Minelab E-TRAC

Price: $1500
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.14
Based on 67 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars3.56
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.33
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab E-TRAC

Compare to ▼
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Deus XP $2000
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500
Teknetics T2 Ltd $1250
Minelab Explorer SE $1200
Minelab Explorer II $1200

Better Than An Explorer SE Pro?

January 28, 2010
I have had every Explorer model made and I have used all of them hard. I always bought and tried the newest models that the other manufacturers came out with, but I always ended up with an Explorer. I always made great finds with any of the Explorers that I had.
My last Explorer, the SE Pro I used for over a 1000 hours last year. I hunt every day, weather permitting and it was the best Explorer in my opinion. The Pro coil was a contributing factor to forming my opinion.
I had also bought a Pro coil for the detector I had before the Se, an Explorer 11. It was and is an awesome accessory to any Explorer.

Anyway, I resisted purchasing an Etrac as my SE always produced deep coins from the hunted out parks I frequented. Last Dec. I traded two for one and bought an Etrac. The season was all but done here in NE Ohio and I played around with the menu in the house.
The week before Christmas, the ground thawed and I took my new toy to the park where I spend half of my time. This park still produces, but not much silver. I set the Etrac up with a wide open screen(no disc). I tried to mimic the Iron mask screen I used on all of my other Explorers. After an hour of hunting I had a bunch of deep rusty nails on one clad coin.
It was only 38 degrees and I was not real high on my first hunt with the Etrac. As I was hunting back to the car to leave, I remembered what my dealer and good friend told me. Use the factory coin program and disc out most of the sliver of black in the top right corner. I quickly did this and I also switched to manual sens of 21. I turned and headed back to the trashy area where I have found many coins from the late 1800's, including a 1885 V nickle.
I swear in less than 5 minutes I got a deep signal that would pop through in only one direction and nulled in the other directions. It did sound good so I dug. Found a rusty nail at 6 inches and rescanned the hole and got a 12-44 number. From 8 inches a silver dime.

In the next half hour I found 6 deep(8to 9 inches) wheats that were all close to trash. By this time I was freezing, but I had one more similar area of this park to try. It was at the bottom of a long hill that empties onto a old picnic area. I made one 75 to 100 foot pass along the bottom of this hill and started finding older coins immediately. First a mercury dime and 5 more wheats. I was truely amazed as I had hunted and rehunted these exact spots many time with my other Explorers and other top of line detectors.
It is scary to think that a green rookie could take this detector and make finds like this within hours of turning the Etrac on. The greatest task a new Etrac user will face is pinpointing with the dd coil and learning to creep the coil. If one does this, anyone can find deep coins in the factory modes with little or no programming.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

13510

Top of the line machine

December 10, 2009
I upgraded from the Safari which is an outstanding machine and have used my E-trac for about 3 months now and can honestly say that this machine is out of this world. Take everything that I said in my Safari review and "super size" it. It is absolutely killer in trash infested cellar holes here in New Hampshire and has incredible discrimination in the ferrous trash that litters these sites. It is very well balanced and feels very well made and solid to me. Check out my finds under CONDUCTOR7E on findmall and northeast metal detecting forum,(NEMDF), if you doubt it's performance.

George Streeter from Streeter's Electronics recommended this machine as the best out there as a general purpose land/relic machine and after using this machine and getting to know it, I see what he means. Go low and slow through the iron crap and you will see how it picks through it and nails the goodies. I usually run quickmask set anywhere from 19-23 ferrous with conductive tones. Yes, I have great sites available and have found literally HUNDREDS of old coins, coppers, wheats, silver, colonial buttons, 4 complete colonial shoe buckles and other relics, almost all with this E-Trac!

I do not work for Minelab nor am I endorsed by them or anybody else, just a regular guy that is addicted to this great hobby and gets out when I can. You do your part and the E-trac will do it's part and you will walk away, as I have, making some truly great finds.
The best I have used to date.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

695

Minelab Etrac-worth the price!

December 04, 2009
The Minelab E-Trac Rocks! There are no two ways about it. I updated from a Whites DFX three months ago and am totally impressed by the E-Trac. The machine is well balanced, durable, easy to use and is very simple to learn. Minelab did a great job in engineering this unit. Took me all of about 1 hour to get down the basics and was on my way.

I went to a local park to “kick the tires” on the unit and immediately began pulling coins within minutes. The depth on this thing is awesome. The E-Trac was finding signals in areas that I had hit previously which my DFZ did not pick up. In short, I would recommend the unit to anyone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

477

Simply Excellent

December 03, 2009
I've had my E-trac for a month now, and love it. The E-trac is locking on to targets that are deep and 'iffy' with my older white's detector. For a high-end detector that is arguably the most technologically advanced, I thought there was almost no learning curve. I'm not a tech guy...I have a hard time programming my VCR. I'm just running the factory coin setting and getting superb results. Slick machine...very well put together. I read hundreds of reviews all over the net before purchasing, including reviews on talk forums like findmall, treasure quest, friendly forums, etc. and I honestly couldn't find a negative review. Not even one. This site has the only three negative Etrac reviews in existance, most likely from the same person who can't afford one.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

494

SWEEET

November 16, 2009
I have less than a year detecting.
I started out with the X-70 for
Eight months found lots of older coins
barber, Mercury's Indians, Rosies, Wheats,
Maybe 30 silver coins total in the 8 months

Well the E-trac was a easy transition very
straight forward. 74 silver coins in two
and a half months WOW The type of soil
is real mineralized here making it tough
on any detector. That's where this machine shines.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

335

The Best!

August 21, 2009
I have been using the E-Trac for about 5 months, and all I can say is WOW. The learning curve is simple, the depth is mind blowing, and the quality is what is expected from Minelab. Using Coin Mode with just a few slight changes, I have found coin after coin at depths in the double digits that my previous detectors (DFX, X-Terra 70, F75) have all missed. The use of both Co and Fe numbers are great for backing up what the audio already tells you.

With a little practice you will easily know a silver from a clad, and that is NO joke. I never thought it would be as distinct as it is, but it's night and day once you start to know your machine. I was considering a V3, but I am a coin shooter, and know the E-Trac is unmatched in this area.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

564

Listen

July 20, 2009
If you are a screen watcher, this may not be for you. If you listen for the sweet sound a silver coin makes as you sweep your coil over its hidding spot, this is the machine for you. While the screen is very helpful, giving both Co and Fe numbers to verify what was just scanned, the audio is dead on. This is a machine you will never have to upgrade from. I don't think its performance will be surpassed 10 years from now.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

511

The Best

July 19, 2009
I really don't have much to add. This machines is simple to use, DEEP, very accurate discrm., and comfortable to swing. I have tried the F75, DFX, MXT 300, and X-Terra 70, and I must say this is by far my favorite machine. The X-Terra was great for the money and easy to use, but I have found so much that all of these other detectors have missed. The 1st thing you must do is buy the Andy Sabisch book for the E-Trac. Within the 1st week you will be finding silver at 10" or more like I did. Those that are digging nails have not put the time into the machine. I know what this machine is telling me 99% of the time.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

483

E-Trac #1

July 19, 2009
I just want to say I love my E-Trac. These boys from Whales (although I think it is one person causing trouble) need to learn how to hunt. This machine beats the V3 and any other machine I have faced off against.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

372

This is NOT a Plug and Play Machine

June 20, 2009
When I first received my E-Trac, I HATED it. I thought I had been ripped off. I used it a few times and found only a few clad coins. I ended up boxing it up and putting it in the garage.

A few weeks later I saw a guy using one at a park. I was curious about how bad his results were. Interesting enough, he was digging deep and finding great targets. He said the key was learning the machine and listening carefully.

I went home and actually read the manual and did some practice runs in my backyard, burying coins at different depths to get a grasp of the sounds and graphs.

What a difference!

In the past three months I have pulled countless Mercury and Roosevelt dimes from worked out sites. The Wheaties are numbering over 100 found so far. I even pulled THREE standing Liberties from a field that I personally worked to death for a year.

The E-Trac is an incredible machine that hits coins 8 to 12 inches deep WHEN YOU KNOW the machine. If you want a great machine and are willing to learn how to maximize the results, then the E-Trac is for you. If you want a Plug and Play machine, then forget it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

433

Submit your review for Minelab E-TRAC

Submit your tip for Minelab E-TRAC