Teknetics T2

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.42
Based on 43 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.44
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.44
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Teknetics T2

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Good and Less Good

January 23, 2008
Not a bad detector. Well balanced (like me!) but with a few weaknesses. Frequent high 'pip' sounds at the end of sweeps. Target or not a target? Surely Teknetics can eliminate those awful bottle tops or at least don't let them register or silence them out. Sometimes the numbers bounce around for them (as expected), other times they do not and appear in the coin range, so a lot of digging anyway. How about an illuminated display for low light and/or poor eyesight) and color coded? Cell phones, GPS modules and a host of other gadgets have illuminated color displays these days. Example: Red dot for ferrous, Yellow for unsure, and Green for non-ferrous (coin, gold, silver etc).
Rubber covering on handle split on the second day of use and coil had to be disconnected to free an unwanted overload.
Nicely balanced machine with long battery life. Be warned. If you undo the arm rest and move it around to pack the unit for travel any sand trapped in the armrest locking plates will seriously scratch the plastic stock. Display window needs to be stronger and some sort of sand proofing is needed for the battery compartment and the speaker window, otherwise well done
First Texas Instruments

Overall Rating 3 stars

4929

Stunning, simply stunning

November 06, 2007
Wow, the T2 is one superb machine. especially for here in the UK. Forget all the worries and concerns expressed regarding interference. all the reviews mentioning this were the very first one in the USA. The latest ones coming through are fully sorted now.

Really simple to use and customisable to your own preferences,especially tones.

First time out and the T2 came up with the goods time and time again, including a decorated piece of Celtic in a field that prior to the T2 yielded very little with my previous detector, a very capable Tesoro Vaquero.To beat the Vaquero so completely makes you realise just how good the T2 really is.

Excellant iron discrimination and with the tones set at 2+ you get a low pitched grunt for iron and everything non ferrous gives a crisp 'zing' as the coil passes. Very deep seeking as well and sensitive to tiny, and I mean tiny, targets.

Lightening fast revovery speed means it can miss out the nails and find the good items in amongst iron infested ground.

Really needs a good pair of digital headphones to get the best from it as then you can seperate out the sounds better.

A simply stunning machine and rapidly developing a very satisfied cult following here in the UK.

The Donwside? It likes to fall over but I made a stand for mine for £5 and now its sits perfectly

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4250

NEWSFLASH!!! T2 puts Explorer SE to Shame on Pasture!

July 23, 2007
I have been using an Explorer SE for some time now on a local site which is generally short pasture. Whilst results have been fairly good and some good finds have been unearthed, I was a little concerned at the depth the SE was detecting down to, even with a 10 x 14 Detech coil, little or no coins beyond the 9 to 10" mark (despite all the claims!). So I decided to buy a T2 as a second machine. Upon receiving it, I was a little disapointed with the build quality, the collars feel cheap and nasty, Minelab are definetely the daddy when it comes quality of materials and finish. So I put my 4 x AA batteries in and off we go, I decided to walk the lanes that I have worn out with my SE, there was no detrimental ground mineralisation and no too much iron so I decide to use the All Metal mode and crank the sensitivity up to the 85-90 mark (I dont mind a bit of chatter if it means more depth) tone on 2+ and off we go, 1st dig, tiny silver Victorian 3 pence piece at 7" which gave a good solid 85 target ID, then many Georgian coppers between 8 and 13", typically reading 75 target ID, what it also detected were many, many tiny targets which included a brass gramaphone needle at 7" - target ID 55, I am absolutely blown away by its sensitivity, discrimination and depth compared to the SE. The machine is as light as a feather and after ten hours of detecting, there are still 3 bars of battery left (cheap alkalines as well!) I now have the pleasure of doing all the previously covered ground again, I'd be mad not to. Shame on you Minelab, Hurrah for Teknetics! ps. I use industrial Minelabs for a living, so YES I was happily surprised with my new T2.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

6050

T2 ONE WORD ,BRILLIANT

July 07, 2007
great machine looks good and it performs as good as it looks,very similar to the goldmaxx power that i owned here in the uk,the T2 in my opinon is the better machine more sharper crisper sounds and a added bonus of a lcd screen ,i use discim at 25 ,sensitivity at 60 and tone id 2+ ,its so light and gives out all that power on just 4 AAA batterys amazing machine,its as deep on pasture as much as its deep on plough,crisp distinct sounds,and you know the sound for a coin ,easy to ground balance push trigger forward on clean ground pump coil up and down untill you here a steady hum off ya go,it will find cut silver hammerds easy and real tiny objects no problem,great detector and probaly one of the best if not one of the best to hit the shores of the uk from the USA, one word ,BRILLIANT

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3748

Raw Depth & Hyper Sensitive

June 12, 2007
Well I personally rate this machine very highly. Lightweight, very deep, super sensitive. A more reliant & informative meter than some. Quick & easy to set up. 2+ on tones-disc about 12-& sensitivity up to 70-75. (you will not go far wrong on this setting.) It will chatter on bad ground, but just drop sens` down a little. (I prefer a little chatter from iron, you are getting more ground information to process the signals.) If I am hearing plenty of iron signals, I know the area has been well occupied over the years. Plus you have the meter to fall back on.! It will find tiny non ferrous items,& have no problem with bigger hits on larger items. And the all important depth is there too!!! ...yes its an awesome detector in my own opinion.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2846

Updated review of the Teknetics T2

April 06, 2007
After i bought the Fisher F75 which is a great detector i thought: "why is that detector so good and the T2 so bad. I bought a second T2 (used with the updates) und have to say it is all that what the other good reviews say. My first one must have had a bad coil, because this second T2 works perfect. The price of a used T2 is now about 400 to 450 $ and that is a very low price for that good detector. I'll keep this T2 as a backup for my Fisher F75.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2750

Light, Easy, and Deep

March 17, 2007
I like to try all kinds of detectors and believe it or not, they all do exactly what they say: Find metal. Some will find unwanted metal and most will find the kind of metal that you bought a metal detector for:silver, gold, copper, brass, or lead. The T2 might be the best all around detector that I have ever used. Does it do everything great? No, but it does everything good. When you factor in the ergonomics, adjustability, and performance, you have a great detector.

I had heard that some of the first off the line were having trouble with electrical interferance, I stayed away. The factory came up with an upgrade that cost the owners money and I think this was a poor business decision on First Texas's part, they should have bit the bullet and payed for all the upgrades. I believe that this soured many on buying a T2. Within months of coming out, they were showing up on the classified forums for a cheap price. I bought one and it was the bargain of all bargains in my time in the hobby.

I have some health issues with arthritis in my wrists and the T2 felt like a Tesoro Umax in that regard. With just a knob and button, the adjustments are SIMPLE, unlike some other programable detectors.

The GB is the quickest and easiest around. Pinpointing with a DD coil is not like a concentric coil, but when you understand where the hotspot is, it is simple. Battery life borders on unbelieveable, I changed the first set(4) after 25 hours because I didn't believe the meter.

So after all these great features, how does the T2 do finding coins? I coin hunt only, so the relic hunters have to pipe up with their opinions, which they seem to do on the forums. It appears that the T2 is a great relic hunter also. I have found silver coins every time out with the T2. I am not a techno geek, but I understand the the tone menu, determines how targets are analyzed. I have found the greatest depth and accuracy with the 2+ mode. It has multitone mode that others might find better for them, but I seemed to get less depth in this mode. The large VDI numbers are very accurate and stable.

I have not found any gold yet, but the T2 is the deepest nickle finding detector I have ever used. The Sovereigns and Cz's are good, but the T2 is deeper on nickles and I assume gold.

I have not used the T2 since Dec. of 06 because of winter, but the last couple of times out I found a silver quarter at an honest 10 inches and it was not in sand. The signal sputtered slightly, but the number was right on. I was finding the regular wheat pennies at 8 inches and this is as deep as I have found them with Explorers and CZ's.

I have a feeling that with the release of the Fisher F75, there will be loads of T2 for sale cheap. Do yourself a favor and jump on one of these bargains.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3846

What's all the fuss about????

December 14, 2006
Got to use the T2 for a two month period. It is really nice looking....and light, but there is really not a lot of performance. At least in the areas I hunt, most of the time the electrical interference was mind blowing!!! Had to run it at twenty....goodbye depth!! I think more work should have been done on this detector before it was released....sure glad I got to borrow one..... this would not have been a "happy" purchase!! I know it works some where but not around here!!! Sorry!

Overall Rating 2 stars

7723

Not impressed by the T-2

December 13, 2006
Tried it, didn't like anything but the balance and feel. People who really like it just never used better detectors. I'm more impressed by the Ace 250 for $212.50 than the T-2 for $800.00.

Understand that I beach and inland hunt so I look for a detector that I can do both. The Explorer XS is the deepest detector along with the Soverign Elite with the Soverign probably being my favorite because I can swing it as fast as I want. The XS is great when I feel in a slow mood.
The CZ-70 and the Coinstrike when my back is feeling weak. All these detectors cut through any soil

I have a Coinstrike, CZ-70, Explorer XS, Soverign Elite, for the top of the line detectors. A Garrett Sea Hunter for the surf and under water.

We also have a Predator III and a Ace 250. These detectors have blown my mind with their finds, one detector at a cost of $200.00 and the other $300.00.

Right now the CZ-3D, the Soverign GT or the Explorer SE would be the only units I'd even think of. It seems like the detector companies are going the wrong direction, no salt mode, no tones, and single frequency. I want a detector that does it all without having to buy many different coils.

Remember this. I have made great finds with the cheapest detectors listed here. Gold chains, fine gold braclets and fine gold rings read as foil on every decector I've see except a tweeked CZ-3D.
I take detectors people say aren't working for them and make great finds. So whatever detector you have, learn, learn, learn.

Overall Rating 2 stars

7326

Do you want a Teknetic's T2 Detector?

November 29, 2006
My favorite detector up until the T2 was the GTI 2500. I mastered the 2500 but it took me a year and it is a really great detector. But like I said until the T2!
Today the T2 goes deeper than other detectors, finds coins and targets even with Iron present, The T2 will double you finds. The T2 has a lighting responce time to targets and to ID them. Sound's like I work for them guys, but really I'm just a hobbyist.
Now there are electrical interference issues but you can solve them by turning the sesnsitivity down. The detector sets it'self up with a sensitivity setting of 60, even turned down to 30 you won't loose much depth...Try it and see, you won't! But the electrical noise gone!

For some all the chatter of the T2 is more than they can comprehend. BUt listen closely, most of the time all that chatter is because of Multiple targets in your ground, usually detectors don't lie, You just have to dig it to believe them.

The T2 is light, easy to use, the T2 swing is awesome, it's one you really can swing all day!

Remember give this detector a chance to prove it'self...Dig every target for a while and you'll learn how to speak it's langugage!

Hope this help you...it is a great detector! Top notch all the way!

If you have any questions feel free to email me at kck@wowway.com with an information titled T2 Talk

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3449

Submit your review for Teknetics T2

Submit your tip for Teknetics T2