hammered came off a barron field along with 5 predecimal coppers.

Chirps like mad but still hits targets hard, small tip: sound to this machine is the key, top quality true sterio headphones a must to pick small coins in iron, I don't rely on the meter seldom right, look forward to harvest when I can give it a proper test, I will review again later, first impressions are good, my first impression with my goldmaxx was what a load of rubbish.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1815

T2 se review

February 24, 2013
Very nice detector.
Very good depth.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1313

T2 the best in the west

June 18, 2012
I have had the t2 for three years upgrading to the SE last year. A wonderful machine. I have used many different Tesoro machines which are great hoovers. A Minelab explorer. On a site that I tried the minelab with my usual settings I was finding nothing, yet a few yards away I had found Roman coins!.
I went back with the T2 and I was falling over the finds at a tremendous rate. 30 Roman coins in 20 minutes plus three brooches. The finds keep coming.

On a favourite grass field which I had considered played out with all machines. Wow the T2 made it live again. A Medieval latten spoon at 13 inches. My settings in the main are sens 75 disc 15 sounds 2+ but now I tend to use the boost all the time so the 2+ is replaced by that setting AMAZING !

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3711

English searcher

February 20, 2012
I have owned a t2 for more than two years now. Starting with a 6 chip t2 found it great. My main site is littered with iron nails but this baby got near to them and still found roman coins. In autumn 2011 I bought a t" se . What a difference when in boost! on most of my sites I run it in boost all the time at sens 75 disc 17. I sometimes have to check small iron signals but soon move on. Deep I should say so.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3410

T2 is a fantastic detector

November 22, 2011
Just bought the T2 and I have to say I am amazed at how good it is and is ideally suited to our detecting conditions here in the UK, its very light especially after my DFX that I have been shooting from the hip for the past 5 years it was getting a little heavy for me.

Setting up takes just seconds, sens 70 Disc 5 Tone 2+ and you are away detecting and all you need to worry about is the 2 sounds grunts for iron and higher pitch for good stuff and thats it really.

I just love detecting with this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

6111

T2 SE Review

March 11, 2011
I purchased the T2 SE in February 2011. I spent several months reviewing this detector and the F75 LTD. I have been civil war relic hunting for eight years now.

I have used and still use my Minelab Etrac, Tesero Tejon, White's XLT, and all the Minelab Explorers from the S, XS, and II. With this experience and the amount of relics I have found during this time, I feel that I can give a fair and honest review of a metal detector.

I would really give the T2 SE 4.5 stars, but they do not offer that here. When I first got the detector I found it to be a very simple machine to set up. I really liked the sleak look of the T2 SE and the all black appearance. The weight was unbelievable! You can swing this detector from sun up to sun down and your arm feels great. Try that with a Minelab. The four AA batteries really helped the relic hunting budget also. You can get two full trips out before you have to change the batteries. When I say trips out, I mean 8 to 9 hours of swinging.

My first trip out with the T2 was almost a disaster. I was so angry that I would have proablly sold it for $500.00 if someone would have offered it to me at the time. The machine would just chatter and chatter and chatter. This is in an area that I have hunted for years and never had a problem like this before. So, EMI and any metal that may be on you or your boots will be picked up by the T2 SE. The depth was not there like I had read on the forums and reviews. I felt cheated and frustrated by that. I found relics with it, but nothing like I expected. So after this trip, it was back to the drawing board with the T2 SE.

At home, I took the machine out and ran through all the different settings and other functions. I read the manual over and over and went back to asking questions on the forums. My homework paid off!

The next week I found the T2 SE as a beast and I have been so excited since then. I found my perfect setting on discrimination mode set at 15, running on +2 tones with the sensitivity set at 92. When I do hit a target that does not hold the pitch or tone, I switch over to Boost Mode and it ALWAYS hits hard and holds the tone. The depth came alive also. Getting an honest 7-10" is common with the T2 SE. What I found wrong on my first trip was that I keep it in Boost Mode and ran the sensitivity around 95. This kept the T2 machine unstable and hitting on very small pieces of metal.
I only use the Boost Mode to clear up soft and deep signals and to enhance a questionable sound. Tall grassy areas is a place I have used it with success in the recent past and it worked very well. I had to swing the detector at a slower pace, but it was stable.

The T2 SE is now my first weapon of choice over my Etrac and Tejon. The speed at which it recovers is unbeatable. The sweep speed is great for those areas you just want to blitz to see what is there. The depth meter is the best I have seen so far. Pinpointing was easy for me since I was used to the DD coil. The large display screen is easy to read and the target ID is dead on.

My only negative issues is the EMI and not being able to hunt near my friends since they all use the Minelab Explorers. Way to much interference! I have to stay about twenty yards or more away from them so I will not get an ear full of chatter. The EMI was well explained to me before I purchased the detector, so I was aware of this issue. When I get around strong EMI intereference I adjust my sensitivity and switch channel from F1 to F4. It helps and the chatter is easier to work with.

So, with the T2 SE you get one powerful detector that you can use all day without arm fatigue. The T2 SE is deep, reliable, easy to use (after you read the manual a couple of times), fast and not a power hog. I am sold on this machine! Please visit my Youtube channel, wesnvirginia, and see for yourself. Also, please visit wedigdixie.net to see my still photos under Wes-N-VA. Thank you and good luck with your decision.

Overall Rating 4 stars

15856

First Day out

February 20, 2011
Have had many types and makes of detectors but this one takes some beating. First day out found two hammered silver coins, a Roman bow fibula with traces of silver still on it, a coin weight 14c beehive thimble belt attachment and loads of lead some very small and all gave good tight dig me tones. Only dug two deep iron tones.

Did get some chatter as the field was under a power line and lots of iron in the ground but just lower the sens and the t2 settled down, could use right under the power line with no trouble.

Settings used in the stubble field was sen 65 dic 5 tone 2+ the field was a well used field that has been gone over by others but the t2 was getting loads of good dig me tones say no more.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3851

Best detector I've used

October 04, 2010
I started detecting with a viking , then moved on to a bounty hunter followed by a whites classic III, Whites MXT, Minelab sovereign, Fisher CZ 6a, Teknetics T2, Whites V3 and my current detector is a T2 Ltd. Of all the machines listed the one that has found me the most is the T2. It loves silver hammered coins, and is equally as good on ploughed and grass land. I was a bit skeptical of all the ads claiming that the T2 Ltd was much deeper but I went ahead and bought one. I'm very glad I did as the depth is unbelievable - it's put some new life into some of my fav sites that I thought I'd cleared out! I wouldn't want to be without my T2!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5351

Brilliant

September 15, 2010
Very good detector. I have owned one for 1.5 years and in that time I have found:

A gold posey ring reads: A friends gift
Loads of roman from worked out sites
7 x celtic staters from diffrent sites

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2366

Submit your review for Teknetics T2

Submit your tip for Teknetics T2