Teknetics T2

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.43
Based on 47 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.54
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.38
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Teknetics T2

Great for UK conditions

November 03, 2008
Bought T2 a Month ago having previously been using Goldmaxx mk1 and have found 4 hammered coins in 5 outings including Lizzie 3 farthings and Edward 4th half penny which are both very tiny coins. This detector doesn't seem to miss anything and I can highly recommend it. You wont be wasting your money and it is easy to set up and use and also very lightweight.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2047

My all time favourite.

May 17, 2008
I've been in the privileged position where I've been able to own and test some of the industries best detectors including the top models from minelab and xp. I bought the T2 after reading a positive report on one of the metal detecting forums in the uk...and I'm glad I did.

It's a very light detector that I can use all day without getting tired and I can honestly say that on my fields it has out performed any of my previous detectors. I've never had any problems with interference, I think the secret is not to "overcook" it on the sensitivity...it's sensitive even on a low setting. I read a good piece of advice by another reviewer and that was to ignore all your other detectors if you buy a t2 and just concentrate on learning the t2 for a couple of weeks....it definitely worked for me.

Don't forget that this is a personal opinion and not everybody will have the same success that I've had with the machine...every body has their own opinion of the perfect detector.But as I said earlier, in my own experience and on my fields the T2 has consistently out performed the top minelabs and xp's and that makes it my perfect machine. Well done Teknetics.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

6151

Teknectic T2

May 05, 2008
Build quality is very poor, had it 2 days before it wont berserk. The coil kept sounding off on stubble, looks a nice machine I will give it that, sent back to dealer and got my money back, dealer got back in touch with and confirmed it was faulty. Lucky escape, since I purchased a T2, I've seen second-hand prices tumble here in the UK, I just wish more care had been put into the build quality,for the T2 really looks the part, although it looks to be put into the shadows by the F75.

Overall Rating 1 star

5374

I Sold My DFX

January 28, 2008
I have only used the T2 on the beach, and I have had great success. She will not ground balance in the sand but I was still pulling quarters at 11 inches with 100% target ID. I am a Bounty Hunter Dealer and I would suggest this machine. Grant it, it has less bells and whistles than the DFX, but one must agree that this is an extremely powerful machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4049

Good and Less Good

January 23, 2008
Not a bad detector. Well balanced (like me!) but with a few weaknesses. Frequent high 'pip' sounds at the end of sweeps. Target or not a target? Surely Teknetics can eliminate those awful bottle tops or at least don't let them register or silence them out. Sometimes the numbers bounce around for them (as expected), other times they do not and appear in the coin range, so a lot of digging anyway. How about an illuminated display for low light and/or poor eyesight) and color coded? Cell phones, GPS modules and a host of other gadgets have illuminated color displays these days. Example: Red dot for ferrous, Yellow for unsure, and Green for non-ferrous (coin, gold, silver etc).
Rubber covering on handle split on the second day of use and coil had to be disconnected to free an unwanted overload.
Nicely balanced machine with long battery life. Be warned. If you undo the arm rest and move it around to pack the unit for travel any sand trapped in the armrest locking plates will seriously scratch the plastic stock. Display window needs to be stronger and some sort of sand proofing is needed for the battery compartment and the speaker window, otherwise well done
First Texas Instruments

Overall Rating 3 stars

5030

Stunning, simply stunning

November 06, 2007
Wow, the T2 is one superb machine. especially for here in the UK. Forget all the worries and concerns expressed regarding interference. all the reviews mentioning this were the very first one in the USA. The latest ones coming through are fully sorted now.

Really simple to use and customisable to your own preferences,especially tones.

First time out and the T2 came up with the goods time and time again, including a decorated piece of Celtic in a field that prior to the T2 yielded very little with my previous detector, a very capable Tesoro Vaquero.To beat the Vaquero so completely makes you realise just how good the T2 really is.

Excellant iron discrimination and with the tones set at 2+ you get a low pitched grunt for iron and everything non ferrous gives a crisp 'zing' as the coil passes. Very deep seeking as well and sensitive to tiny, and I mean tiny, targets.

Lightening fast revovery speed means it can miss out the nails and find the good items in amongst iron infested ground.

Really needs a good pair of digital headphones to get the best from it as then you can seperate out the sounds better.

A simply stunning machine and rapidly developing a very satisfied cult following here in the UK.

The Donwside? It likes to fall over but I made a stand for mine for £5 and now its sits perfectly

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4250

NEWSFLASH!!! T2 puts Explorer SE to Shame on Pasture!

July 23, 2007
I have been using an Explorer SE for some time now on a local site which is generally short pasture. Whilst results have been fairly good and some good finds have been unearthed, I was a little concerned at the depth the SE was detecting down to, even with a 10 x 14 Detech coil, little or no coins beyond the 9 to 10" mark (despite all the claims!). So I decided to buy a T2 as a second machine. Upon receiving it, I was a little disapointed with the build quality, the collars feel cheap and nasty, Minelab are definetely the daddy when it comes quality of materials and finish. So I put my 4 x AA batteries in and off we go, I decided to walk the lanes that I have worn out with my SE, there was no detrimental ground mineralisation and no too much iron so I decide to use the All Metal mode and crank the sensitivity up to the 85-90 mark (I dont mind a bit of chatter if it means more depth) tone on 2+ and off we go, 1st dig, tiny silver Victorian 3 pence piece at 7" which gave a good solid 85 target ID, then many Georgian coppers between 8 and 13", typically reading 75 target ID, what it also detected were many, many tiny targets which included a brass gramaphone needle at 7" - target ID 55, I am absolutely blown away by its sensitivity, discrimination and depth compared to the SE. The machine is as light as a feather and after ten hours of detecting, there are still 3 bars of battery left (cheap alkalines as well!) I now have the pleasure of doing all the previously covered ground again, I'd be mad not to. Shame on you Minelab, Hurrah for Teknetics! ps. I use industrial Minelabs for a living, so YES I was happily surprised with my new T2.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

6051

T2 ONE WORD ,BRILLIANT

July 07, 2007
great machine looks good and it performs as good as it looks,very similar to the goldmaxx power that i owned here in the uk,the T2 in my opinon is the better machine more sharper crisper sounds and a added bonus of a lcd screen ,i use discim at 25 ,sensitivity at 60 and tone id 2+ ,its so light and gives out all that power on just 4 AAA batterys amazing machine,its as deep on pasture as much as its deep on plough,crisp distinct sounds,and you know the sound for a coin ,easy to ground balance push trigger forward on clean ground pump coil up and down untill you here a steady hum off ya go,it will find cut silver hammerds easy and real tiny objects no problem,great detector and probaly one of the best if not one of the best to hit the shores of the uk from the USA, one word ,BRILLIANT

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3748

Raw Depth & Hyper Sensitive

June 12, 2007
Well I personally rate this machine very highly. Lightweight, very deep, super sensitive. A more reliant & informative meter than some. Quick & easy to set up. 2+ on tones-disc about 12-& sensitivity up to 70-75. (you will not go far wrong on this setting.) It will chatter on bad ground, but just drop sens` down a little. (I prefer a little chatter from iron, you are getting more ground information to process the signals.) If I am hearing plenty of iron signals, I know the area has been well occupied over the years. Plus you have the meter to fall back on.! It will find tiny non ferrous items,& have no problem with bigger hits on larger items. And the all important depth is there too!!! ...yes its an awesome detector in my own opinion.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2846

Updated review of the Teknetics T2

April 06, 2007
After i bought the Fisher F75 which is a great detector i thought: "why is that detector so good and the T2 so bad. I bought a second T2 (used with the updates) und have to say it is all that what the other good reviews say. My first one must have had a bad coil, because this second T2 works perfect. The price of a used T2 is now about 400 to 450 $ and that is a very low price for that good detector. I'll keep this T2 as a backup for my Fisher F75.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2751


Submit your review for Teknetics T2